Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Events

From family activities to our Book Club, and from Little Bookworms to talks, explore Palace Green Library's events.

Event
Monday, June 4, 2018 - Friday, June 22, 2018
Family activity
Saturday, June 23, 2018 - Sunday, June 24, 2018

Inspired by your visit to the Durham World Heritage Site create your own stained glass windows.

Family activity
Monday, June 25, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Talk
Monday, June 25, 2018 - Monday, September 17, 2018

Palaeography: Learning to read 17th century handwriting

Michael Stansfield, Deputy Head of Archives and Special Collections, Culture Durham

Francis Gotto, Assistant Keeper, Culture Durham

Andrew Gray, Assistant Keeper, Culture Durham

Family activity
Saturday, June 30, 2018 - Sunday, July 1, 2018

Teeth can tell us a lot about a person, including their age. Bioarchaeologists use teeth to work out the age of a skeleton, make your own set of chattering teeth for your age.

Family activity
Monday, July 2, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Family activity
Saturday, July 7, 2018 - Sunday, July 8, 2018

Make your own dangling skeleton to learn all about the bones inside your body.

Family activity
Monday, July 9, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing

Talk
Monday, July 9, 2018

Julie Biddlecombe-Brown, Curator (Exhibitions), Culture Durham

Family activity
Saturday, July 14, 2018 - Sunday, July 15, 2018

Some of the surviving soldiers we talk about in our exhibition travelled to America – make a boat to show their journey.

Family activity
Monday, July 16, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Family activity
Saturday, July 21, 2018 - Sunday, July 22, 2018

Facial reconstruction is used to find out what people from the past might have looked like using a skull, have a go yourself!

Family activity
Monday, July 23, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Family activity
Saturday, July 28, 2018 - Sunday, July 29, 2018

Celebrating the vote 100 for women’s votes, create your own pop-up puppet of an inspirational woman Scientist or Archaeologist to celebrate the jobs they do!

Family activity
Monday, July 30, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Talk
Monday, July 30, 2018

Danielle Westerhof, Rare Books Librarian (Bamburgh Library), Culture Durham

Kirsty McCarrison, Learning and Engagement Officer, Culture Durham

Talk
Monday, July 30, 2018

David Caldwell, President of the Society of Antiquaries of Scotland

Talk
Tuesday, July 31, 2018

Richard Annis, Senior Archaeologist, Archaeological Services, Durham University

Family activity
Saturday, August 4, 2018 - Sunday, August 5, 2018

Ask your family about your ancestry, how much do you know? Have a go at filling in your own family tree.

Family activity
Monday, August 6, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Talk
Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Anwen Caffell, Assistant Professor (Teaching) in the Department of Archaeology, Durham University

Andrew Millard, Senior Lecturer in the Department of Archaeology, Durham University

Talk
Tuesday, August 7, 2018

Kirsty McCarrison, Learning and Engagement Officer, Culture Durham

Family activity
Saturday, August 11, 2018 - Sunday, August 12, 2018

Use different shapes of pasta to make your own skeleton to learn about the body.

Family activity
Monday, August 13, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Talk
Monday, August 13, 2018

Caroline Wilkinson, Director of Face Lab, Liverpool John Moores University

Talk
Tuesday, August 14, 2018

Penny McMahon, Outreach Archivist, Parliamentary Archives

With Francis Gotto, Assistant Keeper, Culture Durham

Family activity
Saturday, August 18, 2018 - Sunday, August 19, 2018

The Anglo-Saxons made beautiful bracelets using a lucet weaver. Join us and make your own.

Family activity
Monday, August 20, 2018

Our group for under 5s and their parents and carers includes fun crafts, messy play, storytelling and singing.

Talk
Monday, August 20, 2018

Richard Annis, Senior Archaeologist, Archaeological Services, Durham University

Talk
Tuesday, August 21, 2018

Charlotte Roberts, Professor in the Department of Archaeology, Durham University

Family activity
Saturday, August 25, 2018 - Sunday, August 26, 2018

There are some silly cures that people used to believe would work. Can you work out what cures what?

Talk
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Chris Gerrard, Professor in the Department of Archaeology, Durham University

Talk
Tuesday, August 28, 2018

Andrew Gray, AssistantKeeper, Culture Durham

Talk
Monday, September 3, 2018

Arran Johnston, Director of the Scottish Battlefields Trust

Talk
Monday, September 10, 2018

Charlotte Roberts, Professor in the Department of Archaeology, Durham University

Exhibition
Saturday, November 24, 2018 - Sunday, March 17, 2019

June 2018

DON'T MISS

Bodies of Evidence: How science unearthed Durham’s dark secret

9 June - 7 October 2018