Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University College

Who's who

Acting Principal

Professor Graham Towl

Graham Towl is Professor of Forensic Psychology at Durham University and visiting clinical professor at the psychology department, Newcastle University and visiting professor at the Adam Smith Business School, Glasgow University. He is a member of the Office for Students expert advisory panel on student welfare and safeguarding. He is the national mental health advisor to the Nightline Association.

Professor Towl has published widely in areas of forensic psychology, suicide and sexual violence. He was formerly a member of the Executive team at Durham University as (2011-2016) Pro Vice Chancellor for colleges and student experience. Previously he held the post of Principal at St Cuthbert’s Society, Durham university (2008-2011).

Prior to joining Durham University Professor Towl was the Chief Psychologist at the Ministry of Justice. Prior to his Senior Civil Service roles he worked as a practitioner and has experience working in prisons and psychiatric hospitals. He was the founding Chair of the British Psychological Society’s (BPS) Division of Forensic Psychology. He is the recipient of BPS awards for his distinguished contributions to forensic psychology and was peer nominated as the most influential forensic psychologist in the UK.

Professor Graham Towl, BA, MSc, MBA, DSc, FBPsS, FAcSS, C. Psychol, Reg Psych, HCPC.

(Acting) Principal

University College Durham

Dr Wendy Powers will be joining University College as Principal on 1st June 2020.


Vice-Principal Dr Ellen Crabtree

Dr Ellen Crabtree will be due to start working with University College on, 27th April 2020

Appointments to see a member of the student support team can be made by completing a request form here.

Dr David Lowther, Assistant Principal

Acting Vice Principal

David Lowther gained his PhD in History of Science at Newcastle University in 2016 and was previously Leverhulme Early Career Fellow in the Department of History at Durham University. He is now an Honorary Fellow in the department and continues a limited amount of teaching and supervision in colonial South Asian history and the history of science.

Acting Assistant Principal

Paula Furness is the Team lead for University College's pastoral and welfare support office, the Support Team work to ensure that you obtain the most from your time at Durham and ensure that all of our students receive help, support and guidance when encountering difficulty and are supported in their student development. The student support and welfare team will arrange an appointment with Paula for students to discuss anything at all that may be impacting onto studies such as: Harassment and Bullying, Academic concerns, Sexual Violence & Misconduct, Health Concerns, Plagiarism advice & general support

Acting College Secretary

Linda Beighton is the first point of contact for students who wish to make an appointment to see a member of the Wellbeing & Development Team and is responsible for general queries within Admissions & Student support. Linda is also the first point of contact dealing with students leave and absence processes and assists in the administering of College Scholarships and Bursaries and student hardship fund.

Common Room Presidents

Senior Common Room President Dr Andreas Pantazatos
Middle Common Room President Nick Spong
Junior Common Room Senior Student Charlie McKeever

Telephone numbers:

0191 334 4099 (College Office, 9:00-5:00)
0191 334 4104 (Paula Furness)
0191 334 4141 (David Lowther)
0191 334 3800 (Porter's Lodge, 24 hours)

Full Contact List

SectionNamePositionTelephoneEmail
College Officers : Dr David Lowther Assistant Senior Tutor 44141 david.a.lowther@durham.ac.uk
Curator : Ms Gemma Lewis Deputy Curator 44139 Contact Gemma Lewis
Fellows: Dr Baris Ari Slater Fellow baris.ari@durham.ac.uk
Peter Bowcock Fellow peter.bowcock@durham.ac.uk
Prof. George Boys-Stones Fellow g.r.boys-stones@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thom Brooks Fellow thom.brooks@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hazel Donkin Fellow hazel.donkin@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anoush Ehteshami Fellow a.ehteshami@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Fuller Emeritus Fellow david.fuller@durham.ac.uk
Jens Funke Fellow jens.funke@durham.ac.uk
Dr Monica Hellstrom Fellow Contact Monica Hellstrom
Dr Matteo Iannizzotto Fellow matteo.iannizzotto@durham.ac.uk
Prof Ray Land Emeritus Fellow ray.land@durham.ac.uk
Prof John O'Brien Emeritus Fellow john.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Pantazatos Fellow andreas.pantazatos@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stefan Przyborski Fellow stefan.przyborski@durham.ac.uk
Prof. P. J. Rhodes, FBA Emeritus Fellow p.j.rhodes@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jim Ridgway Emeritus Fellow jim.ridgway@durham.ac.uk
Professor Fiona Robertson Fellow fiona.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Ari Sadanandom Fellow ari.sadanandom@durham.ac.uk
Professor Corinne Saunders Fellow c.j.saunders@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Schütze Fellow robert.schuetze@durham.ac.uk
Professor Luke Sunderland Fellow luke.sunderland@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Taylor Fellow s.j.c.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emily Thomas Fellow emily.e.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Prof Martin Ward Fellow martin.ward@durham.ac.uk
Administration Staff : Miss Paula Furness College Secretary & Student Support Administrator 44104 paula.furness@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Linda Beighton Admissions & Student Support Secretary 44099 linda.beighton@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Elaine Bedford Finance Assistant [Secondment] 44114 e.m.bedford@durham.ac.uk
Ms Janet Edwards Receptionist 43800 Contact Janet Edwards
Mrs Susan Noble Finance Officer 44114 Contact Susan Noble
Catering, Operations and Housekeeping : Mr Jamie Short Food & Beverage Service Manager 42358 Contact Jamie Short
Mr Daniel Nowell Head Chef 42678 Contact Daniel Nowell

Contact Us

University College
The Castle
Palace Green
Durham
DH1 3RW

College Office: 0191 334 4099

Commerical Enquiries: 0191 334 2887