Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Anthropology

Research Staff

NamePositionEmailResearch Interests
Dr Nasima Akhter Contact Nasima Akhter
  • Health inequality
  • Nutritional assessment, Obesity
  • Evaluation of intervention
  • Bangladeshi Diaspora in the UK
  • Food security and livelihood
Dr Claire Dungey PDRA Contact Claire Dungey
  • Friendship and kinship
  • Futures
  • Gender and transport
  • Mobility
  • The anthropology of education
Ms Raihana Ferdous Research Assistant raihana.ferdous@durham.ac.uk
  • Energy and Society
  • Gender
  • Low Carbon Energy Transition
  • Political Economy
  • South Asia
  • Urban
Dr Alex Flynn Assistant Professor (Research) alex.flynn@durham.ac.uk
  • Contemporary art
  • Politics and aesthetics
  • Prefigurative politics
  • Social mobilisation
  • Subjectivity
  • Utopia
Dr Adetayo Kasim Contact Adetayo Kasim
  • Clinical and Social Trials, Health Inequality, Anthropology of Health and Big Data
Dr Sharon Kessler Marie Curie Fellow sharon.e.kessler@durham.ac.uk
  • primate behaviour and cognition
  • health signalling
  • evolutionary medicine
  • conservation medicine
  • evolution of care-giving in humans
  • agent-based models
  • bioacoustics
Dr Papreen Nahar Research Fellow papreen.nahar@durham.ac.uk
  • Health and Wellbeing of the Diaspora Community
  • Health Security in Relation to Environmental Disaster
  • M-Health
  • Reproductive Health Issues of Both Males and Females (Infertility, Maternal Health, Family Planning, Pregnancy Behaviour, Sexuality)
Dr Tehseen Noorani Marie Curie Fellow Contact Tehseen Noorani -
Dr Leonidas Oikonomakis Junior Research Fellow leonidas.oikonomakis@durham.ac.uk
  • autonomy
  • Bolivia
  • Buen Vivir
  • Cocaleros
  • commons
  • Greece
  • latin american politics
  • México
  • revolutions
  • social movements
  • Zapatismo
  • political ethnography
Dr Felix Ringel Junior Research Fellow felix.ringel@durham.ac.uk
  • anthropology of Europe
  • anthropology of the future
  • anthropology of time
  • postindustrial urban regeneration
  • postsocialist anthropology
  • social sustainability
  • urban anthropology
  • urban sustainability
Dr Charlotte Russell Sleep Lab Manager & Impact Evidence Manager Contact Charlotte Russell -
Dr Akansha Singh Postdoctoral Research Associate Contact Akansha Singh -
Dr Catherine Taylor Research Associate c.e.taylor@durham.ac.uk
  • Breastfeeding
  • Infant care practices
  • Maternal-Infant health
  • Maternity services
  • Medical Anthropology
  • Parent-Infant sleep
  • Qualitative health research
Dr. Jennifer A. Thompson Visiting Research Fellow jennifer.a.thompson@durham.ac.uk
  • Gender
  • Intersectionality
  • Water
  • Participatory visual methodologies
Dr Britta Turner Research Associate britta.turner@durham.ac.uk
  • Low carbon energy transitions
  • Solar waste and value chains
Mrs Germaine Uwimpuhwe Research Assistant Contact Germaine Uwimpuhwe -
Dr Katy Williams Junior Research Fellow Contact Katy Williams
  • Human-wildlife conflict
  • Predator ecology and conservation
  • Perceptions of animals