Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Special Collections

Family Activities at Palace Green Library

Family activity

Activities for parents and children.

Lucet Weaving

Sunday 19th August 2018, 12:00am - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The Anglo-Saxons made beautiful bracelets using a lucet weaver. Join us and make your own.

Little Bookworms

Monday 20th August 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Family Talk: Skeleton Science

Thursday 23rd August 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library (Wolfson Gallery)

13:00 - 15:00

Free - no booking required

All about Anatomy!

Saturday 25th August 2018, 10:00am - 12:00pm, Palace Green Library (Learning Centre)

10:00 - 12:00

Free - no booking required

Incredible Cures

Saturday 25th August 2018 - Sunday 26th August 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

There are some silly cures that people used to believe would work. Can you work out what cures what?

Family Talk: Skeleton Science

Thursday 30th August 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library (Wolfson Gallery)

13:00 - 15:00

Free - no booking required

Bodies of Evidence Castle Tour

Friday 31st August 2018, 11:15am - 12:15pm, Palace Green Library & Durham Castle

11:15 - 12:15

Booking required

Bodies of Evidence Castle Tour

Friday 31st August 2018, 1:45pm - 2:45pm, Palace Green Library & Durham Castle

13:45 - 14:45

Booking required

Cracking Crowns

Saturday 1st September 2018 - Sunday 2nd September 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The Prince Bishops of Durham Castle had a crown, so why can't you? Create your own regal crown.

Little Bookworms

Monday 3rd September 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Thistle and Rose

Saturday 8th September 2018 - Sunday 9th September 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Make a Scottish Thistle or an English Rose for our exhibition.

Little Bookworms

Monday 10th September 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Brilliant Books

Saturday 15th September 2018 - Sunday 16th September 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

If you were going to write a book, what would it be about? Design your very own book cover at Palace Green Library.

Little Bookworms

Monday 17th September 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

You are what you eat!

Saturday 22nd September 2018 - Sunday 23rd September 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The food we eat tells us a lot about who we are. Bioarcheologists use the information stored in bones to work out where people might have been from.

Little Bookworms

Monday 24th September 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Quiz

Saturday 29th September 2018 - Sunday 30th September 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Rejoice in our exhibition by having a go at one of our super quizzes and celebrate all things skeleton related.

Little Bookworms

Monday 1st October 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Little Bookworms

Monday 8th October 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Little Bookworms

Monday 15th October 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Little Bookworms

Monday 22nd October 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Little Bookworms

Monday 29th October 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Catch Your Breath

Saturday 24th November 2018 - Sunday 17th March 2019, 10:00am - 5:00pm, Palace Green Library

Free entry