Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of English Studies

Event Archive

This is an archive of past events within the Department of English Studies. Please see our current events for forthcoming activities.

Some of our public events are recorded and are available as podcasts via our Research English At Durham blog.

The Doll's Alphabet

26th October 2018, 19:00 to 20:00, Elvet Riverside 157, Camilla Grudova

Meet the author of the ambitious and original collection of short stories, The Doll's Alphabet, at this free public event. Camilla Grudova will read from her work, introduced by Sam Riviere.

‘That I cannot say what all these stories are about is a testament to their worth. They have been haunting me for days now. They have their own, highly distinct flavour, and the inevitability of uncomfortable dreams.’ — Nick Lezard, Guardian
‘Marvellous. Grudova understands that the best writing has to pull off the hardest aesthetic trick – it has to be both memorable and fleeting.’ — Deborah Levy

Camilla Grudova is the author of the acclaimed short story collection, The Doll's Alphabet (2017), a surreal, ambitious and exquisitely conceived work, in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood. In ‘Unstitching’, a feminist revolution takes place. In ‘Waxy’, a factory worker fights to keep hold of her Man in a society where it is frowned upon to be Manless. Dolls, sewing machines, mirrors, malfunctioning bodies – images recur in stories that are in turn child-like and naive, grotesque and very dark. Camilla Grudova has come up with a method for storytelling that is highly imaginative, incredibly original, and absolutely discomfiting.

Contact samuel.j.riviere@durham.ac.uk for more information about this event.


READ Blog

Research in English At Durham (READ) blog showcasing the the literary research emerging from the Department of English Studies

Events

We host a large number of conferences, lectures and seminars each year, many of them open to the public. Find out more on our Events page.

Podcasts

Many of our public lectures, seminars and conferences are recorded, and can be listened to as podcasts.

Follow English Studies on Social Media

Research English At Durham Facebook Twitter Mixcloud

Next Event