We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Mathematical Sciences

Pascal Lecture 2012

Professor Jose Seade (Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México)

"Discrete groups of automorphisms of complex projective spaces"

15 October 2012, 4:00pm, CM107

Abstract: Classical Kleinian groups are discrete groups of automorphisms of the Riemann sphere, which can be regarded as being the complex projective line CP1. The study of these type of groups has played for decades a major a role in various areas of mathematics. In this talk we shall discuss how this theory generalizes to discrete groups of automorphisms of the complex projective space CP2, and more generally of CPn. This includes the particularly interesting class of discrete groups of holomorphic isometries of complex hyperbolic spaces.


The Pascal Fellow 2012 is Jose Seade, Professor in the Mathematics Institute of the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM). Professor Seade has been a member of the Mexican Academy of Sciences since 1983 and President of the Mexican Mathematical Society in 1986-87. He has also been President of the Third World Academy of Sciences since 2003.

In 2012, Professor Seade was awarded the Ferran Sunyer i Balaguer Prize together with Dr Angel Cano and Dr Juan Pablo Navarrete for a monograph entitled `Complex Kleinian Groups'.