Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Special Collections

Family Activities at Palace Green Library

Family activity

Activities for parents and children.

Go Guerilla Girls!

Saturday 19th October 2019 - Sunday 20th October 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The Guerrilla Girls are protest artists who create artworks using facts and figures, all while wearing Gorilla masks! They fight against inequality in art museums and galleries. What would
you like to protest against?

Little Bookworms

Monday 21st October 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Rocking Romans Art

Saturday 26th October 2019 - Sunday 27th October 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The Romans made magnificent artworks, from paintings to sculptures; they would adorn their homes with beautiful possessions. One art form they are most famous for is mosaics; make your own mosaic inspired by what you can see in our museum.

Little Bookworms

Monday 28th October 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Durham Light Infantry Drummers

Saturday 2nd November 2019 - Sunday 3rd November 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Music was important to those who served with the Durham Light Infantry. Drums were used to keep soldiers marching in time and at the right speed, try your hand at assembling your own mini drum.

Little Bookworms

Monday 4th November 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Creative Crowns

Saturday 9th November 2019 - Sunday 10th November 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The Prince Bishops of Durham Castle loved to wear a crown and decorate everything they owned with symbols of crowns. Become royalty for the day and wear a crown upon your head.

Little Bookworms

Monday 11th November 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Norman Cornish Collage

Saturday 16th November 2019 - Sunday 17th November 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Displayed in Palace Green Library are some of Norman Cornish's sketchbooks, a famous artist from County Durham. Celebrate the North East's heritage this weekend and the opening of this exhibition by making a different type of drawing, a collage.

Little Bookworms

Monday 18th November 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Northern Poets

Saturday 23rd November 2019 - Sunday 24th November 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

During our Norman Cornish exhibition we will have loads of fun events, including poetry readings! Write your own poem today, using Cornish's sketchbook as your muse, who or what will you write about?

Little Bookworms

Monday 25th November 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Swashbuckling Swords

Saturday 30th November 2019 - Sunday 1st December 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Palace Green Library stands on a World Heritage Site, famous for knights and soldiers. Search our Museum of Archaeology and find out all about swords that have been used throughout history. Decorate your sword, name it and take it home.