We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Colleges & wider student experience

Explore the colleges

Durham currently has 16 colleges and a new 17th college is being built to welcome new students arriving in 2020.

New college developments

To help achieve our University Strategy, 2017-2027 goal that 50% of our students will live in college accommodation, our new 17th College will open in 2020, along with a new home for John Snow College (Illustration of the new site pictured above).

These facilities, which between them will have 1,000 student beds, will be the best that Durham has to offer, and each College will have its own unique look and feel. The site both Colleges will occupy, close to the main University Campus and other Colleges, will also have a Hub with an events hall and a Multi-Use Games Area and benefit from good public transport links to other Departments and Durham City centre.

For 2018/19, John Snow College and Stephenson College are based on the Howlands site, where Stephenson College will remain for 2019/20 and onwards. 

For 2019/20, John Snow College will be based at Rushford Court

Share this content