We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University College


Fellowships are awarded to members of Durham University Staff working in academic positions (including those on the Research or Teaching tracks) in all three Faculties.

Fellowships are awarded for an initial period of 3 years and are non-stipendiary. Fellows will be invited to become full members of the Senior Common Room of University College, if they are not current members. Fellows are awarded a dining allowance, to cover up to 5 High Table formals per academic year (or equivalent).

Fellows may also apply to the University College research fund, which provides grants of up to £1000 per award for academic activities undertaken as part of the holder’s work at the University (grants are awarded on a competitive basis). This can include travel, fieldwork, or conference attendance.

Fellows are expected to play a full part in the life of the College, and are invited to take up a role as Pastoral Mentor to a group of undergraduate students. Fellows will be expected to give a lecture at the College during their Fellowship. The number of fellows at any one time it a maximum of twenty-five.

Current Fellows