Skip to main content


We are an inclusive and engaging department that educates students with high quality, research-led teaching and encourages them to display the highest levels of commitment to educational excellence. Supporting the students to consistently innovate is a central feature of what we do in order to ensure that graduates will have outstanding skills to take into the world of work. 

Our aim is to produce graduates who are self-aware, reflective and ambitious global citizens. 

Academic Staff

Dr Kavi Joseph AbrahamAssistant Professor in International Relations
Dr David AndersenAssociate Professor in US Politics
Professor Jutta BakonyiProfessor in Development and Conflict
Professor Ilan Zvi BaronProfessor in International Political Theory
Dr Bahar BaserAssociate Professor in Middle East Politics
Dr Carly BeckermanAssociate Professor in the International Relations of the Middle East
Dr Jessica BegonAssociate Professor in Political Theory
Dr Oliver BelcherAssociate Professor in Human Geography
Dr Brian CareyAssistant Professor in Political Theory
Dr Gordon C.K. CheungAssociate Professor in International Relations of China
Dr Kodili ChukwumaAssistant Professor in International Security
Professor Gidon CohenProfessor of Politics
Dr Jack CopleyAssistant Professor in International Political Economy
Professor Olga DemetriouProfessor of Political Anthropology
Dr Maria Dimova-CooksonProfessor in Political Theory
Dr Tessa DitontoAssociate Professor in Gender and Politics
Dr Harris DousemetzisTutor (part time)
Professor Anoush EhteshamiNasser al-Mohammad al-Sabah Chair in International Relations
Alice FindenAssistant Professor in International Politics
Professor Christopher FinlayProfessor in Political Theory and Head of School
Dr Anne FlaspoelerAssistant Professor in International Relations
Dr Rob Geist-PinfoldLecturer in Peace and Security
Dr Maria Eugenia GiraudoAssistant Professor in International Political Economy
Dr Cameron HarringtonAssociate Professor in International Relations
Dr Graham HarrisonAssociate Professor of International Political Economy
Dr Ma?Gorzata (Gosia) JakimowAssistant Professor in East Asian Politics
Professor Clive JonesProfessor of Regional Security
Dr Elizabeth KahnAssociate Professor in Political Theory
Dr Jan KandiyaliAssistant Professor in Political Theory
Professor Stefanie KapplerProfessor in Conflict Resolution and Peacebuilding
Dr Marzieh Kouhi-EsfahaniAssistant Professor in Politics and International Relations of the Middle East
Professor Patrick M KuhnProfessor in Comparative Politics
Professor Roger Mac-GintyProfessor in Defence, Development and Diplomacy
Dr Lewis MatesAssociate Professor in Political Theory
Dr Rory McCarthyAssistant Professor In Politics and Islam
Dr Juraj MedzihorskyAssistant Professor in Social Data Science
Dr Vittorio Merola-MarottaAssistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Dr Kevin MillerAssistant Professor in Political Theory
Dr Adrian MillicanAssociate Professor of Comparative Political Science
Dr Javier Moreno-ZacaresAssistant Professor in International Political Economy
Professor Emma MurphyProfessor of Political Economy
Dr Kyriaki NanouAssociate Professor in European Politics
Dr Kyriaki NanouGlobal Policy Institute Co-Director
Dr Alex NeadsAssistant Professor in International Security
Dr Moritz OsnabrueggeAssociate Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics
Dr Ferran Perez-MenaAssistant professor in IR of East Asia
Dr William PlowrightAssistant Professor of International Security
Dr Anouk S. RigterinkAssociate Professor in Quantitative Comparative Politics
Dr Dennis R. SchmidtAssistant Professor in International Relations
Professor Robert SchuetzeGlobal Policy Institute Co-Director
Dr Renu SinghAssistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Professor Julia StapletonProfessor of Political Thought
Dr Resul UmitAssistant Professor in Comparative Politics
Dr Neil VisalvanichAssociate Professor in Political Science
Professor Nick VivyanProfessor in Political Science
Professor John WilliamsProfessor in International Relations
Dr Chenchen ZhangAssistant Professor in International Relations

Professors in Practice

David ElleryProfessor in Practice
Suresh NanwaniProfessor in Practice

Research Staff

Dr Emil ArchambaultAddison Wheeler Fellow
Dr Bernardo Lopez-MarinPostdoctoral Research Associate
Dr Janina PescinskiPostdoctoral Research Associate

Teaching Staff

Dr Francesco D'AlemaTeaching Fellow
Dr Kambaiz RafiTeaching Fellow
Dr Simon TaylorTeaching Fellow

Administrative Staff

Zoe BinnsLearning and Teaching Administrator
Kelly GuyLearning and Teaching Manager
Graeme HarrisSenior Research Administrator
Ashley KirkOperations Administrator
Tracy MarchbanksLearning and Teaching Administrator
Katy QuigleyDepartment Manager
Elysia ScottLearning and Teaching Administrator
Catherine SmithLearning and Teaching Coordinator
Lauren ToddPGR Co-ordinator
Paolo VignaliLearning and Teaching Administrator

Associated Staff

Louise HayseyGlobal Policy Institute Manager
Professor Thom BrooksAssociate
Dr Liam DevereuxPost Doctoral Research Associate
Dr Eva-Maria NagGlobal Policy Journal Executive Editor

Honorary & Visiting Research Fellows

Dr Gary HutchisonVisiting Fellow
Professor Paul LuftHonorary Research Fellow
James Michael PageHonorary Research Fellow
Doctor Mohd Irwan Syazli SaidinVisiting Fellow
Dr Robert SchuettHonorary Fellow
Dr Stephen WelchHonorary Fellow

Research Students

Hassan Al-AsadeyDoctoral Research Student
Fahad Al-FahadDoctoral Research Student
Abdullah Al-KhonainiDoctoral Research Student
Abdullah Al-MaaniDoctoral Research Student
Abdulla Al-SabahDoctoral Research Student
Shorooq Al-ZaabiDoctoral Research Student
Tania AlahendraDoctoral Research Student
Faisal AlaliwiDoctoral Research Student
Sarah AlareqiDoctoral Research Student
Saleh AlbulayhiDoctoral Research Student
Amal AnaamDoctoral Research Student
Michael BatesDoctoral Research Student
Galit Benhaim-PedahzurDoctoral Research Student
Vanessa BentilDoctoral Research Student
Ahmet BorazanDoctoral Research Student
Francesca CollierDoctoral Research Student
Laura CretneyDoctoral Research Student
Alex CrockettDoctoral Research Student
Elisabeth De-Vega-AlavedraDoctoral Research Student
Georgia DimitriouDoctoral Research Student
Riccardo FabianiDoctoral Research Student
Esther Garcia-MonrealDoctoral Research Student
Murad GeybullaDoctoral Research Student
Junyi HaoDoctoral Research Student
Azad Nebi HasanDoctoral Research Student
Charlie HieronsDoctoral Research Student
Mingze HouDoctoral Research Student
Ben HoughtonDoctoral Research Student
Selma ImamogluDoctoral Research Student
Nannan LiDoctoral Research Student
Jia LiuDoctoral Research Student
Jiannan LuoDoctoral Research Student
Thuli MontanaDoctoral Research Student
Nchimunya MuleyaDoctoral Research Student
Dina NaserDoctoral Research Student
German Otalora-GallegoDoctoral Research Student
Cyrus RoedelDoctoral Research Student
Johannes SauerlandDoctoral Research Student
Liu ShiDoctoral Research Student
Hannah SiddleDoctoral Research Student
Phevos SimeonidisDoctoral Research Student
Sidiqa SohailDoctoral Research Student
Mengqi SunDoctoral Research Student
Seun TwinsDoctoral Research Student
Dan WangDoctoral Research Student
Jue WangDoctoral Research Student
Bryan WhitelockDoctoral Research Student
Amanda WhitfieldDoctoral Research Student
Mudar ZahranDoctoral Research Student
Wangyin ZhaoDoctoral Research Student