Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University College

Fellows

Fellowships are awarded to members of Durham University Staff working in academic positions (including those on the Research or Teaching tracks) in all three Faculties.

Fellowships are awarded for an initial period of 3 years and are non-stipendiary. Fellows are full members of the Senior Common Room of University College, if they are not current members. Fellows are awarded a dining allowance, and may also apply to the University College research fund, which provides grants of up to £1000 per award for academic activities undertaken as part of the holder’s work at the University (grants are awarded on a competitive basis). This can include travel, fieldwork, or conference attendance.

Fellows play a full part in the life of the College, and are invited to take up a role as Pastoral Mentor to a group of undergraduate students. Fellows will be expected to give a lecture at the College during their Fellowship. The number of Fellows at any one time it a maximum of twenty-five (with additional Junior and Emeritus Fellows).

The current membership of the Appointment Committee is:
Professor Corrine Saunders (English Studies)
Professor Martin Ward (Physics)
Professor Anoush Ehteshami (Government and International Affairs)

Current Fellows

NamePositionDepartmentEmail
Peter Bowcock Fellow Mathematical Sciences peter.bowcock@durham.ac.uk
Prof. George Boys-Stones Fellow Classics and Ancient History g.r.boys-stones@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thom Brooks Fellow Law School thom.brooks@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hazel Donkin Fellow School of Education hazel.donkin@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anoush Ehteshami Fellow School of Government and International Affairs a.ehteshami@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Fuller Emeritus Fellow david.fuller@durham.ac.uk
Jens Funke Fellow Mathematical Sciences jens.funke@durham.ac.uk
Professor Paul Harvey, FBA Emeritus Fellow
Dr Monica Hellstrom Fellow Classics and Ancient History monica.hellstrom@durham.ac.uk
Nicholas Hoggard Junior Fellow Law School n.w.hoggard@durham.ac.uk
Dr Matteo Iannizzotto Fellow Durham Business School (Economics) matteo.iannizzotto@durham.ac.uk
Prof Ray Land Emeritus Fellow ray.land@durham.ac.uk
Prof John O'Brien Emeritus Fellow john.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Pantazatos Fellow Philosophy andreas.pantazatos@durham.ac.uk
Prof Stefan Przyborski Fellow Biosciences stefan.przyborski@durham.ac.uk
Prof. P. J. Rhodes, FBA Emeritus Fellow p.j.rhodes@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jim Ridgway Emeritus Fellow jim.ridgway@durham.ac.uk
Professor Fiona Robertson Fellow English Studies fiona.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Professor John Rogister Emeritus Fellow
Professor Ari Sadanandom Fellow Biosciences ari.sadanandom@durham.ac.uk
Professor Corinne Saunders Fellow English Studies c.j.saunders@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Schütze Fellow Law School robert.schuetze@durham.ac.uk
Dr Luke Sunderland Fellow Modern Langugages and Cultures luke.sunderland@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Taylor Fellow History s.j.c.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emily Thomas Fellow Philosophy emily.e.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Prof. J. David Thomas, FBA Emeritus Fellow j.d.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Prof Martin Ward Fellow Physics martin.ward@durham.ac.uk