Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Anthropology

Research Staff

NamePositionEmailResearch Interests
Dr Janice Astbury Research Associate janice.astbury@durham.ac.uk
  • Socially just sustainability transitions
  • Resilience in social-ecological systems
  • Citizen engagement and evolving forms of governance
  • Energy vulnerability, equity and justice
  • People-nature interaction
  • Role of landscape in communicating cultural narratives
Dr Alex Flynn British Academy Fellow
  • Cultural politics
  • Ethico-aesthetic practice
  • Relational aesthetics
  • Social mobilization theory
  • Social movements
  • Contemporary art theory
  • Politics and protest
  • Brazil and the UK
  • Academe and engagement
Mrs Andrea Kaiser-Grolimund Research Associate andrea.p.grolimund@durham.ac.uk
  • Aging and Care
  • East Africa, Tanzania
  • Medical Anthropology and Health
  • Urban Anthropology and transnationalism
  • West Africa, Togo
  • Zoonotic diseases and human animal relations
Dr Sharon Kessler Marie Curie Fellow Contact Sharon Kessler -
Eleni Mamoulaki Junior Research Fellow Contact Eleni Mamoulaki -
Dr Papreen Nahar Research Fellow papreen.nahar@durham.ac.uk
  • Health and Wellbeing of the Diaspora Community
  • Health Security in Relation to Environmental Disaster
  • M-Health
  • Reproductive Health Issues of Both Males and Females (Infertility, Maternal Health, Family Planning, Pregnancy Behaviour, Sexuality)
Dr Rebecca Oxley Research Associate rebecca.oxley@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology of Health
  • Embodiment theory
  • Feminist explorations of the body/biology
  • New Materialism
  • New technologies
  • Phenomenology
  • Posthumanism
Professor Gina Porter Senior Research Fellow r.e.porter@durham.ac.uk
  • Children and young people
  • Gendered mobilities
  • Market institutions
  • Mobile phones/ICTs
  • Older people's mobility
  • Participatory methodologies
  • Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Transport, mobility and social exclusion
Dr Felix Ringel Junior Research Fellow felix.ringel@durham.ac.uk -
Dr Charlotte Russell Sleep Lab Manager & Impact Evidence Manager Contact Charlotte Russell -
Dr Joseph Stubbersfield Research Associate joseph.m.stubbersfield@durham.ac.uk
  • Cognitive anthropology
  • Cultural evolution and transmission
  • Social learning
  • Creativity, storytelling behaviour and oral traditions
  • Folklore, myth and legends, particularly contemporary folklore
Dr Catherine Taylor Research Associate c.e.taylor@durham.ac.uk -
Mrs Britta Turner Research Associate britta.turner@durham.ac.uk -
Dr Tom Widger Wellcome Trust Research Fellow Contact Tom Widger
  • Anthropology & chemistry
  • Suicide, self-harm, ethnopsychiatry
  • Cognition, cultural transmission, social learning
  • Charity, philanthropy, CSR, development
  • Religion, nationalism, politics
  • Pesticides, agrochemicals, and their human and environmental impacts
  • Chemical body burden, biomonitoring, medical and eco toxicology
  • Purity/danger; pollution/risk
  • Global health
  • Sri Lanka & South Asia