Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Anthropology

Academic Staff

NameTelephoneEmailResearch Interests
Dr Simone Abram Contact Simone Abram
  • Energy and Society
  • Inhabitation and Property
  • Local Planning
  • Planning Practice and Education
  • Practices of Public Participation
Prof Catherine Alexander 41622 catherine.alexander@durham.ac.uk -
Prof Helen L. Ball 41602 h.l.ball@durham.ac.uk
  • Behaviour and physiology of infant sleep
  • Child sleep and obesity
  • Development of sleep patterns and circadian rhythms
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Human behaviour: parenting, infant care, infant mortality, SIDS, infanticide
  • Midwifery and postnatal care
  • Infant feeding and sleeping
Prof Robert A. Barton 41603 r.a.barton@durham.ac.uk
  • Behavioural ecology and sociobiology
  • Comparative studies of brain size and structure in relation to behavioural ecology
  • Evolution of mamalian reproductive traits
  • Primate evolution and behaviour
Dr Sandra Bell 43311 sandra.bell@durham.ac.uk
  • Environmental anthropology
  • European wetlands
  • Interdisciplinarity
  • Socio-technical systems of energy
  • Western Buddhism
Prof Gillian Bentley 40690 (Stockton) g.r.bentley@durham.ac.uk
  • Behavioural ecology
  • Early life development and later life health
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Overweight/obesity and child health
  • Reproductive ecology
Prof Alan Bilsborough 41625 alan.bilsborough@durham.ac.uk
  • Human evolution, especially the functional basis for cranial diversity in early hominids and the reconstruction of evolutionary patterns
  • The interaction of social and biological variables in human biology, with particular reference to patterns of nutrition and disease
Dr Hannah Brown 40244 hannah.brown@durham.ac.uk
  • Community-Based Health Care
  • East Africa, Kenya
  • Global Health and Development
  • Health Governance
  • Hospitals
Dr Trudi Buck 40254 t.j.buck@durham.ac.uk
  • Applications of geometric morphometrics to human evolution
  • Biological anthropology from material culture
  • Early human migrations
  • Forensic anthropology
  • Public engagement with science and anthropology
  • The evolution of human craniofacial diversity
Dr Ben Campbell 41621 ben.campbell@durham.ac.uk
  • Biotechnology and post-agrarian rural economies
  • Conservation and social justice
  • Culture and sustainability
  • Environmental anthropology
  • Food cultures
  • Indigenous knowledge and development
  • Low carbon energy transitions
  • Nepal and Himalayas
  • South Asia and social theory
Prof Michael B. Carrithers 41634 Contact Michael B. Carrithers
  • Narrative as a form of social and cultural understanding
  • Nature of publics and public sphere
  • Sociality
  • Theories of interaction, dialogism and mutualism, activity theory
  • Rhetoric and culture
  • Rhetoric of photography
  • East Germany
Dr Peter J. Collins 41604 p.j.collins@durham.ac.uk
  • Aesthetics
  • Britain, Kenya
  • Hospitals
  • Qualitative research methods
  • Religion, ritual and symbolism
  • Space and place
Dr Iain Edgar 41629 i.r.edgar@durham.ac.uk
  • Humanistic groupwork in research and teaching
  • Imagination and dreaming
  • Welfare and community care
Dr Yulia Egorova 41598 yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk
  • Jewish communities in Asia and Africa
  • Religions of South Asia
  • Socio-cultural implications of genomics
  • Judaising movements
Dr Sarah Elton 40241 sarah.elton@durham.ac.uk
  • Ecology, palaeobiology and palaeoecology
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Functional morphology
  • Old World monkey biogeography
  • Plio-Pleistocene hominin evolution
  • Primate locomotion
Dr Alex Flynn 43308 alex.flynn@durham.ac.uk
  • Academe and engagement
  • Brazil and the UK
  • Contemporary Art Worlds
  • Cultural politics
  • Mass media and narrative
  • Social movements
  • Squatting, occupation, and protest
  • Theatre performance
  • Transformation
Dr Paolo Fortis 43309 paolo.fortis@durham.ac.uk
  • Aesthetics
  • Amerindian societies
  • Anthropology of art
  • Myth and history
  • Panama
  • Personhood
  • Power and violence
  • Shamanism
Dr Charles Gullick 41617 Contact Charles Gullick
  • Cognitive and Cultural Anthropology
  • Ethnohistory
  • Folklore and Material Culture
  • Intercultural Communications
  • Management Studies
Dr Kate Hampshire 43313 k.r.hampshire@durham.ac.uk
  • Africa
  • Demography
  • Health and disease
  • Human ecology
  • Livelihood strategies and security
  • Nomads, migrants and other mobile populations
  • Pastoralists
  • Sahel
Dr Russell Hill 41601 Contact Russell Hill
  • Primate Behaviour and Ecology
  • Predator-Prey Interactions
  • Felid Behaviour and Ecology
  • Conservation and Human-Wildlife Conflict
Dr Jeremy Kendal 41630 jeremy.kendal@durham.ac.uk
  • Cultural evolution
  • Cultural niche construction
  • Gene-culture coevolution
  • Social learning
Dr Rachel Kendal (nee Day) 41627 rachel.kendal@durham.ac.uk
  • Social Learning
  • Behavioural Innovation
  • Cultural Evolution
  • Applications to Welfare, Conservation & Science Communication
Miss Charlotte King Contact Charlotte King -
Dr Elisabeth Kirtsoglou 43313 elisabeth.kirtsoglou@durham.ac.uk
  • Gender
  • Greece
  • Identity
Dr Kris (Fire) Kovarovic 41628 kris.kovarovic@durham.ac.uk
  • African Plio-Pleistocene palaeoecology
  • Early hominin environments and methods for reconstructing habitats
  • Faunal community ecology
  • Mammalian functional morphology (particularly ungulates)
  • Tracing environmental change
Dr Jamie F. Lawson 41661 Contact Jamie F. Lawson
  • Human sex and sexuality
  • Sex / gender and the relationship between biological and social categories
  • Heteronormativity in science - evolutionary approaches to sexual orientation, trans* and queer
  • Attractiveness and mating strategy
  • Evolutionary anthropology
Prof Robert H. Layton 41636 Contact Robert H. Layton
  • Anthropology and archaeology of art in non-literate societies
  • Evolution of social behaviour
  • Indigenous land rights
  • Social change, especially among French peasants and Australian Aborigines
Dr Stephen M. Lyon 41597 s.m.lyon@durham.ac.uk
  • Conflict resolution, political and legal anthropology
  • Cultural Systems
  • Kinship and Social Networks
  • Pakistan
  • Islam
  • Computing and Anthropology
Dr Claudia Merli 43310 claudia.merli@durham.ac.uk
  • Medical anthropology
  • Reproductive health
  • Gender, embodiment
  • Thailand, Muslim minority
  • Female genital cutting
  • Male circumcision
  • Natural hazards, tsunami, catastrophes and religion
  • Ethnopsychiatry, anthropology of mental illness, PTSD
  • Culture-bound syndromes
Dr Alex Mesoudi 40248 a.a.mesoudi@durham.ac.uk
  • Cultural evolution
  • Social learning
  • Gene-culture coevolution
  • Evolution and human behaviour
Dr Nayanika Mookherjee 43296 nayanika.mookherjee@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology of politics, state, violence, memory, and human rights
  • Gendered violence during wars
  • Aesthetics, affective apparatus (museums, memorials), senses and the nation-state
  • Political kinship and transnational adoption
  • Ethics
  • South Asia
Dr Tessa M. Pollard 41623 t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk
  • Evolutionary perspectives on 'western' diseases
  • Lifestyle, inequalities and cardiovascular diseases / type 2 diabetes
  • The health of migrant populations in the UK, especially in relation to South Asians
  • Early life influences on health (e.g. the thrifty phenotype) in relation to populations in transition
  • Stress and health
Dr Ian Rickard 40246 ian.rickard@durham.ac.uk
  • Evolutionary ecology
  • Human biology
  • Individual variation
  • Life history theory
  • Natural selection
Dr Andrew J. Russell 43312 a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk
  • Medical anthropology
  • Tobacco (its use and control)
Dr Jo Setchell 41633 joanna.setchell@durham.ac.uk
  • Growth and ontogeny
  • Interactions between hormones, immunity and reproduction
  • Reproductive strategies
  • Secondary sexual traits and signalling in males and females
  • Socioendocrinology
  • Primate behavioural ecology
  • Sexual selection
  • Life history strategies and phenotypic plasticity
  • Ethnoprimatology
Prof Paul Sillitoe 41632 Contact Paul Sillitoe
  • Development and social change
  • Economic anthropology and tribal socio-political orders
  • Environmental anthropology and natural resources management
  • Human ecology and ethnosciences
  • Indigenous knowledge and participating development
  • Livelihood and technology
  • Melanesia and South Asia
Professor Bob Simpson 41619 robert.simpson@durham.ac.uk
  • 'Human subject research' and the ethics of experimentation involving humans
  • Comparative bioethics
  • Kinship and the new reproductive and genetic technologies
  • Kinship, divorce, and relationship breakdown in Western societies
  • Narrative and biography
  • Sri Lanka, ritual tradition and performance
  • Tissue economies [as these relate to organs, gametes and embryos]
Dr Malcolm T. Smith 41600 Contact Malcolm T. Smith
  • Current patterns of human evolution, inferred from genetic studies of contemporary British populations and predicted from historical demography
  • Historical genetics, inbreeding
  • Migration and the distribution of surnames
Prof Veronica Strang veronica.strang@durham.ac.uk
  • Cultural landscapes
  • Environmental anthropology
Dr Jamie Tehrani 41631 jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk
  • Cultural evolution
  • Phylogenetic analysis of culture
  • Social learning
  • Cognitive anthropology
  • Oral traditions
  • Material culture
  • Fairy tales
Dr Thomas Yarrow 41624 t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk
  • Activism
  • Development knowledge and practice
  • Heritage Conservation
  • Intersections between Archaeology and Anthropology
  • Life history and personal narrative
  • NGOs and Civil Society
  • Space and Place
  • The social construction of policy knowledge
  • West Africa