Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Events

From family activities to our Book Club, and from Little Bookworms to talks, explore Palace Green Library's events.

Event
Saturday, September 22, 2018

13:00 - 15:00

Free - no booking required

Family activity
Saturday, September 22, 2018 - Sunday, September 23, 2018

The food we eat tells us a lot about who we are. Bioarcheologists use the information stored in bones to work out where people might have been from.

Family activity
Monday, September 24, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Event
Wednesday, September 26, 2018

18:00 - 20:00

Join us for an evening of conversation with a diverse panel of speakers where we will discuss and debate questions on the topic of death. Free but booking required

Event
Saturday, September 29, 2018

13:00 - 15:00

Free - no booking required

Family activity
Saturday, September 29, 2018 - Sunday, September 30, 2018

Rejoice in our exhibition by having a go at one of our super quizzes and celebrate all things skeleton related.

Family activity
Monday, October 1, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Event
Monday, October 1, 2018

15:30 - 16:30

Join us for an introduction to the work of the conservation unit at Palace Green Library. Free but booking required.

Event
Saturday, October 6, 2018

13:00 - 15:00

Free - no booking required

Family activity
Saturday, October 6, 2018 - Sunday, October 7, 2018

Here at Palace Green Library, we have over 70,000 printed books! Create your own bookmark so you will never lose your page.

Family activity
Monday, October 8, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Family activity
Saturday, October 13, 2018 - Sunday, October 14, 2018

Design your own battalion flag to remember your visit to the DLI Gallery. You can use your favourite colours, shapes and patterns.

Family activity
Saturday, October 20, 2018 - Sunday, October 21, 2018

In Durham, we have some of the most beautiful stained glass windows. Use all the colours you can find to make one inspired by Durham World Heritage Site.

Family activity
Monday, October 22, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

**Please note that the lift to the room where the activities will take place will be out of action on this date - apologies in advance**

Family activity
Saturday, October 27, 2018 - Sunday, October 28, 2018

Be inspired by the drums used by the Durham Light Infantry and make your own mini drum to play. Complete with drum sticks!

Family activity
Monday, October 29, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

**Please note that the lift to the room where the activities will take place will be out of action on this date - apologies in advance**

Family activity
Saturday, November 3, 2018 - Sunday, November 4, 2018

From Vikings to Romans to Knights, they all needed swashbuckling swords. Make your own to take home this weekend!

Family activity
Saturday, November 10, 2018 - Sunday, November 11, 2018

The Anglo-Saxons made beautiful bracelets and trims for their clothes. Join us to make your very own bracelet by trying out the ancient technique of lucet weaving.

Family activity
Saturday, November 17, 2018 - Sunday, November 18, 2018

Durham Castle has had many Prince Bishops live in it, from Bishop Cosins who made Palace Green Library to Bishop Tunstall who knew Henry VIII. Make a colourful crown so you can live in our Castle.

Exhibition
Saturday, November 24, 2018 - Sunday, March 17, 2019

Free entry

Family activity
Saturday, November 24, 2018 - Sunday, November 25, 2018

To celebrate the opening of our new exhibition, Catch Your Breath, we would like to invite you to make a pair of lungs that can expand and deflate. Use your breath to make it work!

September 2018

DON'T MISS

Bodies of Evidence: How science unearthed Durham’s dark secret

9 June - 7 October 2018