Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Events

Family activity
Thursday, January 5, 2017 - Friday, June 30, 2017

Drop in to the Oriental Museum to see up close the real artefacts that inspired Charlotte’s adventure in “Teacup Travels”.

Family activity
Saturday, May 27, 2017

Find out about the mysterious Japanese tea ceremony and decorate a teapot.

Family activity
Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, May 31, 2017

Design and create your own Chinese drum.

Family activity
Friday, June 2, 2017

Both men and women could be Japanese samurai warriors. Join us to create your own samurai helmet.

Family activity
Saturday, June 3, 2017

Peacocks are the national bird of India. Explore our Indian Gallery and make your own peacock puppet.

Family activity
Wednesday, June 7, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Saturday, June 10, 2017

Make your own 3D pyramid, just like the Ancient Egyptians.

Family activity
Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Saturday, June 17, 2017

Make a beautiful Chinese lantern and learn to write Chinese characters.

Family activity
Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Saturday, June 24, 2017

Find out about the Islamic festival of Eid and make a beautiful Eid hanging decoration.

Family activity
Wednesday, June 28, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Saturday, July 1, 2017

Sumo is the national sport of Japan. Make your own sumo game.

Family activity
Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Saturday, July 8, 2017

Find out about the Chinese Emperors and create your own dazzling crown.

Family activity
Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Saturday, July 15, 2017

Find out how the Ancient Egyptians used to make themselves smell nice and make your own perfume cone.

Lecture
Saturday, July 15, 2017

Tomb robbers were a constant threat to burials in Egypt and so many ingenious and not so ingenious measures were taken to protect the tomb. From sandraulics to curses, the methods are discussed in this lecture.

Family activity
Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Saturday, July 22, 2017

Make your own special Tibetan-style bracelet.

Family activity
Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, July 26, 2017

Pop along to our object handling station and explore objects found in ancient Chinese tombs with the help of our curator. Suitable for all.

Family activity
Friday, July 28, 2017

A mini archaeological dig for children. All equipment provided. Be prepared to get muddy!

Family activity
Saturday, July 29, 2017

Explore our touchable Hindu shrine and create your own beautiful paper lotus flower.

Family activity
Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, August 2, 2017

Follow in the footsteps of the Ancient Egyptians and create your own amulet necklace.

Family activity
Friday, August 4, 2017

A special early bird opening for children with autism, learning or sensory impairments.

Family activity
Friday, August 4, 2017

The Oriental Museum has lots of sculptures on display. Come and explore and make your own 3D sculpture.

Family activity
Saturday, August 5, 2017

Take inspiration from Molang the rabbit and create your own crazy character.

Family activity
Wednesday, August 9, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, August 23, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, September 13, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, September 20, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, September 27, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Family activity
Wednesday, October 4, 2017

Little Dragons is the Oriental Museum's group for under 5s. Our sessions include songs, story time, crafts, role-play, gallery hunts and object handling!

Lecture
Saturday, October 7, 2017

Kasia is the director of research at Swansea University into the good and bad ‘demons’ the Egyptian believed inhabited the world with them (and us?). As the research project comes to an end, Kasia will present some of the main findings.