Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Durham Centre for Academic Development

Our Staff


Senior Management Team

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Prof Nicola Whitton

Prof Nicola Whitton

Director of DCAD

44575

nicola.j.whitton@durham.ac.uk

Dr Sam Nolan

Prof Sam Nolan

Deputy Director (Academic Excellence)

44581

s.j.nolan@durham.ac.uk

Ms Louise Greener

Ms Louise Greener

Deputy Director (Student Success)

43002

louise.greener@durham.ac.uk

Mrs Zoe Harrison

Mrs Zoe Harrison

Department Manager

48384

zoe.harrison@durham.ac.uk

Prof Steve Kirk

Prof Steve Kirk

Head of Academic Language and Communications

42249

s.e.kirk@durham.ac.uk

Mr Steve Leech

Mr Steve Leech

Head of Academic Transitions

40335

s.j.leech@durham.ac.uk

Dr Malcolm Murray

Dr Malcolm Murray

Head of Digital Learning

42767

malcolm.murray@durham.ac.uk

Dr Philip Nathan

Dr Philip Nathan

Head of MA Programmes

42244

p.b.nathan@durham.ac.uk

Dr Simon Rees

Prof Simon Rees

Head of Academic Development

48282

simon.rees@durham.ac.uk

Academic Language and Communication

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Professor Steve Kirk

Professor Steve Kirk

Head of Academic Language and Communication

Professor (Teaching)

42249

s.e.kirk@durham.ac.uk

Dr Eleanor Loughlin

Dr Eleanor Loughlin

Study Skills Programme Manager

41441

eleanor.loughlin@durham.ac.uk
Ms Diana Scott

Ms Diana Scott

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Pre-sessional Programmes Leader

44340 d.c.scott@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jessica Sequera

Mrs Jessica Sequera

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

ADS Programme Leader

43013

jessica.sequera@durham.ac.uk
Mr Andrew Mckay

Mr Andrew Mckay

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Pre-sessional Coordinator (PGR)

43003 andrew.mckay@durham.ac.uk
Dr Simon Ness

Dr Simon Ness

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Pre-sessional Coordinator (Off-site Provision)

simon.a.ness@durham.ac.uk
Ms Clare Carr

Ms Clare Carr

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

In-department Provision Coordinator

43462

c.c.barker@durham.ac.uk

Ms Helen Costello

Ms Helen Costello

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

helen.costello@durham.ac.uk
Mr Alexander Francis John Gooch

Mr Alexander Francis John Gooch

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

43003

alexander.gooch@durham.ac.uk

Mr Joe Locke

Mr Joe Locke

Teaching Fellow

joseph.locke@durham.ac.uk

Dr Fran Cettl

Dr Fran Cettl

Teaching Fellow

franciska.cettl@durham.ac.uk

Ms Gillian Powell

Ms Gillian Powell

Lecturer (Teaching)

43462

gillian.powell@durham.ac.uk

Mr Simon Young

Mr Simon Young

Assistant Teaching Fellow

simon.m.young@durham.ac.uk

Mrs Alicia Ward

Mrs Alicia Ward

Assistant Teaching Fellow

a.r.ward@durham.ac.uk

Digital Learning

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Malcolm Murray

Dr Malcolm Murray

Head of Digital Learning

42767

malcolm.murray@durham.ac.uk

Dr Sam Nolan

Professor Sam Nolan

Deputy Director (Academic Excellence)

44581

s.j.nolan@durham.ac.uk

Candace Nolan-Grant

Candace Nolan-Grant

Deputy Head of Digital Learning

Senior Digital Learning Designer

42699

candace.nolan-grant@durham.ac.uk

Dr Mark Childs

Dr Mark Childs

Senior Digital Learning Designer

mark.childs@durham.ac.uk

Nic Fern

Nic Fern

Digital Learning Developer

nicola.fern@durham.ac.uk

Chris John

Chris John

Digital Learning Developer

christopher.john@durham.ac.uk

Mr Paul Finley

Mr Paul Finley

IT Trainer

48281 paul.finley@durham.ac.uk
Miss Sarah Dodds

Miss Sarah Dodds

IT Trainer

44371 sarah.dodds@durham.ac.uk
Sumetha Karthigeyen

Sumetha Karthigeyen

Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Business)

sumetha.karthigeyen@durham.ac.uk

Julie Mulvey

Julie Mulvey

Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Social Science and Health)

42781

julie.mulvey@durham.ac.uk

Rachelle O'Brien

Rachelle O'Brien

Senior Digital Learning Designer

rachelle.e.o'brien@durham.ac.uk

Mr Ross Parker

Mr Ross Parker

Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Science)

42796

ross.parker@durham.ac.uk

James Youdale

James Youdale

Digital Education Consultant (Faculty of Arts & Humanities)

james.w.youdale@durham.ac.uk

Academic Development

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Simon Rees

Professor Simon Rees

Head of Academic Development

48282

simon.rees@durham.ac.uk

Dr Sam Nolan

Professor Sam Nolan

Deputy Director (Academic Excellence)

44581

s.j.nolan@durham.ac.uk

Professor Megan Bruce

Professor Megan Bruce

Professor (Teaching)

43006

megan.bruce@durham.ac.uk

Dr Teti Dragas

Dr Teti Dragas

Associate Professor

PRP Program Lead

43442

areti.dragas@durham.ac.uk

Dr Nicola Reimann

Dr Nicola Reimann

Associate Professor

48348

nicola.reimann@durham.ac.uk

Candace Nolan-Grant

Candace Nolan-Grant

Senior Digital Learning Designer

42699

candace.nolan-grant@durham.ac.uk

Dr Mark Childs

Dr Mark Childs

Senior Digital Learning Designer

mark.childs@durham.ac.uk

Rachelle O'Brien

Rachelle O'Brien

Senior Digital Learning Designer

rachelle.e.o'brien@durham.ac.uk

Miss Sarah Dodds

Miss Sarah Dodds

IT Trainer

44371 sarah.dodds@durham.ac.uk
Mr Paul Finley

Mr Paul Finley

IT Trainer

48281 paul.finley@durham.ac.uk
Dr David Heading

Dr David Heading

IT Trainer

david.heading@durham.ac.uk
Dr Peter Whitton

Dr Peter Whitton

Researcher Development Officer

42403 peter.d.whitton@durham.ac.uk

Academic Transitions

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Mr Steve Leech

Mr Steve Leech

Associate Professor (Teaching)

Head of Academic Transitions

Programme Leader (Social Sciences)

40335

s.j.leech@durham.ac.uk

Dr Alison McManus Dr Alison McManus

Associate Professor (Teaching)

Programme Leader (Arts and Humanities)

48343 alison.mcmanus@durham.ac.uk
Miss Rachel Dunn

Miss Rachel Dunn

Assistant Professor

Programme Leader (Sciences)

48327

r.l.dunn@durham.ac.uk
Ms Julie Wilson Ms Julie Wilson Assistant Professor (Teaching) 40166 j.m.wilson@durham.ac.uk
Dr Susan Scrafton

Dr Susan Scrafton

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Admissions Lead

40171

susan.scrafton@durham.ac.uk

Dr Jinhua Mathias

Dr Jinhua Mathias

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Programme Leader (Maths)

48307

jinhua.mathias@durham.ac.uk
Ms Diana Scott

Ms Diana Scott

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

44340 d.c.scott@durham.ac.uk
Ms Clare Carr

Ms Clare Carr

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

43462

c.c.barker@durham.ac.uk

Ms Terri Edwards

Ms Terri Edwards

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

43915

terri.edwards@durham.ac.uk

Mr Alexander Francis John Gooch

Mr Alexander Francis John Gooch

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

43003

alexander.gooch@durham.ac.uk

Ms Sherene Meir Ms Sherene Meir

Teaching Fellow

sherene.j.meir@durham.ac.uk

Dr Christopher Mcmillan

Dr Christopher Mcmillan

Teaching Fellow

christopher.j.mcmillan@durham.ac.uk

Dr Michael Dibb-fuller

Dr Michael Dibb-fuller

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

40168

michael.dibb-fuller@durham.ac.uk
Dr Izabela Walczak

Dr Izabela Walczak

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

izabela.w.walczak@durham.ac.uk
Ms Gillian Powell

Ms Gillian Powell

Lecturer (Teaching)

43462

gillian.powell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Simon Young

Mr Simon Young

Assistant Teaching Fellow

simon.m.young@durham.ac.uk

MA Programmes

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Dr Philip Nathan

Dr Philip Nathan

Head of MA Programmes

Associate Professor (Teaching)

42244

p.b.nathan@durham.ac.uk

Ms Sylvie Donna

Ms Sylvie Donna

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

MA Assessment Coordinator

44341 sylvie.donna@durham.ac.uk
Ms Lesley Kendall

Ms Lesley Kendall

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

MA Student Welfare and Operations Coordinator

43907

lesley.kendall@durham.ac.uk

Miss Helena Stakounis

Miss Helena Stakounis

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

MA New Online Course Coordinator

helena.j.stakounis@durham.ac.uk
Dr Teti Dragas

Dr Teti Dragas

Associate Professor (Teaching)

43442 areti.dragas@durham.ac.uk
Ms Louise Greener

Ms Louise Greener

Associate Professor (Teaching)

43002 louise.greener@durham.ac.uk
Prof Steve Kirk

Prof Steve Kirk

Professor (Teaching)

42249

s.e.kirk@durham.ac.uk
Dr Simon Ness

Dr Simon Ness

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

simon.a.ness@durham.ac.uk

Ms Clare Carr

Ms Clare Carr

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

Library Representative

43462

c.c.barker@durham.ac.uk

Ms Helen Costello

Ms Helen Costello

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

helen.costello@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Jessica Sequera

Mrs Jessica Sequera

Assistant Professor (Teaching)

43013

jessica.sequera@durham.ac.uk
Ms Gillian Powell

Ms Gillian Powell

Lecturer (Teaching)

Careers Representative

Alumni Relations Representative

43462

gillian.powell@durham.ac.uk
Mr Peter Grundy

Mr Peter Grundy

Guest Lecturer

peter.grundy@durham.ac.uk

Professional Support Services

Name

Position

Telephone

Email

Mrs Zoe Harrison

Mrs Zoe Harrison

Department Manager

48384

zoe.harrison@durham.ac.uk

Mrs Clare Griffin Brady

Mrs Clare Griffin Brady

Co-ordinator - Teaching

44342

clare.griffin@durham.ac.uk

Mrs Marella Darvill

Mrs Marella Darvill

Administrator - Educational Development

43007

marella.darvill2@durham.ac.uk

Ms Pauline Edmondson

Ms Pauline Edmondson

Administrator - Teaching

46109

pauline.edmondson@durham.ac.uk

Mr Benjamin Ferry

Mr Benjamin Ferry

Administrator - Teaching

43820

ben.ferry@durham.ac.uk

Mrs Claire Grendale

Mrs Claire Grendale

Administrator - Teaching

42230

claire.jones@durham.ac.uk

Mrs Susan Johnson

Mrs Susan Johnson

PA to Director/Administrator

48273

susan.johnson@durham.ac.uk

Carolyn McAlhone

Carolyn McAlhone

Senior Administrator - Team Leader

44576

carolyn.mcalhone@durham.ac.uk

Mrs Tracy Reith

Mrs Tracy Reith

Administrator - Finance

42235

t.a.reith@durham.ac.uk

Ms Sarah Wyer

Ms Sarah Wyer

Senior Administrator - Education Development

40160

sarah.wyer@durham.ac.uk