Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Theology and Religion

Current Staff

If you are at the Durham campus or Queen's Campus, Stockton, dial the last five digits of the phone number. From outside the UK, the number is +44 191 33 and the last five digits.

SectionNamePositionTelephoneRoomEmail
Academic Staff: Professor Lewis Ayres Professor of Catholic and Historical Theology, Head of Department 43945 Abbey House 006 l.o.ayres@durham.ac.uk
Dr Krastu Banev Assistant Professor of Theology 43967 37a North Bailey 002 krastu.banev@durham.ac.uk
Professor John Barclay Lightfoot Professor of Divinity 43951 Abbey House 104 john.barclay@durham.ac.uk
Anthony Bash Honorary Professor 42636 Rectory, Hatfield College anthony.bash@durham.ac.uk
Dr Frances Clemson Lecturer in Theology and Ministry 43949 Etchells House B8a frances.clemson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Ashley Cocksworth 43471 Etchells House B009 ashley.cocksworth@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christopher Charles Holland Cook Professor 41047 No. 5 The College D003 c.c.h.cook@durham.ac.uk
Professor Douglas James Davies Professor 43943 Abbey House 007 douglas.davies@durham.ac.uk
Professor Simon Dein Lecturer in Spirituality, Religion and Health Module simon.dein@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jan Dochhorn Associate Professor of New Testament 41658 Dun Cow Cottage 103 jan.dochhorn@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mathew Guest Reader in the Sociology of Religion 43944 Abbey House 105 m.j.guest@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jane Heath Assistant Professor of New Testament 43957 Dun Cow Cottage 202 j.m.f.heath@durham.ac.uk
Professor Mike Higton Professor 43181 Etchells House 8b mike.higton@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christopher Insole Professor 43939 Abbey House 201 christopher.insole@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Janzen Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible / Old Testament 43958 Abbey House 103 david.janzen@durham.ac.uk
Professor Karen E. Kilby Bede Professor of Catholic Theology 43612 Abbey House 005 karen.kilby@durham.ac.uk
Professor Gerard Loughlin Professor 43960 Abbey House B06a gerard.loughlin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Nathan Lyons 43942 Abbey House B06b nathan.e.lyons@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Mein Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible / Old Testament 43963 Abbey House B07 andrew.r.mein@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Miles-Watson Associate Professor of the Anthropology of Religion 41659 Abbey House 108 jonathan.miles-watson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Walter Moberly Professor 43953 Abbey House 102 r.w.l.moberly@durham.ac.uk
Professor Paul D. Murray Professor of Systematic Theology 43947 Abbey House 202 paul.murray@durham.ac.uk
Professor Simon Oliver Van Mildert Professor of Divinity 43942 Abbey House B06 simon.oliver@durham.ac.uk
Dr Charles Pemberton Assistant Professor of Theology 41657 Dun Cow Cottage 007 charles.s.pemberton@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marcus Pound Associate Professor of Theology & Assistant Director of the Centre for Catholic Studies 43954 Abbey House 205 m.j.p.pound@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sitna Quiroz Assistant Professor in the Study of Religion 43965 Dun Cow Cottage 102 sitna.quiroz@durham.ac.uk
Dr Anna Rowlands St Hilda Associate Professor of Catholic Social Thought & Practice 43968 Abbey House 106 anna.rowlands@durham.ac.uk
Dr Susan Royal Assistant Professor of Reformation Studies 41660 Dun Cow Cottage 205 susan.royal@durham.ac.uk
Professor Alec Ryrie Professor 43926 Abbey House 204 alec.ryrie@durham.ac.uk
Canon Professor Michael Snape Michael Ramsey Professor of Anglican Studies 43966 Dun Cow Cottage 201 michael.snape@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Song Professor 43959 Abbey House 101 robert.song@durham.ac.uk
Dr Clare Stancliffe Honorary Reader in Ecclesiastical History c.e.stancliffe@durham.ac.uk
Revd Dr Gabrielle Thomas 43950 No. 5 The College D002 gabrielle.r.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rik Van-Nieuwenhove Assistant Professor of Medieval Thought 43604 Dun Cow Cottage 002 rik.van-nieuwenhove@durham.ac.uk
Dr Medi Volpe Assistant Professor of Theology & Ethics 41655 Dun Cow Cottage 001 m.a.volpe@durham.ac.uk
Professor Peter Ward Professorial Fellow in Ecclesiology and Ethnography 43824 Cranmer A3 peter.ward@durham.ac.uk
Professor Francis Watson Professor 43694 37a North Bailey 109 francis.watson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stuart Weeks Professor of Old Testament and Hebrew 43963 Elvet Riverside s.d.weeks@durham.ac.uk
Revd Professor David Wilkinson Professor and Principal of St. John's College 43895 St. John’s david.wilkinson@durham.ac.uk
Research Staff: Dr Elizabeth Biggs Post Doctoral Research Fellow elizabeth.c.biggs@durham.ac.uk
Dr James Kelly Research Fellow in Early Modern British and Irish Catholicism 43950 No. 5 The College D002 james.kelly3@durham.ac.uk
Revd Dr Peter Phillips Research Fellow in Digital Theology p.m.phillips@durham.ac.uk
Dr Adam Powell COFUND Junior Research Fellow 41657 Dun Cow Cottage 007 adam.j.powell@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Staff: Mrs Sarah Dunlop Teaching Staff 43849 sarah.l.dunlop@durham.ac.uk
Administrative Staff: Department Manager 43955
Miss Heather Bell PG Student Support Officer 43956 Abbey House 001 heather.bell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Tim Guinan Development Executive (Centre for Catholic Studies) 43946 Abbey House 203 tim.guinan@durham.ac.uk
Ms Christine Hamilton UG Student Support Officer 43940 Abbey House 001 christine.hamilton@durham.ac.uk
Miss Maxime Johnson Department Support Officer 43293 Abbey House 001 maxime.johnson@durham.ac.uk
Ms Jane Lidstone Centre for Catholic Studies Administrative Assistant 41656 Abbey House 203 jane.lidstone@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Theresa Phillips Centre for Catholic Studies Administrator 43952 Abbey House 203 theresa.phillips@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Kathleen Pickford Reception and Student Support Assistant 41168 Abbey House 002 kathleen.pickford2@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Susan Tait Student Support Team Leader 43929 Abbey House 001 susan.tait@durham.ac.uk
Ms Yvonne Williams Religious Life Vitality Research Project Co-ordinator – Centre for Catholic Studies 43946 Abbey House 206 yvonne.williams@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Assistant: Mr Justin Allison PhD Student & Teaching Assistant justin.r.allison@durham.ac.uk
Miss Vivian Asimos PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant vivian.asimos@durham.ac.uk
Mr Jon David Bentall PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant j.d.bentall@durham.ac.uk
Miss Anna Patricia Blackman PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant anna.blackman@durham.ac.uk
Ms Nicolete Burbach PhD Student & Teaching Assistant n.g.burbach@durham.ac.uk
Mr Stephen Campbell Integrated PhD Student & Teaching Assistant stephen.d.campbell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Vasile Condrea PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant v.a.condrea@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Foyle Teaching Assistant s.m.foyle@durham.ac.uk
Mr Alex Fry PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant alex.d.fry@durham.ac.uk
Dr Charidimos Koutris Research Assistant, Teaching Assistant, TA Representative & Web Manager charidimos.koutris@durham.ac.uk
Ms Myka Lahaie PhD Student, Teaching Assistant & PG Research students Representative myka.s.lahaie@durham.ac.uk
Mr Justin Lee PhD Student & Teaching Assistant j.j.lee@durham.ac.uk
Miss Caitriona McCartney PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant caitriona.m.mccartney@durham.ac.uk
Revd Lynn McChlery PhD Student & Teaching Assistant lynn.m.mcchlery@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Joanne M. McKenzie PhD Student & Teaching Assistant j.m.mckenzie@durham.ac.uk
Dr Justin Alexandru Mihoc Teaching Assistant j.a.mihoc@durham.ac.uk
Miss Lucinda Murphy PhD Student, Teaching Assistant & TA Representative lucinda.a.murphy@durham.ac.uk
Ms Rebecca Neale PhD Student & Teaching Assistant rebecca.d.neale@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Madison N. Pierce Integrated PhD Student & Teaching Assistant m.n.pierce@durham.ac.uk
Ms Kelsie Rodenbiker PhD Student, Research Assistant, Teaching Assistant & PG Research students Representative kelsie.g.rodenbiker@durham.ac.uk
Mr Richard Rohlfing-Jr. PhD Student & Teaching Assistant richard.g.rohlfing-jr@durham.ac.uk
Mr Giorgio Scalici PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant giorgio.scalici@durham.ac.uk
Mr Adam Brent Shaeffer PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant a.b.shaeffer@durham.ac.uk
Mr Nicholas Ronald Edwin Toseland PhD Student & Teaching Assistant n.r.e.toseland@durham.ac.uk
Mr Samuel Tranter PhD Student & Teaching Assistant samuel.tranter@durham.ac.uk
Mr Benjamin G. White PhD Student, Research Assistant & Teaching Assistant benjamin.g.white@durham.ac.uk
Revd Nathan Hadley White PhD Student & Teaching Assistant n.h.white@durham.ac.uk
Revd Dr Ashley Wilson Teaching Assistant 43362 ashley.wilson@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Martin Samuel Wright PhD Student & Teaching Assistant m.s.wright@durham.ac.uk