Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Anthropology

Academic Staff

NameTelephoneEmailResearch Interests
Professor Simone Abram 42871 simone.abram@durham.ac.uk
  • Energy and Society
  • Inhabitation and Property
  • Practices of Public Participation
Prof Catherine Alexander 41622 catherine.alexander@durham.ac.uk
  • Economic and political anthropology
  • Changing property regimes
  • Privatisation
  • Third / voluntary sector
  • wastes (including recycling)
  • Bureaucracy
  • Indeterminacy
  • Failure
  • Inequalities
  • Migration
  • Urban anthropology
  • Social/public housing
  • post-socialism
  • Middle East (Turkey)
  • Central Asia (Kazakhstan)
  • Britain
Prof Helen L. Ball 41602 Contact Helen L. Ball
  • Integration of evolutionary and socio-cultural perspectives on anthropology of infant sleep
  • How parents cope with infant-related sleep distruption
  • Development of sleep patterns and circadian rhythms
  • Human behaviour: parenting, infant care, infant mortality, SIDS, infanticide
  • Behaviour and physiology of infant sleep
  • Midwifery and postnatal care
  • Evolutionary medicine
Professor Robert A. Barton 41603 Contact Robert A. Barton
  • Behavioural ecology and sociobiology
  • Comparative studies of brain size and structure in relation to behavioural ecology
  • Evolution of mamalian reproductive traits
  • Primate evolution and behaviour
Professor Sandra Bell 43311 sandra.bell@durham.ac.uk
  • Environmental anthropology
  • European wetlands
  • Interdisciplinarity
  • Socio-technical systems of energy
  • Western Buddhism
Prof Gillian Bentley 41114 g.r.bentley@durham.ac.uk
  • Behavioural ecology
  • Early life development and later life health
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Overweight/obesity and child health
  • Reproductive ecology
Prof Alan Bilsborough 41625 alan.bilsborough@durham.ac.uk
  • Human evolution, especially the functional basis for cranial diversity in early hominids and the reconstruction of evolutionary patterns
  • The interaction of social and biological variables in human biology, with particular reference to patterns of nutrition and disease
Dr Hannah Brown 40244 hannah.brown@durham.ac.uk
  • Community-Based Health Care
  • East Africa, Kenya
  • Epidemics (especially HIV/AIDS and VHFs)
  • Global Health and Development
  • Health Governance
  • Hospitals
  • Human animal relations
  • Science
  • West Africa, Sierra Leone
  • Work and Management
Dr Trudi Buck 40254 t.j.buck@durham.ac.uk
  • Applications of geometric morphometrics to human evolution
  • Biological anthropology from material culture
  • Early human migrations
  • Forensic anthropology
  • Public engagement with science and anthropology
  • The evolution of human craniofacial diversity
Dr Ben Campbell 41621 ben.campbell@durham.ac.uk
  • Biotechnology and post-agrarian rural economies
  • Conservation and social justice
  • Culture and sustainability
  • Environmental anthropology
  • Food cultures
  • Indigenous knowledge and development
  • Low carbon energy transitions
  • Nepal and Himalayas
  • South Asia and social theory
Prof Michael B. Carrithers 41634 Contact Michael B. Carrithers
  • Narrative as a form of social and cultural understanding
  • Nature of publics and public sphere
  • Sociality
  • Theories of interaction, dialogism and mutualism, activity theory
  • Rhetoric and culture
  • Rhetoric of photography
  • East Germany
Dr Yulia Egorova 41598 yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology of Jewish communities
  • Anthropology of science
  • Jewish-Muslim relations
Professor Sarah Elton 40241 sarah.elton@durham.ac.uk
  • Ecology, palaeobiology and palaeoecology
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Functional morphology
  • Old World monkey biogeography
  • Plio-Pleistocene hominin evolution
  • Primate locomotion
Dr Paolo Fortis 43309 paolo.fortis@durham.ac.uk
  • Amerindian societies
  • Anthropology of art
  • Myth and history
  • Panama
  • Personhood
  • Shamanism
  • Social change
  • Temporality
Professor Kate Hampshire 43313 k.r.hampshire@durham.ac.uk
  • child and adolescent health
  • Critical medical anthropology
  • digital technologies and health
  • livelihoods, poverty and food security
  • pastoralists and other mobile populations
  • pharmaceuticals and other medicines
  • Sub-Saharan Africa (especially West Africa)
  • trust, uncertainty and risk
Professor Russell Hill 41601 Contact Russell Hill
  • Primate Behaviour and Ecology
  • Predator-Prey Interactions
  • Felid Behaviour and Ecology
  • Conservation and Human-Wildlife Conflict
Dr Jeremy Kendal 41630 Contact Jeremy Kendal
  • Social transmission and population dynamics
Dr Rachel Kendal (nee Day) 41627 rachel.kendal@durham.ac.uk
  • Social Learning
  • Behavioural Innovation
  • Cultural Evolution
  • Cumulative Culture
  • Applications to Welfare, Conservation & Science Communication
Dr Elisabeth Kirtsoglou 40680 elisabeth.kirtsoglou@durham.ac.uk
  • Gender
  • Greece
  • Identity
  • Politics
  • Migration and Refugee Issues
Dr Kris (Fire) Kovarovic 41628 kris.kovarovic@durham.ac.uk
  • African Plio-Pleistocene palaeoecology
  • Early hominin environments and methods for reconstructing habitats
  • Faunal community ecology
  • Mammalian functional morphology (particularly ungulates)
  • Tracing environmental change
Prof Robert H. Layton 41636 Contact Robert H. Layton
  • Anthropology and archaeology of art
  • Evolution of social behaviour
  • Indigenous rights
  • Social change, especially among French and Chinese villagers, and Native Australians
Prof Ann MacLarnon Contact Ann MacLarnon
  • Ecological physiology
  • Behavioural endocrinology
  • Adaptation and stress
  • Sociality and stress
  • Evolution of human speech breathing control
Professor Jane Macnaughton 48164 jane.macnaughton@durham.ac.uk
  • Medical humanities
  • Embodied and emergent symptoms
  • Movement and health
  • Breath and breathlessness
  • Epistemologies of health research
Professor Nayanika Mookherjee 43296 nayanika.mookherjee@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology of politics, state, violence, memory, and human rights
  • Gendered violence during wars
  • Aesthetics, affective apparatus (museums, memorials), senses and the nation-state
  • Political kinship and transnational adoption
  • Ethics
  • South Asia
Dr Tessa M. Pollard 41623 t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk
  • Understanding the place of physical activities in everyday lives
  • Using ethnography to inform interventions
  • Walking and walking groups
  • Evolutionary perspectives on physical activity
  • The health of migrant populations
Professor Gina Porter 41596 r.e.porter@durham.ac.uk
  • Children and young people
  • Gendered mobilities
  • Market institutions
  • Mobile phones/ICTs
  • Older people's mobility
  • Participatory methodologies
  • Sub-Saharan Africa
  • Transport, mobility and social exclusion
Dr Felix Ringel 40259 felix.ringel@durham.ac.uk
  • anthropology of Europe
  • anthropology of the future
  • anthropology of time
  • postindustrial urban regeneration
  • postsocialist anthropology
  • social sustainability
  • urban anthropology
  • urban sustainability
Dr Andrew J. Russell 43312 a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk
  • Medical anthropology
  • Tobacco (its use and control)
Dr Maurice Said 40251 Contact Maurice Said -
Professor Jo Setchell 41633 joanna.setchell@durham.ac.uk
  • Biosocial conservation
  • Human-wildlife interactions
  • Primate conservation
  • Primate socioecology
  • Reproductive strategies
  • Socioendocrinology
  • Primate behavioural ecology
  • Sexual selection
  • Life history strategies and phenotypic plasticity
  • Ethnoprimatology
Prof Paul Sillitoe 41632 paul.sillitoe@durham.ac.uk
  • Development and social change
  • Economic anthropology and tribal socio-political orders
  • Environmental anthropology and natural resources management
  • Human ecology and ethnosciences
  • Indigenous knowledge and participating development
  • Livelihood and technology
  • Melanesia and South Asia
Professor Bob Simpson 41619 robert.simpson@durham.ac.uk
  • Death and Donation
  • Tissue economies [as these relate to organs, gametes and embryos]
  • 'Human subject research' and the ethics of experimentation involving humans
  • Comparative bioethics
  • Kinship and the new reproductive and genetic technologies
  • Kinship, divorce, and relationship breakdown in Western societies
  • Narrative and biography
  • Sri Lanka, ritual tradition and performance
Dr Alice Stefanelli 40251 alice.stefanelli@durham.ac.uk
  • Civil society and participation
  • Expertise
  • Heritage
  • Intersection between anthropology and architecture
  • Mobility and infrastructure
  • Space, place and time
  • The state
  • Urban governance
Dr Edward (Jed) Stevenson 41597 jed.stevenson@durham.ac.uk
  • child development
  • hunger and thirst
  • mixed methods and epistemologies
  • socio-ecological change
  • social inequality
  • Ethiopia
  • Horn of Africa
Professor Veronica Strang veronica.strang@durham.ac.uk
  • Environmental anthropology
  • Materiality
  • Water
  • Interdisciplinarity
Dr Sally Street 41604 sally.e.street@durham.ac.uk
  • Macro-evolutionary anthropology
  • Phylogenetic comparative methods
  • Technical skill: music, tool use, construction
  • Human/animal interactions
Dr Amanda Tan amanda.tan@durham.ac.uk
  • Technical intelligence: tool use, object manipulation, extractive foraging
  • Social learning
  • Animal traditions and culture
  • Primate archaeology
  • Human-wildlife interactions
  • Evolutionary significance of coastal environments
Dr Jamie Tehrani 41631 jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk
  • Cultural evolution
  • Phylogenetic analysis of culture
  • Social learning
  • Cognitive anthropology
  • Oral traditions
  • Material culture
  • Fairy tales
Dr Cecilia Tomori 40750 cecilia.tomori@durham.ac.uk
  • Biocultural aspects of breastfeeding and sleep
  • Social and historical aspects of childbirth and infant care
  • Kinship
  • Personhood
  • Reproduction
  • Political economy and health inequities
Dr Tom Widger 41600 tom.widger@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology & chemistry
  • Suicide, self-harm, ethnopsychiatry
  • Cognition, cultural transmission, social learning
  • Charity, philanthropy, CSR, development
  • Religion, nationalism, politics
  • Pesticides, agrochemicals, and their human and environmental impacts
  • Chemical body burden, biomonitoring, medical and eco toxicology
  • Purity/danger; pollution/risk
  • Global health
  • Sri Lanka & South Asia
Dr Thomas Yarrow 41624 t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk
  • Activism
  • Development knowledge and practice
  • Heritage Conservation
  • Intersections between Archaeology and Anthropology
  • Life history and personal narrative
  • NGOs and Civil Society
  • Space and Place
  • The social construction of policy knowledge
  • West Africa