Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Anthropology

Research Staff

NamePositionEmailResearch Interests
Dr Nasima Akhter Contact Nasima Akhter
  • Health inequality
  • Nutritional assessment, Obesity
  • Evaluation of intervention
  • Bangladeshi Diaspora in the UK
  • Food security and livelihood
Dr Janice Astbury Research Associate janice.astbury@durham.ac.uk
  • Socially just sustainability transitions
  • Resilience in social-ecological systems
  • Citizen engagement and evolving forms of governance
  • Energy vulnerability, equity and justice
  • People-nature interaction
  • Role of landscape in communicating cultural narratives
Ms Raihana Ferdous Research Assistant raihana.ferdous@durham.ac.uk
  • Energy and Society
  • Gender
  • Low Carbon Energy Transition
  • Political Economy
  • South Asia
  • Urban
Dr Alex Flynn Assistant Professor (Research) alex.flynn@durham.ac.uk
  • Contemporary art
  • Politics and aesthetics
  • Prefigurative politics
  • Social mobilisation
  • Subjectivity
  • Utopia
Dr Adetayo Kasim Contact Adetayo Kasim
  • Clinical and Social Trials, Health Inequality, Anthropology of Health and Big Data
Dr Sharon Kessler Marie Curie Fellow sharon.e.kessler@durham.ac.uk
  • primate behaviour and cognition
  • health signalling
  • evolutionary medicine
  • conservation medicine
  • evolution of care-giving in humans
  • agent-based models
  • bioacoustics
Eleni Mamoulaki Junior Research Fellow Contact Eleni Mamoulaki -
Dr Papreen Nahar Research Fellow papreen.nahar@durham.ac.uk
  • Health and Wellbeing of the Diaspora Community
  • Health Security in Relation to Environmental Disaster
  • M-Health
  • Reproductive Health Issues of Both Males and Females (Infertility, Maternal Health, Family Planning, Pregnancy Behaviour, Sexuality)
Dr Tehseen Noorani Marie Curie Fellow Contact Tehseen Noorani -
Dr Rebecca Oxley Research Associate rebecca.oxley@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology of Health
  • Embodiment theory
  • Feminist explorations of the body/biology
  • New Materialism
  • New technologies
  • Phenomenology
  • Posthumanism
Dr Felix Ringel Junior Research Fellow felix.ringel@durham.ac.uk
  • anthropology of Europe
  • anthropology of the future
  • anthropology of time
  • postindustrial urban regeneration
  • postsocialist anthropology
  • social sustainability
  • urban anthropology
  • urban sustainability
Dr Charlotte Russell Sleep Lab Manager & Impact Evidence Manager Contact Charlotte Russell -
Dr Antti Silvast antti.e.silvast@durham.ac.uk -
Dr Catherine Taylor Research Associate c.e.taylor@durham.ac.uk
  • Breastfeeding
  • Infant care practices
  • Maternal-Infant health
  • Maternity services
  • Medical Anthropology
  • Parent-Infant sleep
  • Qualitative health research
Dr. Jennifer A. Thompson Visiting Research Fellow jennifer.a.thompson@durham.ac.uk
  • Gender
  • Intersectionality
  • Water
  • Participatory visual methodologies
Dr Britta Turner Research Associate britta.turner@durham.ac.uk
  • Low carbon energy transitions
  • Solar waste and value chains