Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Special Collections

Special Collections

Image of Barker Research Library Search Room
Designated as an Outstanding Collection logo

.

Founded in 1833 and occupying listed buildings within the Durham World Heritage site, Durham University's Palace Green Library houses archives, early printed books and other special collections. These include:

  • Over 70,000 books printed before 1850 including 300 incunables
  • Over 100 medieval manuscripts
  • 3,400 metres of archives and artefacts
  • Over 30,000 maps and prints and 100,000 photographs

We are open to anyone needing to consult our collections once they have registered with us. Registration here involves completing a form, providing proofs of identity and agreeing to abide by the Library's rules (please contact us if you require further information on this)

Two of the University Library's special collections were awarded Designated status in 2005 in the first round of the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council Designation Scheme.


2000 years of life at 18-29 Claypath
Thursday 20th February 2020 - Saturday 21st March 2020, 12:00am - 11:59pm, Museum of Archaeology
Norman Cornish: The Sketchbooks
Thursday 20th February 2020 - Sunday 1st March 2020, 12:00am - 5:00pm, Dennyson Stoddart Gallery, Palace Green Library
The DLI Collection Gallery: Courage, Comrades, Community
Thursday 20th February 2020 , 12:00am, DLI Collection Gallery
Sketching our Norman Cornish Exhibition
Saturday 22nd February 2020 - Sunday 23rd February 2020, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Little Bookworms
Monday 24th February 2020, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library
Fantastic Finger Puppets
Saturday 29th February 2020 - Sunday 1st March 2020, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Little Bookworms
Monday 2nd March 2020, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library
Viking Explorers
Saturday 7th March 2020 - Sunday 8th March 2020, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Little Bookworms
Monday 9th March 2020, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library
Stunning Stained Glass
Saturday 14th March 2020 - Sunday 15th March 2020, 1:00pm - 3:00pm, Palace Green Library
Little Bookworms
Monday 16th March 2020, 10:30am - 11:30am, Palace Green Library

News Feed: Library News

access information

Contact details

Special Collections
Palace Green Library
Palace Green
DURHAM
DH1 3RN
United Kingdom
Tel
: +44 (0)191 334 2972
Email: pg.library@durham.ac.uk