We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of English Studies


Academic Staff

Prof Elizabeth Archibald Professor (p/t)
Dr David Ashurst Senior Lecturer
Dr Paul Batchelor Lecturer
Dr Marco Bernini Co-Fund Junior Research Fellow
Dr Marc Botha Lecturer
Professor Neil Cartlidge Professor
Dr Robert Carver Senior Lecturer
Dr Mark Campbell Chambers Research Associate
Professor Timothy Clark Professor
Dr Julie Crane Teaching Fellow (p/t)
Dr Daniel Derrin Co-Fund Junior Research Fellow
Professor David Fuller Professor (Emeritus)
Dr Peter Garratt Senior Lecturer
Dr Abbie Garrington Senior Lecturer
Dr Daniel Grausam Lecturer
Dr Patrick Gray Lecturer
Dr Mandy Green Senior Lecturer
Dr Simon Grimble Lecturer
Dr Jason Harding Reader
Professor Claire Harman Professor in Creative Writing
Dr Michael Huxtable Lecturer
Professor Simon James Head of Department and Chair of Board of Studies
Dr Michael Mack Reader
Professor Jane Macnaughton Research Associate
Professor John McKinnell Emeritus Professor
Dr John Nash Reader
Dr Helen O'Connell Senior Lecturer
Professor Michael O'Neill Professor
Dr Hilary Powell Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Professor Barbara Ravelhofer Professor
Dr Vidyan Ravinthiran Lecturer
Professor Stephen Regan Professor
Professor Alastair Renfrew Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Professor Fiona Robertson Professor of Eighteenth- and Nineteenth-Century Literature
Dr James Robinson Leverhulme Early Career Fellow
Dr Arthur Rose Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Life of Breath Project
Dr Mark Sandy Reader
Professor Corinne Saunders Professor
Dr Barry Sheils Lecturer
Dr Gillian Skinner Lecturer
Dr James Smith Reader
Dr Jennifer Terry Senior Lecturer
Dr Samuel Thomas Lecturer
Dr William Viney Leverhulme Early Career Fellow
Professor Claire Warwick Professor
Professor Patricia Waugh Professor
Dr Angela Woods Research Associate
Dr Sarah Wootton Senior Lecturer
Dr Diana Wyatt Research Associate (p/t)

Support Staff

Mrs Melanie Allchurch Assessment Co-ordinator 42710
Miss Marie Carlin Administration Team Leader 42500
Mrs Jacqueline Ford Finance Officer (Part time) 41983 Contact Jacqueline Ford
Mrs Deborah Hobbs Departmental Manager 42581
Ms Jenny Holden Undergraduate Co-ordinator (Part time) 42571
Miss Sarah Lane Postgraduate Co-ordinator 42576

Contact us