We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

University College

Who's who

Master of University College

Professor David Held

David Held is Master of University College, and Professor of Politics and International Relations at Durham University. He holds a PhD in Political Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He is Co-Director of the Global Policy Institute, Durham University, and is author of more than 60 written or edited books and of an extensive number of academic articles on democracy, democratsation, globalisation, global governance and global policy – over a 25-year period. David has overall responsibility for the management of the College.

Vice-Master and Senior Tutor

Dr Richard Lawrie

Richard Lawrie is Vice-Master and Senior Tutor of University College. Richard holds a PhD in History from Durham University. He is responsible for the overseeing student support within the College, admissions, and alumni relations. Students who wish to book an appointment to see a member of the student support team should contact or speak to Mrs Carrick.


Michelle Crawford

Michelle Crawford holds a BSc in Applied Accounting and is a registered member of the Institute of Hospitality. She previously worked at Marriott Hotels as Cluster Financial Controller for 15 years, followed by varying College Bursarial roles at Collingwood, Josephine Butler, St. Mary's and Trevelyan. She is responsible for the day-to-day non-academic operations of the College.

Chaplain and Solway Fellow

Revd. Dr Hannah Cleugh

Hannah Cleugh is the Chaplain and Solway Fellow of University College. She holds a DPhil in Theology from the University of Oxford. She is happy to see any member of college or of the wider chapel community about any matter or problem (spiritual, personal, or practical) or just for a chat and a cup of tea. As well as providing pastoral and spiritual support within college, she can signpost on to other faith chaplains and societies across Durham University.

As Solway Fellow, Hannah is a Reformation historian working on liturgy and doctrine in the post-Reformation Church of England.

Student Support Administrator and College Secretary

Mrs P. Lynne Carrick

Mrs Carrick is the first point of contact in the student support team. Students should contact her ( if they wish to make an appointment with the Senior Tutor or other College Officers.

Common Room Presidents

Senior Common Room President Prof. Corrine Saunders
Middle Common Room President Mr Callum Murrell
Junior Common Room Senior Student Mr Fraser Desforges-Medhurst

Telephone numbers:

0191 334 4099 (College Office, 9-5)
0191 334 4104 (College Secretary, 9-5)
0191 334 4119 (Bursar's Secretary, 9-5)
0191 334 3800 (Porter's Lodge, 24 hours)
Fax: 0191 334 3801

Full Contact List

General Enquiries and Porters Lodge : General Enquiries 44099
Porters Lodge 43800
Durham Castle Reception - Vacation Only 44108
College Officers : Professor David Held Master 41054 College Office and Research Office Master's House Contact David Held
Dr Richard Lawrie Vice Master & Senior Tutor & Lowe Librarian 42673
Revd Dr Hannah Cleugh Chaplain 44116
Ms Michelle Crawford Bursar 44027 [07834 567757]
Mrs Donna Pudwell Operations Manager [Tuesday - Friday] 44115 Contact Donna Pudwell
Dr Mark Shaw Durham Castle Lecture Series Coordinator 44461
Curator : Ms Gemma Lewis Deputy Curator 44139 Contact Gemma Lewis
Administration Staff : Mrs P Lynne Carrick College Secretary & Student Support Administrator 44104
Mrs Linda Beighton Admissions & Student Support Secretary 44099
Ms Natalie Matias Sabbatical Alumni Relations & Development Officer 44102 Contact Natalie Matias
Mrs Wendy Chambers Accommodation Co-Ordinator (B&B) 44106
Mrs Janet Edwards Receptionist 43800 Contact Janet Edwards
Miss Alison E Howe Bursar's Secretary 44119
Miss Rachel Jackson Finance Assistant 44114 Contact Rachel Jackson
Ms Susan Quayle Finance Officer 44114 Contact Susan Quayle
Mr Neville Carman Operations / Services Coordinator 42674 Contact Neville Carman
Catering and Housekeeping : Mr Dave Walker Community Executive Chef 42678 Contact Dave Walker
Mr Jamie Short Food & Beverage Service Manager 42358 Contact Jamie Short
Mr Richard Metcalfe Head Chef 42678 Contact Richard Metcalfe
Ms Ann Coult Housekeeper 44135
Castle Undercroft Bar 44142
JCR : JCR Senior Man 44138
JCR Office - Norman Gallery 44123
JCR Bar Chairman 44122
JCR Bar Vice Chair 44098
JCR Social Secretary - Norman Gallery 44124
JCR Vice Senior Man - Norman Gallery 44121
JCR Student Liaison & Welfare Officer - Norman Gallery 44127
JCR Treasuer - Norman Gallery 44145
Residents: Dr Eva-Maria Nag (Research Fellow) and Resident Master's House 44474
VISITING FELLOW (Owengate Flat) 44094
VISITING FELLOW (Bailey Court 23) 44131
(Norman Gallery 15) 44093
Moatside Court - Northgate R9 44109
Castle Garden Stairs 8 Flat 44113
Castle Hall Stairs 8 Flat 44118
Castle Keep 38 Flat 44120
Cousins Hall A1 Flat 44101
Unattended Extensions : Castle Senate Suite 44137
Senior Common Room (Lobby) 44136
Castle Bishops's Suite 44129
Castle - Judge's Kitchen 44125
Owengate 44096
Bailey Court - Block C 44097
Bailey Court - Block D 44111
Moatside Court - S Block 44130
Castle - Keep 1st Floor 44126
Castle - Hall Stairs 44117
Castle Room G7 (Laundry) 44092
Lowe Library 44128 and 42935
Moatside Court (Gym) 44110
PDQ and Event Organiser p/t 44143
PDQ Line Reception 44134

Contact Us

University College
The Castle
Palace Green

College Office: 0191 334 4099

Commerical Enquiries: 0191 334 2887