Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Special Collections

Family Activities at Palace Green Library

Family activity

Activities for parents and children.

Super Stained Glass

Saturday 20th October 2018 - Sunday 21st October 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

In Durham, we have some of the most beautiful stained glass windows. Use all the colours you can find to make one inspired by Durham World Heritage Site.

Little Bookworms

Monday 22nd October 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

**Please note that the lift to the room where the activities will take place will be out of action on this date - apologies in advance**

Celebrate Science 2018: Catch Your Breath

Tuesday 23rd October 2018 - Thursday 25th October 2018, 10:00am - 4:00pm, Celebrate Science Marquee, Palace Green

10:00 - 16:00

The free, family-friendly science festival returns this October half term!

Military Music

Saturday 27th October 2018 - Sunday 28th October 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Be inspired by the drums used by the Durham Light Infantry and make your own mini drum to play. Complete with drum sticks!

Little Bookworms

Monday 29th October 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

**Please note that the lift to the room where the activities will take place will be out of action on this date - apologies in advance**

Swashbuckling Swords

Saturday 3rd November 2018 - Sunday 4th November 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

From Vikings to Romans to Knights, they all needed swashbuckling swords. Make your own to take home this weekend!

Little Bookworms

Monday 5th November 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

**Please note that the lift to the room where the activities will take place will be out of action on this date - apologies in advance**

Lucet Weaving

Saturday 10th November 2018 - Sunday 11th November 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

The Anglo-Saxons made beautiful bracelets and trims for their clothes. Join us to make your very own bracelet by trying out the ancient technique of lucet weaving.

Little Bookworms

Monday 12th November 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

**Please note that the lift to the room where the activities will take place will be out of action on this date - apologies in advance**

Colourful Crowns

Saturday 17th November 2018 - Sunday 18th November 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Durham Castle has had many Prince Bishops live in it, from Bishop Cosins who made Palace Green Library to Bishop Tunstall who knew Henry VIII. Make a colourful crown so you can live in our Castle.

Little Bookworms

Monday 19th November 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Catch Your Breath

Saturday 24th November 2018 - Sunday 17th March 2019, 10:00am - 5:00pm, Palace Green Library

Free entry

Breathe in, Breathe Out

Saturday 24th November 2018 - Sunday 25th November 2018, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

To celebrate the opening of our new exhibition, Catch Your Breath, we would like to invite you to make a pair of lungs that can expand and deflate. Use your breath to make it work!

Little Bookworms

Monday 26th November 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Little Bookworms

Monday 3rd December 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Little Bookworms

Monday 10th December 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Little Bookworms

Monday 17th December 2018, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.