Skip to main content

Trusts, Scholarships and Prizes

Through the generosity of Alumni and donors, we are extremely fortunate to have extensive funds to distribute to our students to support them in academic and social activities that contribute to overall student experience, a sense of belonging in College.

We are also fortunate that our very active and engaged Senior Common Room gifts the Principal funds each year to support student development.

In the coming year we will be investing even more in students to get behind work and activities that:

  • support academic talent and ambition
  • enable personal development
  • meet the needs of our local community. 

Students who are interested in any of these funds should contact Leaona Clarkson at for further information.

Current scholarships

Our current portfolio of scholarships and awards include:

  • The Esther Dingley Fund: The Esther Dingley Fund has been established and launched in 2022 in memory of Esther Dingley, an alumna of the College of St Hild and St Bede. This fund will enable the annual award of bursary to support an undergraduate or postgraduate student from the College of St Hild and St Bede, with travel associated costs such as flights and/or accommodation. The funding available will contribute to the award holder’s fulfilment of their academic and personal growth by enabling them work with communities and in a foreign country. You can read about Esther and the Fund here.
  • The Caedmon/Ceolfrid Trust: Provides financial support to student members of the College and SRC in various ways. Amongst other things, the Trust supports students in certain extra-curricular activities and postgraduate research, and has historically funded the marquee at College Day. It also usually provides up to eight annual College Choral Scholarships.
  • The St Hild and St Bede Trust: A diocesan Trust, independent of College that historically provides funding for the College Chaplain; annual Theology Scholarships, Organ Scholarships and a Director and Assistant Director of Music.
  • The John (Jack) Simpson Greenwell Memorial Fund: Established from the estate of a former student at Bede College to provide students with bursaries to support their academic work; specifically projects, dissertations, fieldwork and necessary overseas visits.
  • The Hild Bede Postgraduate Education (Gerald Collier) Scholarship: Established in memory of Gerald Collier (Principal of the College of the Venerable Bede) in order to award excellence for experienced School Teachers to study for a Postgraduate degree in Education. For full or part-time students in the School of Education. One or more awards for £1,500 will be made annually.
  • The Hild Bede Theology Scholarship: This Scholarship offers up to two scholarships a year to postgraduate students with great ability and promise. This is determined jointly with the Department of Theology and Religion.
  • The Ian Cramb Scholarship: These scholarships are available thanks to a generous gift from, Ian Cramb, an alumnus of the College of St Hild and St Bede. This gift enables us to award grants worth £500 each per year to support travel bursaries for students who are members of the College of St Hild and St Bede and who are taking modules in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures (MLAC) (excluding modules taken in the Centre for Foreign Language Study). The scholarships are to support travel, living and all associated to pursue study abroad opportunities. You can read about previous award winners' experiences here.
  • The Mark Coleman Scholarship: This scholarship is available thanks to a generous gift from, Mark Coleman, an alumnus of the College of St Hild and St Bede. This gift enables the award of annual scholarship to a member of College studying in Computing Science.
  • Michael Bruce Essay Prize: This prize, established in memory of Michael Bruce, is awarded annually for essays on the theme of ‘What Durham means to me’. Michael Bruce was an alumnus of the College, SRC President between 2000-01, a member of College Advisory Board and the Caedmon Ceolfrid Trust Board. Michael died at a tragically young age in 2016. This prize recognises Michael’s strong support for students who come to Hild Bede and to Durham from families and educational settings where there was not a tradition of higher education and our desire is to see our University and College promoted to these young people and their schools and colleges. Each prize will consist of £150 and up to two prizes will be awarded each year. Only students in their first year of study will be eligible to submit an essay. We are particularly keen to recognise those students who come from families, schools and colleges with no tradition of entry to higher education. You can read more about the prize here.