We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University Calendar

Council Membership

Ex officio members:

The Chancellor (Sir Thomas Allen)

The Vice-Chancellor and Warden (Professor Christopher Higgins, BSc, PhD, FRSE, FRSA, FMedSci)

The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Professor Ray Hudson, BA, PhD, DSc, FBA)

The Dean of Durham, or, during a vacancy in office, The Vice-Dean (The Very Rev Michael Sadgrove, MA, FRSA)

The President of the Central Organisation recognised by the Council for the representation of the students (Mr Daniel Slavin)

Appointed members:

Not more than twelve lay members, not being teachers or salaried staff in the University or any of its Colleges:

Mr Richard Burge (2015) (11)

Ms Alexis Cleveland (2015) (11)

Mr Joe Docherty, BEng, MPhil (2014) (07)

Mrs Fiona Ellis, BA, MA (2015) (11)

Mr Steve Gardner, BSc, ACA (2015) (06)

Mr Robert Gillespie, BA, ACA (2015) (07) (Chair (12))

Mrs Susan Johnson OBE, MBA, BA (2014) (10)

Mrs Jill May (2016) (12)

Mr Andrew Mitchell, MA, MBA (2015) (08) (Vice-Chair (12))

Mr Steve Harman (2017) (13)

Mr Hugh Morgan Williams, OBE, BA (2015) (06)

(One to be appointed)

Seven members of the staff of the University, at least five of whom to be academic staff with research and teaching responsibilities and none of whom to be serving members of the University Executive Committee:

Professor Tom Allen, BA, LLB, LLM (2015) (11)

Professor Mike Bentley, BSc, PhD (2016) (12)

Professor Jon Davidson, BSc, PhD (2015) (08)

Professor Antony Long, BA, PhD (2015) (07)

Professor Nicholas Saul, BA, MA, PhD (2015) (08)

(Two to be appointed)

In attendance:

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Deputy Warden of the Colleges (Professor Graham Towl, DSc, MBA, FBPsS, CPsychol, CSci) (2016)

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Arts and Humanities) (Professor David Cowling (Interim)) (30 Sept 2015)

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Education) (Professor Thomas Ward, BSc, MSc, PhD) (2017)

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) (Professor Tom McLeish, MA, PhD, FRS) (2018)

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Science) (Professor Patrick Hussey (Interim)) (30 Sept 2015)

The Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Social Sciences and Health) (Professor Robin Coningham, BA, PhD) (2018)

Secretary: University Secretary, Gayle Ditchburn

A full date after a member's name indicates that their term of office will expire on the 31 July in that year and a half date indicates the year of appointment of that member. eg (2014) (09) indicates that the member was appointed in 2009 and their term of office will expire on the 31 July 2014.