Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Josephine Butler College Senior Common Room

Activities

SCR Social Events for academic year 2017/18

Monday 22 January 2018

Burns Formal

To register for formals, please contact Pam Burdis directly on jbcollege.secretary@durham.ac.uk

SCR 7pm

Monday 5 February 2018

Formal

To register for formals, please contact Pam Burdis directly on jbcollege.secretary@durham.ac.uk

SCR 7pm

Monday 12 February 2018

Inter MCR

SCR 7pm

Monday 19 February 2018

Chinese New Year Formal

To register for formals, please contact Pam Burdis directly on jbcollege.secretary@durham.ac.uk

SCR 7pm

Monday 5 March 2018

IAS Lecture dinner

TBC

Thursday 8 March 2018

Book Club - "The Essex Serpent" by Sarah Perry

The SCR Book Club meets on the second Thursday of each month. Members are encouraged to make suggestions of books to read and take turns in leading the discussion

Monday 12 March 2018

St Patricks Day Formal

To register for formals, please contact Pam Burdis directly on jbcollege.secretary@durham.ac.uk

Saturday 17 March – Sunday 22 April

Easter Vacation

Thursday 12 April 2018

Book Club - "Birdcage Walk" by Helen Dunmore

The SCR Book Club meets on the second Thursday of each month. Members are encouraged to make suggestions of books to read and take turns in leading the discussion

Wednesday 25 April 2018

Formal

To register for formals, please contact Pam Burdis directly on jbcollege.secretary@durham.ac.uk

SCR 7pm

Thursday 10 May 2018

Book Club - "Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine" by Gail Honeyman

The SCR Book Club meets on the second Thursday of each month. Members are encouraged to make suggestions of books to read and take turns in leading the discussion

Friday 8 June 2018

Summer Ball

TBC

Thursday 14 June

Book Club - "Resevoir 13" by Jon McGregor

The SCR Book Club meets on the second Thursday of each month. Members are encouraged to make suggestions of books to read and take turns in leading the discussion

Wednesday 20 June 2018

Colours

To register for formals, please contact Pam Burdis directly on jbcollege.secretary@durham.ac.uk

SCR 7pm

Saturday 23 June 2018

Graduation Formal

To register for formals, please contact Pam Burdis directly on jbcollege.secretary@durham.ac.uk

SCR 7pm

Tuesday 26 June 2018

Graduation dinners

TBC

Thursday 28 June 2018

Graduation dinners

TBC

Thursday 13 September

Book Club - "Magpie Murders" by Anthony Horowitz

Thursday 11t October

Book Club - "Golden Hill" by Francis Spufford

Thursday 8 November

Book Club - "Mrs Osmond" by John Banville

SCR Members and staff below at our wreath making course just in time for Christmas.


SCR Sewing, Knitting, Cross Stitch and another craft - Club

Any crafter of any level is welcome at the SCR Craft Club - knitters, crocheters, cross-stitchers, embroiderers and many more! Bring something you are working on already, come and fish for tips about a new project or learn an entirely new skill!

We're a very informal group who meet on the last Thursday of every month in the SCR at 7pm. If you'd be interested in coming along, please contact Anne Murphy on annemurphy123@aol.com

SCR Book Club

New members are always welcome to join the SCR Bookclub (second Thursday of the month at 7pm in the SCR starting September). Please get in touch with Eve English (Eve.English@durham.ac.uk) if you would like to join a very informal group.

Books for 2017/18:

2018

January 11th 2018 - "Larchfield" by Polly Clark

February 8th 2018 -"Autumn" by Ali Smith

March 8th - "How Saints Die" by Carmen Marcus