Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Centre for Advanced Instrumentation

Staff List

Telephone +44 (0)191 33 + Extension
Email Prefix + @durham.ac.uk
NamePositionRoom NoEmail PrefixPhone Extension
Dr Tom Armstrong Research Associate PH121 thomas.armstrong 43655
Dr Alastair Basden Senior Adaptive Optics Scientist OCW015 a.g.basden 42229
Dr Nazim Bharmal Research Fellow OCW014 n.a.bharmal 41409
Dr Urban Bitenc Research Associate OCW014 urban.bitenc 42269
Dr Cyril Bourgenot Research Associate Discovery 1 cyril.bourgenot 44817
Dr David Bramall Mechanical Design Engineer Discovery 1 d.g.bramall 44815
Dr Anthony Brown Lecturer PH125d anthony.brown 43678
Dr Kim Buttenschön KT Fellow Reading k.k.buttenschon
Dr Timothy Butterley Research Associate OCW015 timothy.butterley 43714
Dr Ariadna Calcines Optical Engineer and Leader of Image Slicer Design Discovery 1/OCW021 ariadna.calcines 44814/3908
Prof Paula Chadwick Professor PH125c p.m.chadwick 43560
Prof Ian Chapman Visiting Professor Culham ian.chapman@ccfe.ac.uk
Mr Paul Clark Head of Engineering Discovery 1 paul.clark 44820/43711
Ms Madeline Close Senior Project Manager Discovery 1/OCW020 madeline.m.close 44813
Dr Nigel Dipper Senior Research Fellow OCW024 n.a.dipper 43562
Mr Marc Dubbeldam Senior Mechanical Engineer OCW021 c.m.dubbeldam 42228
Dr Colin Dunlop Senior Research Associate OCW025 colin.dunlop 43562
Dr Deli Geng Senior Software Engineer OCW033 deli.geng 43540
Prof. John Girkin Professor OCW027 j.m.girkin 43589

Dr Stephen Goodsell

Programme Manager Discovery 1/OCW020 stephen.goodsell 44757
Dr Andrew Kirby Senior Research Associate OCW015 a.k.kirby 43774
Dr Penny Lawton Research Associate OCW026 p.f.lawton 43793
Prof. Gordon Love Professor and Deputy Head of Faculty (UG) OCW030 g.d.love 43696
Mr Gary McCallum Computer Systems Manager OCW034/Discovery 1 gary.mccallum 43715/44816
Dr Lowry McComb Senior Fellow PH125b t.j.l.mccomb 43744
Dr Craig Manning Research Associate OCW025/Biology Dept craig.manning 43809/41312
Prof. Simon Morris Professor & Head of Department PHYSICS 5 simon.morris 43637
Dr Tim Morris Senior Research Fellow and Head Astronomical AO OCW022 t.j.morris 43584
Dr Graham Murray Senior Research Associate OCW025 g.j.murray 43541
Prof. Richard Myers Professor and Head of Section OCW028 r.m.myers 43692/44809
Dr Sam Nolan Research Associate PH125b s.j.nolan 43678
Dr James Osborn Senior Adaptive Optics Scientist OCW014 james.osborn 42277
Dr John Osborne Emeritus Senior Lecturer PH125b j.l.osborne 43678
Mr Ken Parkin Precision Engineer Discovery 1 kenneth.parkin 44831
Mr Paul Peacock Postdoctoral Research Associate OCW025 paul.w.peacock
Dr Andrew Reeves Senior Adaptive Optics Scientist OCW015 a.p.reeves 43720
Dr Stephen Rolt Principal Optical Scientist Discovery 1 stephen.rolt 44764
Mr David Ryder Precision Engineer Discovery 1 d.a.ryder 44828
Dr Christopher Saunter Lecturer OCW023 christopher.saunter 43643
Dr Juergen Schmoll Senior Research Associate Discovery 1 jurgen.schmoll 44810
Prof. Ray Sharples Professor & Director of CfAI OCW031 r.m.sharples 43719/44819
Mr Benjamin Shaw Mechanical Design Engineer Discovery 1 benjamin.j.shaw 44746
Dr Lazar Staykov Research Associate OCW033 lazar.staykov 43167
Dr Matthew Townson Research Software Engineer OCW014 matthew.townson 43974
Dr Luke Tyas Research Associate Discovery 1 luke.m.tyas 44809
Mrs Claire Whitehill Administrative Secretary OCW001A claire.whitehill 43588
Dr Richard Wilson Reader PH311 r.w.wilson 43663
Dr Laura Young Research Associate OCW026

laura.young

43716
Mr Eddy Younger Software Engineer OCW033 e.j.younger 43650

Research Students

NameRoom numberEmail AddressPhone Extension
Joe Allcock Culham joseph.allcock -
Shangkari Balenderan Arthur Homes 246 shangkari.balenderan 43655
Mark Corrigan OCW012 m.k.k.corrigan 43485
Nicolás Dubost OCW012 nicolas.s.dubost 43485
Oliver Farley OCW011 o.j.d.farley 43906
Abigail Finch OCW011 abigail.p.finch 43906
Sam Gibson OCW011 sam.gibson 43906
Jamie Graham PH121 jamie.a.graham 43655
Daniel Hölck OCW011 daniel.holck 43906
Ryan Jackson OCW013 ryan.a.jackson 43573
David Jenkins OCW012 d.r.jenkins 43485
Douglas Laidlaw OCW013 douglas.j.laidlaw 43573
Sheridan Lloyd PH121 sheridan.j.lloyd 43655
Amrit Lotay OCW011 a.s.lotay 43906
Jack Lovell Culham jack.lovell -
Vladimir Morozov OCW013 vladimir.f.morozov 43573
Saavidra Perera OCW011 saavidra.perera 43906
Adam Pickup-Gerlaugh OCW013 adam.pickup-gerlaugh 43573
Tiantian Sun OCW013/York tiantian.sun 43573
Charlie Vincent OCW013/York charles.h.vincent 43573
Huizhe Yang OCW012 huizhe.yang 43485

Visitors

NameDatesInstitutionEmail AddressTel No/Room NoAssociated Member of Staff
Dr Jipeng Huang

1/3/16-1/3/18

Northeast Normal University, China

jipeng.huang@durham.ac.uk

OCW013 / 45373

Dr Nigel Dipper

Dr Peng Jia

20/10/16-20/10/18

Taiyuan University of Technology, China

peng.jia@durham.ac.uk

OCW013 / 45373

Dr Alastair Basden

Dr Wenfeng Tan

21/10/16-21/10/17

National University of Defense Technology, China

wenfeng.tan@durham.ac.uk

OCW012 / 43485

Prof Richard Myers

Useful Numbers

Additional Facilities for the Department of Physics

FacilityRoom NoExtension
Adaptive Optics Control Room 27 43573
Adaptive Optics Lab 29 44712
Multi-conjugate Adaptive Optics Lab 31 44713
Spectroscopy Lab 33 44714
Fibre Lab 35 43629
Liquid Crystal Lab Office1 119a 43817
Liquid Crystal Lab Office2 119b 43774
SPANAS Lab 125a

OCW116 Meeting Room (teleconference)

OCW116 43374
OCW226 Meeting Room (teleconference) OCW226 43372
Hotdesk OCW034

Additional Facilities for Discovery 1, NETPark

FacilityRoom NoExtension
Meeting Room (Teleconference) Discovery 1 44829
Fibre & Electronics Lab (DESI) Discovery 1 44772
Dark Lab (DESI) Discovery 1 44756
Clean Lab (S4UVN CCOGSE) Discovery 1 44826