We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Geography

News Archive

Durham Geographers Scoop Three Awards for Geomorphology

(2 October 2013)

Emma, Chris and Chris after receiving their awards from
the Society's President, Professor Ken Gregory CBE

Emma Washington (who graduated in 2012 with a First Class degree) won the Society's Marjorie Sweeting Prize for 'the best undergraduate geomorphological dissertation undertaken at a UK University'. Her dissertation was entitled 'Landslide susceptibility and risk along the Mugling-Narayanghat highway, Nepal' and was supervised by Dr Nick Cox.

Chris Darvill, who is a currently undertaking a PhD in the Department won the Bernie Smith prize for the 'best postgraduate poster' presented at the conference, for his work on 'The timing of glaciations in southernmost South America', supervised by Professor Mike Bentley and Dr Chris Stokes.

Dr Stokes also received his Gordon Warwick Medal at the conference, which is awarded for 'excellence in geomorphological research by someone within 15 years of being awarded their doctorate'.

This represents an outstanding achievement and recognition of the Department's strength in Geomorphology.

See also: Professor Tim Burt, Dr Ian Evans & Professor Rob Ferguson Elected Fellows of the British Society for Geomorphology.