Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Theology and Religion

Current Staff

If you are at the Durham campus or Queen's Campus, Stockton, dial the last five digits of the phone number. From outside the UK, the number is +44 191 33 and the last five digits.

SectionNamePositionTelephoneRoomEmail
Academic Staff: Professor Lewis Ayres Professor of Catholic & Historical Theology 43945 Abbey House 101 l.o.ayres@durham.ac.uk
Dr Krastu Banev Assistant Professor of Theology 43967 50 North Bailey krastu.banev@durham.ac.uk
Professor John Barclay Lightfoot Professor of Divinity 43951 Abbey House 104 john.barclay@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anthony Bash Honorary Fellow / Professor
(1 Sept 2018 - 31 Aug 2021)
anthony.bash@durham.ac.uk
Dr Victoria Biggs La Retraite Assistant Professor 43965 Dun Cow Cottage 205 victoria.m.biggs@durham.ac.uk
Dr Giuseppe Bolotta PDRA in Catholic Studies giuseppe.bolotta@durham.ac.uk
Dr Frances Clemson Lecturer in Theology and Ministry 43949 Etchells House B8a frances.clemson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christopher C. H. Cook Professor 41047 No. 5 The College D003 c.c.h.cook@durham.ac.uk
Professor Douglas James Davies Professor 43943 Abbey House 007 douglas.davies@durham.ac.uk
Prof Maggi Dawn Professor 45946 maggi.dawn@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jan Dochhorn Associate Professor of New Testament 41658 Dun Cow Cottage 103 jan.dochhorn@durham.ac.uk
Dr Maria Exall PDRA in Catholic Social Thought and Practice (CCS) 43950 No. 5 The College D002 maria.exall@durham.ac.uk
Dr Kimberley A. Fowler New Testament Lecturer 43926 Dun Cow Cottage 202 kimberley.a.fowler@durham.ac.uk
Dr Stuart Foyle Module Convenor s.m.foyle@durham.ac.uk
Dr Carmody Grey Assistant Professor of Catholic Theology 41660 Dun Cow Cottage 001 carmody.t.grey@durham.ac.uk
Professor Mathew Guest Professor in the Sociology of Religion 43944 Abbey House 105 m.j.guest@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jane Heath Associate Professor 43957 Dun Cow Cottage 202 j.m.f.heath@durham.ac.uk
Professor Mike Higton Professor 43181 Etchells House 8b mike.higton@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jamie Lee Howard Module Convenor j.l.howard@durham.ac.uk
Professor Christopher Insole Professor of Philosophical Theology and Ethics & Head of Department 43939 Abbey House 006 christopher.insole@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Janzen Associate Professor of Hebrew Bible / Old Testament 43958 Abbey House 103 david.janzen@durham.ac.uk
Professor Karen E. Kilby Bede Professor of Catholic Theology 43612 Abbey House 201 karen.kilby@durham.ac.uk
Professor Gerard Loughlin Professor 43960 Abbey House B06a gerard.loughlin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Justin Alexandru Mihoc Module Convenor j.a.mihoc@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Miles-Watson Associate Professor of the Anthropology of Religion 41659 Abbey House 108 jonathan.miles-watson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Walter Moberly Professor 43953 Abbey House 102 r.w.l.moberly@durham.ac.uk
Professor Paul D. Murray Professor of Systematic Theology 43947 Abbey House 202 paul.murray@durham.ac.uk
Professor Simon Oliver Van Mildert Professor of Divinity 43942 Abbey House B06b simon.oliver@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marcus Pound Associate Professor of Theology & Assistant Director of the Centre for Catholic Studies 43954 Abbey House 205 m.j.p.pound@durham.ac.uk
Dr Elizabeth Powell Assistant Professor (Research): La Retraite Fellow in Theology and Spirituality (CCS) 41658 Dun Cow Cottage 105 elizabeth.r.powell@durham.ac.uk
Revd Dr Brian Powers Assistant Professor (Research) Vann Fellow in Christianity and the Armed Forces 43968 Abbey House 106 brian.s.powers@durham.ac.uk
Dr Sitna Quiroz Assistant Professor in the Study of Religion 43965 Dun Cow Cottage 205 sitna.quiroz@durham.ac.uk
Dr Anna Rowlands St Hilda Associate Professor of Catholic Social Thought & Practice 43968 Abbey House 106 anna.rowlands@durham.ac.uk
Dr Gregory Alexander Ryan Assistant Professor (Research) of Ecclesiology and Receptive Ecumenism (CCS) 43950 No. 5 The College D002 g.a.ryan@durham.ac.uk
Professor Alec Ryrie Professor 43926 Abbey House 204 alec.ryrie@durham.ac.uk
Canon Professor Michael Snape Michael Ramsey Professor of Anglican Studies 43966 Dun Cow Cottage 201 michael.snape@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Song Professor 43959 Abbey House 005 robert.song@durham.ac.uk
Dr Clare Stancliffe Honorary Reader in Ecclesiastical History c.e.stancliffe@durham.ac.uk
Dr Rik Van Nieuwenhove Associate Professor of Medieval Thought 43604 Dun Cow Cottage 002 rik.van-nieuwenhove@durham.ac.uk
Dr Medi Volpe Assistant Professor of Theology & Ethics 41655 Dun Cow Cottage 102 m.a.volpe@durham.ac.uk
Professor Peter Ward Professor of Practical Theology 43824 Cranmer A3 peter.ward@durham.ac.uk
Professor Francis Watson Professor 43694 37a North Bailey 109 francis.watson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stuart Weeks Professor of Old Testament and Hebrew 43963 Abbey House B07 s.d.weeks@durham.ac.uk
Revd Professor David Wilkinson Professor and Principal of St. John's College 43895 St. John's College david.wilkinson@durham.ac.uk
Research Staff: Dr Cormac Begadon Assistant Professor (Research): Sepulchrine Fellow in the History of Catholicism 44132 St John’s College A4 cormac.s.begadon@durham.ac.uk
Dr Brian Casey FMDM Fellow in the History of Catholicism - Centre for Catholic Studies No. 5 The College D002 brian.j.casey@durham.ac.uk
Dr James Kelly Research Fellow in the History of Catholicism 43950 No. 5 The College D002 james.kelly3@durham.ac.uk
Dr Patrick Mcghee Leverhulme Early Career Fellow Dun Cow Cottage 105 patrick.s.mcghee@durham.ac.uk
Dr Eve Parker Postdoctoral Research Associate in Theological Education eve.r.parker@durham.ac.uk
Revd Dr Peter Phillips Research Fellow in Digital Theology 41657 Dun Cow Cottage 007 p.m.phillips@durham.ac.uk
Dr Adam Powell COFUND Junior Research Fellow 41657 Dun Cow Cottage 007 adam.j.powell@durham.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Sexton Postdoctoral Research Associate in Catholic Studies 43946 Abbey House 206 catherine.m.sexton@durham.ac.uk
Administrative Staff: Miss Susan Bates Department Manager 43955 Abbey House 003 theo.manager@durham.ac.uk
Miss Amy Clarke Learning & Teaching Administrator 43956 Abbey House 001 theo.taught@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Helen Louise Ferguson Learning & Teaching Assistant Manager 41168 Abbey House 001 theo.ltmanager@durham.ac.uk
Mr Tim Guinan Development Executive (Centre for Catholic Studies) 43946 Abbey House 206 tim.guinan@durham.ac.uk
Ms Christine Hamilton Learning & Teaching Administrator 43940 Abbey House 001 theo.taught@durham.ac.uk
Dr Jane Lidstone Centre for Catholic Studies Administrative Assistant 41656 Abbey House 203 jane.lidstone@durham.ac.uk
John O'Brien Centre for Catholic Studies 42191 Dun Cow Cottage 105,
No 3
john.o'brien3@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Theresa Phillips Centre for Catholic Studies Administrator 43952 Abbey House 203 theresa.phillips@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Susan Tait Postgraduate Research Co-ordinator – Postgraduate Research Student Support 43929 Abbey House 001 theo.pgresearchadmin@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Susan Tait Postgraduate Research Co-ordinator – Postgraduate Research Admissions Enquiries 43929 Abbey House 001 theo.pgresearchadmissions@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Claire Williams Operations Administrator 43293 Abbey House 002 theo.opsadmin@durham.ac.uk
Ms Yvonne Williams Religious Life Vitality Research Project Co-ordinator – Centre for Catholic Studies 43946 Abbey House 206 yvonne.williams@durham.ac.uk
Teaching Assistant: Miss Danielle Baker PhD student & Teaching Assistant danielle.e.baker@durham.ac.uk
Revd Peter Baker Integrated PhD student & Teaching Assistant peter.w.baker@durham.ac.uk
Miss Charlotte Bray PhD student & Teaching Assistant charlotte.r.bray@durham.ac.uk
Mr Leonardo Choi PhD student & Teaching Assistant leonardo.choi@durham.ac.uk
Mr William Billy Crozier PhD Student & Teaching Assistant william.e.crozier@durham.ac.uk
Mr Caleb Day PhD student & Teaching Assistant caleb.m.day@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Gary Eaborn PhD student & Teaching Assistant gary.n.eaborn@durham.ac.uk
Miss Jessica Eastwood PhD student & Teaching Assistant jessica.g.eastwood@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Felix Granderath PhD student & Teaching Assistant felix.m.granderath@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Jennifer Knox PhD student & Teaching Assistant jennifer.r.knox@durham.ac.uk
Dr Charidimos Koutris Programme Assistant to the MA in Spirituality, Theology & Health, Teaching Assistant, Research Assistant & Web Manager charidimos.koutris@durham.ac.uk
Ms Lena Maria Lorenz PhD student & Teaching Assistant lena-maria.lorenz@durham.ac.uk
Miss Joelle Lucas PhD student & Teaching Assistant joelle.e.lucas@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Hannah Malcolm PhD student & Teaching Assistant hannah.m.malcolm@durham.ac.uk
Mr. John Morris PhD student & Teaching Assistant john.morris@durham.ac.uk
Mr Gael Pardoen Integrated PhD student & Teaching Assistant gael.pardoen@durham.ac.uk
Mr Andrew Poxon PhD student & Teaching Assistant andrew.r.poxon@durham.ac.uk
Mr Maddison Reddie-clifford PhD student & Teaching Assistant maddison.j.reddie-clifford@durham.ac.uk
Miss Imogen Ridley PhD student & Teaching Assistant imogen.ridley@durham.ac.uk
Mr. Alex Rowe PhD student & Teaching Assistant alex.j.rowe@durham.ac.uk
Ms. Florence Taylor PhD student & Teaching Assistant florence.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Logan Williams PhD Student & Teaching Assistant logan.a.williams@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Annalisa Wilson PhD student & Teaching Assistant annalisa.p.wilson@durham.ac.uk