We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Durham Centre for Soft Matter

Energy Landscapes 2014:From Single Molecules to Soft Matter

General information

Welcome to the web pages of the 2014 Energy Landscapes symposium and workshop.

The meeting will take place at Durham University in North East England (UK) and is the latest in a series previously held in Obergurgl (Austria), Chemnitz (Germany) and Telluride (Colorado, USA). This year, the meeting will be launched with an afternoon symposium, hosted by the Durham Centre for Soft Matter, before proceeding with the traditional informal workshop. Participants are encouraged to attend both the symposium and the workshop.

The meeting will cover the latest advances in energy landscape methodology and their application to soft matter, clusters, biomolecules and glasses. Energy landscape methods compute dynamic and thermodynamic properties based on a knowledge of the stationary points of the potential energy function. This approach has the ability to circumvent some persistent limitations of conventional simulations, making energy landscapes a powerful tool with a wide range of applications.

Social events will include a day-trip to the tidal island of Lindisfarne, a guided tour of Durham cathedral and castle, and the conference banquet at the College of St Hild and St Bede.

Wireless internet is available at the conference venue and at college accommodation in the University. Participants from universities that support Eduroam can connect using their own account and guest accounts will be provided for those who need them. Instructions on configuring your computer are available here.

Important dates

Deadline for early registration 31 May 2014
Deadline for late registration and abstract submission 31 July 2014
Symposium 15 August 2014
Lindisfarne trip and informal meetings 16-17 August 2014
Workshop 18-21 August 2014

Confirmed invited speakers

Dwaipayan Chakrabarti (Birmingham)
Graeme Henkelman (Texas)
Andreas Heuer (Muenster)
Tamiki Komatsuzaki (Hokkaido)
Halim Kusumaatmaja (Durham)
Roy Johnston (Birmingham)
Vinothan Manoharan (Harvard)
Fabien Paillusson (Barcelona)
Samuela Pasquali (Paris)
Edward Pyzer-Knapp (Harvard)
Edina Rosta (King's College London)
Birgit Strodel (Jülich)
Jacob Stevenson (Cambridge)
David Wales (Cambridge)


Mark Miller (Durham)
David Wales (Cambridge)


The organisers are delighted to acknowledge support for this meeting from the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

RSC logo