We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Team Durham


Palatinate Awards Ceremony 2020/21

(24 June 2021)

This season has been somewhat different. With sport being stop and start for some and non- existent for others, we have been incredibly proud of how all of our students and staff members have navigated their way through a tough 18 months.

Yesterday, we saw a remodel of the Palatinate Awards for the second time in as many years following the online version at the end of the 2019/20 season. In ‘normal’ years, the Palatinate Dinner is an evening event welcoming 500 guests including staff and students to celebrate the season of sporting success, however, this year, an intimate gathering of 30 came together for an outdoor food and drinks reception to toast the year just gone.


The ceremony recognised all of Durham's talented and hard-working athletes being presented with Palatinates and Half-Palatinates, representing their commitment to and achievements within university sport. These awards are notoriously difficult to achieve, so all on the list should be commended for earning their colours. It also noted those athletes, who despite the challenges faced this year have represented their countries at senior level by awarding them with Honorary Life Memberships.


Full Palatinates

Livy Schellekens, Emma Brown, Alice Snelling, Fiona Crackles, Josh Basham, Marijn Huis


Half Palatinates

Daniel Webb, Lew Bedford, Olivia Christie, Olivia French, Paul Midgely, Jake Allen, Michael Suddaby, Douglas Law, Ailsa Maclean, Will Graye, Amy Sharpe, Callum Addison, Ellie Pitcher, Steph Beaumont, Richard Brooks, Rory Lonergan, James Randall, Sian Milligan, Amy McGuinness, Thalia Seale, Charlie Spawforth, Jack Hil, Dan Blackman, Joe Savage, Danielle Parr,Tom Woodthorpe, Katie Bennett


Honorary Life Memberships

Fiona Crackles, Kerry-Anne Hastings, Izzie Howell, Devon Cooper


The awards culminated in the presentation of a final six prestigious awards. It is always difficult to choose one individual athlete/ club amongst an ever outstanding cohort and this year was no different, with many clubs and athletes going above and beyond to positively impact throughout these unprecedented times both on and off the sporting field. The following were announced winners in their categories;


Sportsman of the year: Callum Prosser (Rowing) and Ben Fowles (Rugby)

Sportswoman of the year: Fiona Crackles (Hockey)

Club of the year: Men’s Rugby

The Peter Warburton Head of Sport Award: Lew Bedford (Cricket)

Contribution to Sport: Paul Lysaght (Boxing)

College Sport Champions: Collingwood College


We would just like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of the award winners and to thank everyone in Team Durham for all they have done throughout this difficult season. 

For more, please follow us on social media and search #PalatinateAwards. 


To submit items for the Team Durham news feed, please fill out the News Submission form.