Skip to main content



  Name  Role   
CCS Executive and Administration Canon Professor Paul D Murray Co-Director of the CCS and Professor of Systematic Theology
Professor Karen Kilby Co-Director of the CCS and Bede Professor of Catholic Theology
Tim Guinan Senior Development Manager (CCS)
Theresa Phillips CCS Manager and PA to the Director
Catherine Tuckwell Administrator for the CCS and Northern Diaconal Formation Partnership 
Yvonne Williams Project Co-ordinator for the Listening Methodologies Project
CCS Staff Dr Carmody Grey Assistant Professor of Catholic Theology
Dr James Kelly Sweeting Associate Professor in the History of Catholicism
Dr Marcus Pound Associate Professor of Catholic Studies
Professor Anna Rowlands St Hilda Professor of Catholic Social Thought and Practice
Professor Rik Van Nieuwenhove Associate Professor of Medieval Thought
CCS Research Fellows  Dr Sarah Barthelemy Catherine de Francheville Fellow in the History of Catholicism 
Dr Brian J Casey FMDM Fellow in the History of Catholicism
Dr William (Billy) Crozier Leverhulme Early Career Fellow
Dr Eilish Gregory Little Company of Mary Fellow in the History of Catholicism 
Dr Pat Jones Post-Doctoral Research Associate in Catholic Studies (Boundary Breaking project)  
Rev Dr John O'Brien , CSSp Associate Professor (Research) in Transforming Church  john.o'
Dr Gregory A. Ryan Assistant Professor and Academic Co-ordinator of the Northern Diaconal Formation Partnership
Dr Liam Temple  Capuchin Fellow in the History of Catholicism
Other CCS Staff Professor Lewis Ayres Professor of Catholic and Historical Theology
Dr Krastu Banev Assistant Professor of Theology
Dr Mary Brooks Associate Professor in the Department of Archaeology 
Dr Jonathan Bush Archivist, Ushaw College
Professor Stefano Cracolici Professor in the School of Modern Languages and Cultures  

Professor Giles Gasper 

Professor in High Medieval History 
Dr Michael Gilmore Former Academic Registrar (Head of Academic Office) in the Academic Office 
Professor Mathew Guest Professor in the Sociology of Religion 
Professor Chris Insole Professor of Theological Ethics and Head of the Department of Theology and Religion 
Professor Gerard Loughlin Professor of Christian Theology 
Dr Jonathan Miles-Watson Associate Professor of the Anthropology of Religion 
Rev Canon Professor Simon Oliver Van Mildert Professor of Divinity 
Professor Nicole Reinhardt Professor of Early Modern European History 
Professor Alec Ryrie Professor of the History of Christianity 
Professor Michael Snape Michael Ramsey Canon Professor of Anglican Studies 
Professor Peter Ward Professorial Fellow in Ecclesiology and Ethnography 
Professor Bennett Zon Professor in the Department of Music 

 CCS Student Members 

The CCS has a vibrant community of student members taking a variety of taught and research postgraduate courses. 


Students on palace green


Avril Baigent

John Baskaran

Joseph Beakhouse

Alexander Bellew

Zoe Boyle

Adrian Brooks

Mao Cheng

Lewis Davis

Colin Donnelly

Rev. Andrew Downie

Kyrillos ElMacari

Philippa Evans

Madison Keightley-Phillipps

Jay Kinsella

Christopher Lamb

Lucia Luck

Claire Marsland

Brendan McMullan

Amanda Murjan

Florence O’Taylor

Gaël Pardoën

Br Tommy Piolata


Lucy Rauer

Francis Romano

Gareth Rowe

Nathan Smith

John Stayne

Stephanie Targett

Fr Trevor Tibbertsma

Wojciech Tylawski

Tim Wright

Piotr Wygnanski

Hikari Yamane

Honorary Visiting Faculty

Name Affiliation Role
Dr Cormac Begadon

Durham University

Sepulchrine Fellow in the History of Catholicism

Dr Victoria Biggs  La Retraite Fellow in Lived Theology, Trauma, and Reconciliation
Professor Eamon Duffy

University of Cambridge 

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism

Dr Maria Exall    Honorary Fellow 
Br Dr Brendan Geary, FMS

Provincial of the Marist Brothers, West-Central Europe

Honorary Fellow 
Dr Alana Harris King's College London

Honorary Fellow in the Study of Lived Catholicism 

Rev Prof Stan Chu Ilo, PhD

DePaul University, Chicago

Honorary Professor 
Professor John McCafferty

University College Dublin

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism

Professor Michael Questier

Vanderbilt University

Honorary Professor of the History of Catholicism 

Dr Catherine Sexton

Durham University

Honorary Fellow

Sr Dr Barbara Stafford, RLR

Congregation of La Retraite

Honorary Fellow

Professor Maurice Whitehead 

Venerable English College, Rome

Honorary Professor of Catholic History 

Professor Myriam Wijlens 

University of Erfurt 

Honorary Professor of Canon Law

Rev Dr Hans Zollner, SJ 

Pontifical Gregorian University

Honorary Fellow