We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Philosophy

Staff Research Interests

Palace Green Library

Palace Green Library

We are a pluralistic and friendly department, which accommodates work in 'analytic', 'Continental' and non-Western philosophical traditions. Current research by our staff and postgraduate students spans a notably diverse range of philosophical, historical and interdisciplinary topics. It is focused around the activities of five research groups/clusters:

Below is a list of staff and their primary interest areas. Not only does this indicate the breadth of research in the department, it is a good guide for prospective students looking for specialist supervision for their research project.

  • Dr Amanda Taylor Aiken - Phenomenology, philosophy of psychiatry, philosophy of mind, intersubjectivity, emotional experience, empathy and interaffectivity, interpersonal relations and alienation, hermeneutics.

  • Dr Daniel Becker - History of science, history of medicine and disease.

  • Prof Nancy Cartwright - Philosophy and history of science (especially physics and economics), causal inference, objectivity and evidence (especially on evidence-based policy).

  • Dr Matthew Eddy - Seventeenth- to nineteenth-century forms of scientific representation and argumentation including historical conceptions of mind, memory, matter, time, language, visuality, informatics, human origins and religion.
  • Dr SA Gambaudo - Gender/feminism, Janet Frame, Julia Kristeva, psychoanalysis.
  • Dr SC Gibb - Mental causation, categories of being, causation and Laws.
  • Dr AJ Hamilton - Aesthetics, history of analytic philosophy, philosophy of mind, political philosophy especially liberalism, Wittgenstein.
  • Dr RF Hendry - History and philosophy of quantum physics and chemistry, scientific method and rationality, scientific realism and anti-realism.
  • Professor W Hinzen - Philosophy of linguistics, semantics, syntax, truth.
  • Dr Simon Paul James - Environmental philosophy, the philosophy of Buddhism, phenomenology (especially Heidegger's work and that of Merleau-Ponty), virtue ethics (especially environmental virtue ethics).
  • Dr Ian James Kidd - Epistemology, ethics, history of philosophy and science C18-20, philosophy of medicine, philosophy of religion, philosophy of Science.
  • Professor EJ Lowe - Contemporary metaphysics, philosophy of logic and language, philosophy of mind and action, the philosophy of John Locke.
  • Dr Clare Mac Cumhaill - Philosophy of perception.
  • Professor Holger Maehle - Ethical issues in the history of medicine, history of medicine and the life sciences, history of pharmacology.
  • Dr A Pantazatos - Ethics, philosophy of archaeology and heritage.
  • Dr Wendy Parker - Philosophy of science (especially computer simulation, evidence), philosophical issues in climate science & meteorology, science and public policy
  • Professor Matthew Ratcliffe - Phenomenology, intersubjectivity and folk psychology, emotions, feelings and moods, the body, the sense of touch, psychiatric illness (particularly depression), and situated cognition.
  • Professor Julian Reiss - Philosophy of economics, evidence-based policy, causation, explanation.
  • Professor GF Scarre - Moral philosophy (especially utilitarianism), death, forgiveness, evil, John Stuart Mill.
  • Dr Elisabeth Schellekens - Aesthetics, emotions, ethics (including moral psychology), philosophy of Kant, philosophy of mind.
  • Dr Benedict Smith - Ethics, moral philosophy, philosophy of mind, epistemology, history of philosophy, philosophy of psychiatry.
  • Dr Matthew Tugby - Metaphysics of science, dispositions, properties.
  • Dr Peter Vickers - Inconsistency in science, scientific realism/anti-realism, eliminativism and pluralism, the methodology of philosophy of science (especially iHPS).
  • Dr Rachael Wiseman - Dreaming, integrity, self consciousness and 'I', Wittgenstein, Anscombe, philosophy of action.
  • Professor Alison Wylie - Philosophy of the social and historical sciences, specifically archaeology, and feminist philosophy of science.

Research Staff:

Emeritus Staff:

Associated Staff:

Durham Research Community

Durham University has specialists in many areas of philosophy.  If you would like to work with world-leading academics in an area which fascinates you, please have a look through our postgraduate degree programs here.