Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Special Collections

Family Activities at Palace Green Library

Family activity

Activities for parents and children.

Catch Your Breath

Saturday 16th February 2019 - Sunday 17th March 2019, 12:00am - 5:00pm, Dennyson Stoddart Gallery, Palace Green Library

A new temporary exhibition exploring the Life of Breath research project, jointly led by Durham University and the University of Bristol

free entry

Party Blowers

Saturday 16th February 2019 - Sunday 17th February 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

You always need a party blower at a celebration! Celebrate our exhibition and make your own party blower.

Little Bookworms

Monday 18th February 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Half-Term Bubble Art

Tuesday 19th February 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

This half-term join us for some bubble art fun! Inspired by our exhibition, Catch Your Breath, blow the bubbles and make them pop to create your masterpiece.

Catch Your Words

Saturday 23rd February 2019 - Sunday 24th February 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Write a letter to your lungs, what have you got to thank them for? Why are they so important to us?

Little Bookworms

Monday 25th February 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Brilliant Badges

Saturday 2nd March 2019 - Sunday 3rd March 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Celebrate our exhibition, Catch Your Breath, and make a brilliant badge inspired by what you have seen.

Little Bookworms

Monday 4th March 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Perfect Poetry

Saturday 9th March 2019 - Sunday 10th March 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Our Library houses many amazing books, including poetry books. Make your own poem inspired by our library.

Little Bookworms

Monday 11th March 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Wonderful Windmills

Saturday 16th March 2019 - Sunday 17th March 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

We can use our breath as energy to power machines. Why not make a windmill and spin it round with your breath!

Little Bookworms

Monday 18th March 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Plumes and Pom Poms

Saturday 23rd March 2019 - Sunday 24th March 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The soldiers of Durham Light Infantry often decorated their hats with pomp oms. Would you make one to decorate your hat?

Little Bookworms

Monday 25th March 2019, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Rocking Romans

Saturday 30th March 2019 - Sunday 31st March 2019, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The Romans loved to adorn their walls with beautiful mosaics. Visit us today and make your own mosaic to decorate your home.