We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Colleges & wider student experience

Student news

Congratulations class of 2020

(8 January 2020)

During winter congregation 2020, over 1500 of our students will graduate at ceremonies in Durham Cathedral.

We will be joined by family and friends to celebrate their hard work and inspiring achievements, and to wish them well in their future endeavours.

We also award honorary degrees to inspiring individuals, who are nominated by our colleagues, in recognition of their long and exemplary service of national and international importance. 

Dr John Sentamu, Archbishop of York, Doctor of Divinity, is recognised for his service to the Church of England and for the support and encouragement he offers our students and to St John’s College.

Sir Kevan Collins, Doctor of Letters, is recognised for his achievements in the field of education and his role in developing strong links between the Education Endowment Foundation (EEF) and Durham University.

Mr Chris Kelly, Doctor of Civil Law, is recognised for his contribution to the world of rugby and his role as a valued mentor for many of our young athletes. 

Ms Barbara Vest, Doctor of Science, is recognised for her long and successful career in the power industry and her role on the Advisory Board of our Durham Energy Institute where she has selflessly devoted much time to supporting our students and early career researchers.

Our honorary graduates come from a range of fields and all have achieved great things. Their dedication and passion for their work embody our values and we are incredibly proud to award each of them with an honorary degree.

We hope that all of our graduates and honorary graduates take Durham with them where ever they go and that they become ambassadors for our University, City and region.


Find out more

Find out more about our honorary graduates

Past honorary degree recipients