Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Special Collections

Special Collections

Image of Barker Research Library Search Room
Designated as an Outstanding Collection logo

Founded in 1833 and occupying listed buildings within the Durham World Heritage site, Durham University's Palace Green Library houses archives, early printed books and other special collections. These include:

  • Over 70,000 books printed before 1850 including 300 incunables
  • Over 100 medieval manuscripts
  • 3,400 metres of archives and artefacts
  • Over 30,000 maps and prints and 100,000 photographs

We are open to anyone needing to consult our collections once they have registered with us.

Two of the University Library's special collections were awarded Designated status in 2005 in the first round of the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council Designation Scheme.


Scribble like a scribe
Wednesday 5th August 2015 - Friday 7th August 2015, 12:00am - 5:00pm, Palace Green Library
Magna Carta and the Changing Face of Revolt
Wednesday 5th August 2015 - Monday 31st August 2015, 12:00am - 6:00pm, Palace Green Library
Magna Carta Family Talks
Thursday 6th August 2015, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Medieval Family Fun Weekend
Saturday 8th August 2015, 10:00am - 4:30pm, Durham Cathedral
Coats of arms
Saturday 8th August 2015 - Friday 14th August 2015, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Medieval Family Fun Weekend
Sunday 9th August 2015, 12:30pm - 4:30pm, Durham Cathedral
Little Bookworms
Monday 10th August 2015, 10:30am - 11:30am, Wolfson Gallery
Magna Carta Family Talks
Tuesday 11th August 2015, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Magna Carta Family Talks
Thursday 13th August 2015, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Women of Rebellion: Songs of Protest and Revolution
Thursday 13th August 2015, 8:00pm, Elvet Methodist Church, Old Elvet, Durham
Family Fun - Magna Carta Medieval Make & Take
Friday 14th August 2015, 10:30am - 3:00pm, Education Centre, Durham Cathedral
Swashbuckling swords
Saturday 15th August 2015 - Friday 21st August 2015, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Little Bookworms
Monday 17th August 2015, 10:30am - 11:30am, Wolfson Gallery
Magna Carta Family Talks
Tuesday 18th August 2015, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Magna Carta Family Talks
Thursday 20th August 2015, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Make it real with a seal!
Saturday 22nd August 2015 - Friday 28th August 2015, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Little Bookworms
Monday 24th August 2015, 10:30am - 11:30am, Wolfson Gallery
Family Fun - Magna Carta Medieval Make & Take
Tuesday 25th August 2015, 10:30am - 3:00pm, Education Centre, Durham Cathedral
Magna Carta Family Talks
Tuesday 25th August 2015, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Book Club
Tuesday 25th August 2015, 5:00pm - 6:00pm, Palace Green Library
Magna Carta Family Talks
Thursday 27th August 2015, 2:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Laying down the law
Saturday 29th August 2015 - Sunday 30th August 2015, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library

Magna Carta and the Changing Face of Revolt

Poster image for the Magna Carta exhibition.

Palace Green Library, 1 June-31 August 2015

Marking the 800th anniversary of Magna Carta, this special exhibition will feature the only surviving 1216 issue of the charter.

Magna Carta was first sealed in 1215 by King John. The concession it has come to represent – that all authority can be limited by law – was extracted from the king by a group of barons who chose political engagement over passive obedience. As such they were acting no longer as loyal subjects, but as rebellious citizens.

(10 Apr 2015) » Find out more about: Magna Carta and the Changing Face of Revolt



Magna Carta and the Changing Face of Revolt access information

Contact details

Special Collections
Palace Green Library
Palace Green
DURHAM
DH1 3RN
United Kingdom
Tel
: +44 (0)191 334 2972
Email: pg.library@durham.ac.uk