Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Academic Staff

NamePositionTelephoneRoomEmailResearch Interests
Steven Abel Professor, Mathematical & Theoretical Particle Physics 43092 CM214 s.a.abel@durham.ac.uk -
Victor Abrashkin Professor, Algebra 43056 CM327 Contact Victor Abrashkin
  • algebraic number theory
  • arithmetical number theory
Louis Aslett Assistant Professor, Statistics 43067 CM212 louis.aslett@durham.ac.uk
  • Cryptography and Privacy in Statistics
  • Reliability Theory
  • Bayesian Statistics
  • MCMC
  • Computational Statistics and High Performance Computing
James Blowey Associate Professor (Reader), Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43065 CM325 j.f.blowey@durham.ac.uk
  • numerical analysis
Athanasios Bouganis Associate Professor, Algebra 42547 CM126a athanasios.bouganis@durham.ac.uk
  • Algebraic Number Theory
  • Arithmetic of automorphic forms
  • Error-Correcting Codes
David Bourne Assistant Professor, Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 44164 CM122 david.bourne@durham.ac.uk
  • The calculus of variations and applied analysis
  • Mathematical materials science: energy-driven pattern formation and crystallization
  • Partial differential equations
  • Numerical analysis
Peter Bowcock Deputy Head of Department, Associate Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43064 CM307 peter.bowcock@durham.ac.uk
  • integrable systems
  • mathematical physics
  • string theory
Camila Caiado Assistant Professor, Statistics 42561 CM321 c.c.d.s.caiado@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian Statistics
  • Parametric Inference
  • Information Theory
  • Stochastic Processes
Sunil Chhita 1H Course Director, Assistant Professor, Probability 43086 CM313 sunil.chhita@durham.ac.uk
  • Statistical mechanics and probability
Frank Coolen Professor, Statistics 43048 CM206 frank.coolen@durham.ac.uk
  • Decision Theory
  • Imprecise Probability
  • Nonparametric Predictive Inference
  • Operations Research
  • Reliability Theory
  • Statistics
Peter Craig Chair Board of Examiners, Associate Professor, Statistics 43076 CM314 p.s.craig@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian statistics: foundations, methodology, computation and applications
  • Uncertainty quantification
  • Ecotoxicology: statistical methods
  • Risk assessment: food safety and related environmental aspects
  • Statistical methodology: exact tests, random effects models
Stefano Cremonesi Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44155 CM245 stefano.cremonesi@durham.ac.uk
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • String Theory
  • Algebraic Geometry
Jonathan Cumming Director of SMCU, Assistant Professor, Statistics 43124 CM306 j.a.cumming@durham.ac.uk
  • Statistics
  • Applied Statistics
  • Uncertainty Analysis
  • Statistical Computation
  • Variable Selection
Aristomenis Donos Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 41536 CM235 aristomenis.donos@durham.ac.uk
  • String Theory
  • Holography
  • AdS/CMT
Patrick Dorey Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43070 CM323 p.e.dorey@durham.ac.uk
  • conformal and integrable field theories
Daniele Dorigoni Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43121 CM218 daniele.dorigoni@durham.ac.uk
  • Resurgent methods in quantum field theory
Jochen Einbeck 2H Course Director, Associate Professor, Statistics 43125 CM226 jochen.einbeck@durham.ac.uk
  • Mixture models
  • Nonparametric regression
  • Principal curves
  • Random effect modelling
Anna Felikson Associate Professor, Algebra 44158 CM124 anna.felikson@durham.ac.uk
  • Cluster algebras
  • Coxeter groups
  • Hyperbolic geometry
  • Low-dimensional topology
Jens Funke Associate Professor (Reader), Number Theory 43063 CM310 jens.funke@durham.ac.uk
  • Automorphic forms
  • Number Theory
Herbert Gangl Associate Professor (Reader), Number Theory 43096 CM108 herbert.gangl@durham.ac.uk
  • Polylogarithms, algebraic K-theory, multiple zeta values
Nicholas Georgiou Assistant Professor, Probability 44157 CM227 nicholas.georgiou@durham.ac.uk
  • Probabilistic combinatorics and partial orders
  • Modular decomposition and its connection to the Reconstruction Conjecture
  • Random walks
Michael Goldstein Professor, Statistics 43065 CM325 michael.goldstein@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian Statistics
Konstantinos Gourgouliatos Assistant Professor, Magnetohydrodynamics 43073 CM224 konstantinos.gourgouliatos@durham.ac.uk -
Ruth Gregory Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43092 CM214 r.a.w.gregory@durham.ac.uk
  • general relativity and cosmology
Paul Heslop Admission Tutor, Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43105 CM247 paul.heslop@durham.ac.uk
  • supersymmetric field theory
  • scattering amplitudes
  • AdS/CFT
  • Supergravity
David Hoyle Temporary Lecturer, Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43117 CM232 d.m.hoyle@durham.ac.uk -
Ostap Hryniv Course Director Other Programmes, Associate Professor, Probability 43053 CM309 ostap.hryniv@durham.ac.uk
  • probability and stochastic processes
  • phase transitions
  • interacting particle systems
  • large deviations
John Hunton Professor, Topology 43080 CM318 Contact John Hunton
  • Algebraic Topology
  • Aperiodic Tilings
  • Topological Dynamics
Mikaela Iacobelli Assistant Professor, Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43073 CM222 mikaela.iacobelli@durham.ac.uk -
Nabil Iqbal Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44163 CM240 nabil.iqbal@durham.ac.uk
  • Holographic duality and its applications, quantum field theory, string theory
Ian Hyla Jermyn Associate Professor (Reader), Statistics 43106 CM303 i.h.jermyn@durham.ac.uk
  • Statistical modelling of shape and geometric structure
  • Computer vision, image processing, and other applications
  • Bayesian statistics
Georgios Karagiannis Assistant Professor, Statistics 42718 CM126b georgios.karagiannis@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian statistics
  • Markov chain Monte Carlo methods
  • Uncertainty quantification methods
  • Calibration of Computer models / Simulators
Wilhelm Klingenberg Nat Sci Course Director, Associate Professor (Reader), Geometry 43069 CM332 wilhelm.klingenberg@durham.ac.uk
  • Complex and Symplectic Differential Geometry
  • Geometric Analysis
  • Mathematical Optics
Arthur Lipstein Royal Society Fellow, Theoretical Particle Physics 44156 CM246 arthur.lipstein@durham.ac.uk
  • AdS/CFT correspondence
  • Scattering amplitudes
Andrew Lobb Associate Professor (Reader), Topology 43055 CM102 Contact Andrew Lobb
  • Low-dimensional topology
  • Knot theory
  • Smooth 4-manifolds
  • Categorification
Michael Magee Assistant Professor, Geometry 43096 CM108 michael.r.magee@durham.ac.uk
  • Dynamics
  • Number Theory
  • Spectral Theory
  • Word maps
Paul Mansfield Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43104 CM210 p.r.w.mansfield@durham.ac.uk
  • strings and conformal field theory
  • Yang-Mills
Mikhail Menshikov Professor, Probability 43061 CM231c mikhail.menshikov@durham.ac.uk
  • Markov chains
  • probability
Vasileios Niarchos Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44161 CM238 vasileios.niarchos@durham.ac.uk
  • Black Hole Physics
  • Quantum Field Theory
  • String Theory
John Parker Director of Postgraduate Studies, Professor, Geometry 43057 CM220 j.r.parker@durham.ac.uk
  • discrete groups
  • hyperbolic geometry
Kasper Peeters Other Programmes Course Director, Assistant Professor,Theoretical Particle Physics 43113 CM311 kasper.peeters@durham.ac.uk
  • String theory and the string/gauge theory correspondence
  • Quantum gravity
  • Applications of mathematics to biology
  • Computer algebra
Norbert Peyerimhoff Professor, Geometry 43114 CM320 norbert.peyerimhoff@durham.ac.uk
  • Global Analysis
  • Graph Theory
  • Riemannian Geometry
Bernard Piette Associate Professor (Reader), Theoretical Particle Physics 43107 CM339 Contact Bernard Piette
  • mathematical physics
  • nonlinear systems
  • The Skyrme model in 2 and 3 dimensions
  • Solitons in inhomogeneous systems
  • Electron-phonon interaction in nano-systems
Mark Powell Assistant Professor, Topology 43110 CM106 mark.a.powell@durham.ac.uk
  • Topology of 3 and 4 dimensional manifolds
  • Knot theory
Christopher Prior Assistant Professor, Magnetohydrodynamics 43112 CM216 christopher.prior@durham.ac.uk
  • Magnetohydrodynamics
  • Topological constraints
Simon Ross Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43099 CM239 s.f.ross@durham.ac.uk
  • mathematical physics
  • quantum gravity
  • string theory
Anton Savostianov Temporary Lecturer, Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43117 CM232 anton.savostianov@durham.ac.uk
  • Partial Differential Equations
  • Dynamical Systems
Hasanjan Sayit Assistant Professor, Statistics 42718 CM126b hasanjan.sayit@durham.ac.uk
  • Mathematical Finance
Dirk Schuetz Level 3 & 4 Course Director, Associate Professor (Reader), Topology 43089 CM315 Contact Dirk Schuetz
  • Algebraic Topology
  • Differential Topology
Douglas Smith Associate Professor (Reader), Theoretical Particle Physics 43120 CM237 douglas.smith@durham.ac.uk
  • String Theory
  • Supersymmetric Field Theories
Alexander Stasinski Associate Professor, Algebra 43071 CM305 alexander.stasinski@durham.ac.uk
  • Representations of finite and p-adic groups
  • Representation growth and zeta functions
  • Algebraic groups
Paul Sutcliffe 2H Course Director, Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43123 CM212a p.m.sutcliffe@durham.ac.uk
  • Mathematical Physics
  • Topological Solitons
Anne Taormina Head of Department, Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43059 CM202 anne.taormina@durham.ac.uk
  • String and Conformal Field Theory
  • Group Theory and Applications to Mathematical Biology
Anne Taormina Head of Department 43059 CM202 maths.head@durham.ac.uk
  • String and Conformal Field Theory
  • Group Theory and Applications to Mathematical Biology
Matthias Troffaes Director of Undergraduate Studies, Associate Professor (Reader), Statistics 43122 CM304 matthias.troffaes@durham.ac.uk
  • decision making
  • foundations of probability and statistics
  • uncertainty modelling
  • risk
  • severe uncertainty
  • imprecise probability
  • engineering
  • renewable energy
  • environment
Pavel Tumarkin Associate Professor, Algebra 43085 CM110 pavel.tumarkin@durham.ac.uk
  • Cluster algebras
  • Coxeter groups
  • Hyperbolic geometry
Balt van Rees Assistant Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 44154 CM244 balt.van-rees@durham.ac.uk
  • String Theory
Ian Vernon Associate Professor, Statistics 43068 CM317 i.r.vernon@durham.ac.uk
  • Bayesian Statistics
  • Bayes Linear Methods
  • Uncertainty Analysis of Computer Models of Complex Physical Systems
  • Galaxy Formation Simulations
  • Systems Biology Models
  • Epidemiology HIV Models
  • Geology models of oil reservoirs
Pankaj Vishe Assistant Professor, Number Theory 43077 CM104 pankaj.vishe@durham.ac.uk
  • Analytic Number Theory, Homogeneous Dynamics
Andrew Wade Associate Professor, Probability 44151 CM302 Contact Andrew Wade
  • probability theory
  • random structures
  • stochastic processes
James (Jamie) Walton Temporary Lecturer, Pure Mathematics 41537 CM102 james.j.walton@durham.ac.uk
  • Aperiodic Order
  • Algebraic Topology
  • Dynamical Systems
  • Diophantine Approximation
Richard Ward Professor, Theoretical Particle Physics 43118 CM226a Contact Richard Ward
  • mathematical physics
  • nonlinear systems
Djoko Wirosoetisno Secretary, Board of Studies, Associate Professor, Analysis & Partial Differential Equations 43115 CM322 djoko.wirosoetisno@durham.ac.uk
  • partial differential equations
  • dynamical systems
  • numerical analysis
  • fluid mechanics
Peter Wyper Royal Astronomical Society Fellow, Magnetohydrodynamics 44156 CM246 peter.f.wyper@durham.ac.uk
  • Numerical simulations of solar eruptions.
  • 3D reconnection and topology change.
Anthony Yeates Associate Professor (Reader), Magnetohydrodynamics 43075 CM308 Contact Anthony Yeates
  • Computational modelling of the Sun's large-scale magnetic field
  • Solar dynamo models
  • Topology and reconnection of 3D magnetic fields
Marija Zamaklar Associate Professor (Reader), Theoretical Particle Physics 43111 CM312 marija.zamaklar@durham.ac.uk
  • String theory and the string/gauge theory correspondence