Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University College

Who's who

Acting Master

Dr Richard Lawrie

Richard Lawrie is Acting Master of University College. Richard holds a PhD in History from Durham University. He is responsible for the overseeing student support within the College, admissions, and alumni relations. Students who wish to book an appointment to see a member of the student support team should contact univcoll.studentsupport@durham.ac.uk or speak to the student support secretary.



Acting Vice-Master & Senior Tutor

Mr Andrew Tibbs

Andrew Tibbs is currently the Acting Vice-Master & Senior Tutor. Andrew has an undergraduate degree in politics, and is currently undertaking a PhD with the Department of Archaeology, where his research focuses on Roman military installations in Northern Britain. His role within College includes providing student support, oversight of admissions and allocations, and delivering development and careers advice.

Appointments to see a member of the student support team can be made by emailing univcoll.studentsupport@durham.ac.uk

Assistant Senior Tutor

This position is currently vacant.

Student Support Administrator and College Secretary

Paula Furness

Paula Furness is the first point of contact in the student support team. Students should contact her (univcoll.studentsupport@durham.ac.uk) if they wish to make an appointment with the Senior Tutor or other College Officers.


Telephone numbers:

0191 334 4099 (College Office, 9-5)
0191 334 4104 (College Secretary, 9-5)
0191 334 4119 (Bursar's Secretary, 9-5)
0191 334 3800 (Porter's Lodge, 24 hours)
Fax: 0191 334 3801

Full Contact List

Common Room Presidents

Senior Common Room President Dr Andreas Pantazatos
Middle Common Room President Nick Spong
Junior Common Room Senior Student Charlie McKeever
SectionNamePositionTelephoneEmail
College Officers : Dr Richard Lawrie Acting Master 42673 r.m.lawrie@durham.ac.uk
Mr Andrew Tibbs Acting Vice-Master & Senior Tutor 44141 andrew.tibbs@durham.ac.uk
Curator : Ms Gemma Lewis Deputy Curator 44139 Contact Gemma Lewis
Fellows: Dr Baris Ari Slater Fellow baris.ari@durham.ac.uk
Peter Bowcock Fellow peter.bowcock@durham.ac.uk
Prof. George Boys-Stones Fellow g.r.boys-stones@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thom Brooks Fellow thom.brooks@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hazel Donkin Fellow hazel.donkin@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anoush Ehteshami Fellow a.ehteshami@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Fuller Emeritus Fellow david.fuller@durham.ac.uk
Jens Funke Fellow jens.funke@durham.ac.uk
Dr Monica Hellstrom Fellow Contact Monica Hellstrom
Dr Matteo Iannizzotto Fellow matteo.iannizzotto@durham.ac.uk
Prof Ray Land Emeritus Fellow ray.land@durham.ac.uk
Prof John O'Brien Emeritus Fellow john.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Pantazatos Fellow andreas.pantazatos@durham.ac.uk
Prof Stefan Przyborski Fellow stefan.przyborski@durham.ac.uk
Prof. P. J. Rhodes, FBA Emeritus Fellow p.j.rhodes@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jim Ridgway Emeritus Fellow jim.ridgway@durham.ac.uk
Professor Fiona Robertson Fellow fiona.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Ari Sadanandom Fellow ari.sadanandom@durham.ac.uk
Professor Corinne Saunders Fellow c.j.saunders@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Schütze Fellow robert.schuetze@durham.ac.uk
Professor Luke Sunderland Fellow luke.sunderland@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Taylor Fellow s.j.c.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emily Thomas Fellow emily.e.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Prof Martin Ward Fellow martin.ward@durham.ac.uk
Administration Staff : Miss Paula Furness College Secretary & Student Support Administrator 44104 paula.furness@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Linda Beighton Admissions & Student Support Secretary 44099 linda.beighton@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Elaine Bedford Finance Assistant [Secondment] 44114 e.m.bedford@durham.ac.uk
Ms Janet Edwards Receptionist 43800 Contact Janet Edwards
Mrs Susan Noble Finance Officer 44114 Contact Susan Noble
Catering, Operations and Housekeeping : Mr Jamie Short Food & Beverage Service Manager 42358 Contact Jamie Short
Mr Daniel Nowell Head Chef 42678 Contact Daniel Nowell

Contact Us

University College
The Castle
Palace Green
Durham
DH1 3RW

College Office: 0191 334 4099

Commerical Enquiries: 0191 334 2887