Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University College

Who's who

Acting Master

Dr Richard Lawrie

Richard Lawrie is Acting Master of University College. Richard holds a PhD in History from Durham University. He is responsible for the overseeing student support within the College, admissions, and alumni relations. Students who wish to book an appointment to see a member of the student support team should contact univcoll.studentsupport@durham.ac.uk or speak to the student support secretary.


Acting Senior Tutor

Dr Mark Shaw

Mark Shaw is Acting Senior Tutor of University College, and Research Officer in the Global Policy Institute. Mark holds a PhD in Politics from Durham University. He is part of the student support team and is happy to see students regarding any academic, personal, or other matter. Mark leads the College's academic programme, including the Durham Castle Lecture Series and the College's contribution to the Durham Award. Students wishing to make an appointment to see Mark shoud contact univcoll.studentsupport@durham.ac.uk, or speak to the student support secretary.


Bursar

Michelle Crawford

Michelle Crawford is the Bursar of University College. Michelle holds a BSc in Applied Accounting and is a registered member of the Institute of Hospitality. She previously worked at Marriott Hotels as Cluster Financial Controller for 15 years, followed by varying College Bursarial roles at Collingwood, Josephine Butler, St. Mary's and Trevelyan. She is responsible for the day-to-day non-academic operations of the College.


Chaplain and Solway Fellow

Revd. Richard P. Whaite

Ric Whaite is the Chaplain and Solway Fellow of University College. He is happy to see any member of college or of the wider chapel community about any matter or problem (spiritual, personal, or practical) or just for a chat and a cup of tea. As well as providing pastoral and spiritual support within college, he can signpost on to other faith chaplains and societies across Durham University.

As Solway Fellow, Ric is working on a PhD in the Department of History.


Student Support Administrator and College Secretary

Paula Furness

Paula Furness is the first point of contact in the student support team. Students should contact her (univcoll.studentsupport@durham.ac.uk) if they wish to make an appointment with the Senior Tutor or other College Officers.


Common Room Presidents

Senior Common Room President Dr Andreas Pantazatos
Middle Common Room President Jack Towers
Junior Common Room Senior Student Henry Beckley

Telephone numbers:

0191 334 4099 (College Office, 9-5)
0191 334 4104 (College Secretary, 9-5)
0191 334 4119 (Bursar's Secretary, 9-5)
0191 334 3800 (Porter's Lodge, 24 hours)
Fax: 0191 334 3801

Full Contact List

SectionNamePositionTelephoneEmail
College Officers : Dr Richard Lawrie Acting Master 42673 r.m.lawrie@durham.ac.uk
Dr Mark Shaw Acting Senior Tutor 44141 m.r.shaw@durham.ac.uk
Revd R. P. Whaite Chaplain 44116 richard.p.whaite@durham.ac.uk
Ms Michelle Crawford Bursar 44027 [07834 567757] t.m.crawford@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Donna Pudwell Operations Manager Castle 44115 Contact Donna Pudwell
Curator : Ms Gemma Lewis Deputy Curator 44139 Contact Gemma Lewis
Fellows: Dr Baris Ari Slater Fellow baris.ari@durham.ac.uk
Peter Bowcock Fellow peter.bowcock@durham.ac.uk
Prof. George Boys-Stones Fellow g.r.boys-stones@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thom Brooks Fellow thom.brooks@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hazel Donkin Fellow hazel.donkin@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anoush Ehteshami Fellow a.ehteshami@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Fuller Emeritus Fellow david.fuller@durham.ac.uk
Jens Funke Fellow jens.funke@durham.ac.uk
Dr Monica Hellstrom Fellow Contact Monica Hellstrom
Mr Nicholas Hoggard Junior Fellow n.w.hoggard@durham.ac.uk
Dr Matteo Iannizzotto Fellow matteo.iannizzotto@durham.ac.uk
Prof Ray Land Emeritus Fellow ray.land@durham.ac.uk
Prof John O'Brien Emeritus Fellow john.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Pantazatos Fellow andreas.pantazatos@durham.ac.uk
Prof Stefan Przyborski Fellow stefan.przyborski@durham.ac.uk
Prof. P. J. Rhodes, FBA Emeritus Fellow p.j.rhodes@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jim Ridgway Emeritus Fellow jim.ridgway@durham.ac.uk
Professor Fiona Robertson Fellow fiona.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Ari Sadanandom Fellow ari.sadanandom@durham.ac.uk
Professor Corinne Saunders Fellow c.j.saunders@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Schütze Fellow robert.schuetze@durham.ac.uk
Dr Luke Sunderland Fellow luke.sunderland@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Taylor Fellow s.j.c.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emily Thomas Fellow emily.e.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Prof. J. David Thomas, FBA Emeritus Fellow j.d.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Prof Martin Ward Fellow martin.ward@durham.ac.uk
Administration Staff : Miss Paula Furness College Secretary & Student Support Administrator 44104 paula.furness@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Linda Beighton Admissions & Student Support Secretary 44099 linda.beighton@durham.ac.uk
Ms Natalie Matias Sabbatical Alumni Relations & Development Officer 44102 Contact Natalie Matias
Mrs Elaine Bedford Finance Assistant [Secondment] 44114 e.m.bedford@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Wendy Chambers Accommodation Co-Ordinator (B&B) 44106 w.r.chambers@durham.ac.uk
Ms Janet Edwards Receptionist 43800 Contact Janet Edwards
Miss Alison E Howe Bursar's/Ops Secretary 44119 alison.howe@durham.ac.uk
Ms Susan Quayle Finance Officer 44114 Contact Susan Quayle
Mr Neville Carman Operations / Services Coordinator 42674 Contact Neville Carman
Catering and Housekeeping : Mr Jamie Short Food & Beverage Service Manager 42358 Contact Jamie Short
Mr Daniel Nowell Head Chef 42678 Contact Daniel Nowell
Ms Ann Coult Housekeeper 44135 a.m.coult@durham.ac.uk

Contact Us

University College
The Castle
Palace Green
Durham
DH1 3RW

College Office: 0191 334 4099

Commerical Enquiries: 0191 334 2887