Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

University College

Who's who

Principal

Professor Wendy Powers

Professor Wendy Powers joins University College from June 2020.

Wendy has over 30 years’ experience in Higher Education and joins University College from Alverno College, Milwaukee in the USA, where she was Vice President of Student Affairs and Dean of Students.

She said: “I’m delighted and humbled to join the University College community as its next leader and I am committed to honouring the College’s remarkable history as we build the future together.”

As Head of College, Wendy will provide leadership and direction to members of the College community and will be responsible for its student development programme and wellbeing agenda.

Wendy’s secondary role is as Associate Vice Provost (Education) where she will use her considerable skills and experience towards the University’s goal of widening access and participation, an area she is passionate about.


Vice-Principal

Dr Ellen Crabtree

univcoll.vp@durham.ac.uk

Dr Ellen Crabtree works closely with the Principal and Assistant Principal of University College and is the lead on Student Support, Wellbeing & Development within the College.

Ellen is an Honorary Fellow in the Department of History. Her research interests lie in modern and contemporary France and the relationship between historians and political activism.

Appointments can be made by emailing: Univcoll.studentsupport@durham.ac.uk

Dr David Lowther, Assistant Principal

Assistant Principal

Dr David Lowther

univcoll.ap@durham.ac.uk

Dr David Lowther gained his PhD in History of Science at Newcastle University in 2016 and was previously Leverhulme Early Career Fellow in the Department of History at Durham University. He is now an Honorary Fellow in the department and continues a limited amount of teaching and supervision in colonial South Asian history and the history of science.

Student Support Officer

Paula Furness is the Team lead for University College's pastoral and welfare support office, the Support Team work to ensure that you obtain the most from your time at Durham and ensure that all of our students receive help, support and guidance when encountering difficulty and are supported in their student development. Paula works to support students that that have been affected by, Harassment and Bullying, Academic concerns, Sexual Violence & Misconduct, Health Concerns. Paula coordinates the Scholarships, Hardship and Bursary application funds.

College Secretary

The College Secretary is a key member of the College team that helps to deliver the College's aims. The role supports the overall effective administration of the College, including the activities of College Officers, the Student Support Team, the Operations Team, the three College Common Rooms, Society, Trust and Alumni Society. Acting as first point of contact for many internal and external stakeholders of the College, the secretary is a central role and contributes to the smooth running of the College.

Student Support Office

Linda Beighton is the first point of contact for students who wish to make an appointment to see a member of the Student Support Team and is responsible for general queries within Admissions & Student support. Linda is also the first point of contact dealing with students leave and absence processes and assists in the administering of College Scholarships and Bursaries and student hardship fund.

Common Room Presidents

Senior Common Room President Dr Andreas Pantazatos
Middle Common Room President Vicky Fawcett
Junior Common Room Senior Student Ferdinand Schultz

Telephone numbers:

0191 334 4099 (College Office, 9:00-5:00)
0191 334 4104 (Paula Furness)
0191 334 4141 (David Lowther)
0191 334 3800 (Porter's Lodge, 24 hours)

Full Contact List

SectionNamePositionTelephoneEmail
College Officers : Dr David Lowther Assistant Senior Tutor 44141 david.a.lowther@durham.ac.uk
Curator : Ms Gemma Lewis Deputy Curator 44139 Contact Gemma Lewis
Fellows: Peter Bowcock Fellow peter.bowcock@durham.ac.uk
Prof. George Boys-Stones Fellow g.r.boys-stones@durham.ac.uk
Professor Thom Brooks Fellow thom.brooks@durham.ac.uk
Dr Hazel Donkin Fellow hazel.donkin@durham.ac.uk
Professor Anoush Ehteshami Fellow a.ehteshami@durham.ac.uk
Professor David Fuller Emeritus Fellow david.fuller@durham.ac.uk
Jens Funke Fellow jens.funke@durham.ac.uk
Dr Monica Hellstrom Fellow Contact Monica Hellstrom
Dr Matteo Iannizzotto Fellow matteo.iannizzotto@durham.ac.uk
Prof Ray Land Emeritus Fellow ray.land@durham.ac.uk
Prof John O'Brien Emeritus Fellow john.o'brien@durham.ac.uk
Dr Andreas Pantazatos Fellow andreas.pantazatos@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stefan Przyborski Fellow stefan.przyborski@durham.ac.uk
Prof. P. J. Rhodes, FBA Emeritus Fellow p.j.rhodes@durham.ac.uk
Prof Jim Ridgway Emeritus Fellow jim.ridgway@durham.ac.uk
Professor Fiona Robertson Fellow fiona.robertson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Ari Sadanandom Fellow ari.sadanandom@durham.ac.uk
Professor Corinne Saunders Fellow c.j.saunders@durham.ac.uk
Professor Robert Schütze Fellow robert.schuetze@durham.ac.uk
Professor Luke Sunderland Fellow luke.sunderland@durham.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Taylor Fellow s.j.c.taylor@durham.ac.uk
Dr Emily Thomas Fellow emily.e.thomas@durham.ac.uk
Administration Staff : Miss Paula Furness College Secretary & Student Support Administrator 44104 paula.furness@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Linda Beighton Admissions & Student Support Secretary 44099 linda.beighton@durham.ac.uk
Mrs Elaine Bedford Finance Assistant [Secondment] 44114 e.m.bedford@durham.ac.uk
Ms Janet Kelly Receptionist 43800 Contact Janet Kelly
Mrs Susan Noble Finance Officer 44114 susan.noble@durham.ac.uk
Catering, Operations and Housekeeping : Mr Jamie Short Food & Beverage Service Manager 42358 Contact Jamie Short
Mr Daniel Nowell Head Chef 42678 Contact Daniel Nowell

Contact Us

University College
The Castle
Palace Green
Durham
DH1 3RW

College Office: 0191 334 4099

New students: email univcoll.admissions@durham.ac.uk