We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Physics

Staff profile

Professor Douglas Halliday, BSc, PhD, FInstP, CPhys, SFHEA, FEI

Associate Professor in the Department of Physics
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43571
Room number: 153
Director in the Durham Energy Institute

(email at

University Responsibilities

Director of the Durham University Global Challenge Centre for Doctoral Training (2019-)

Director of the Multidisciplinary Centre for Doctoral Training in Energy (2010-)

Dean of the Graduate School (2005-2010)

Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Science (2002-2005)

Director of Postgraduate Training of the Faculty of Science (2000-2002)

College Mentor at St Aidan's College

Responsibilities within Physics Department

Chairman of the Board of Examiners in Physics

Teaching activity

Level 3 Team Projects

Supervising Level 4 projects

Postgraduate Lecture Course in Condensed Matter Physics

Postgraduate Lectures on MSc Energy and Society

Other Activities

Higher Education Reviewer for Quality Assurance Agency

Chair of UK Council for Graduate Education Executive Committee

Chair of the European Universities Association Energy and Envionment Platform

External Examiner Imperial College

Research Interests

Advanced spectroscopic studies of quantum and novel behaviour in electronic materials and devices. The aim of my work is elucidate the fundamental physical mechanisms which underlie the operation of electronic devices, leading to improvements in device operation. This is achieved through innovative, state of the art materials characterisation and optical spectroscopy facilities.

At present the main areas of my work are:

  1. Novel solar energy materials for thin film photovoltaic solar cell structures, novel quantum solar cell structures and sustainable materials for photovoltaic applications (Dr Hindmarch, Dr Mendis, Dr Szablewski)
  2. Rare earth doped Chevrel phase and metallic superconductors, noble metal films and nanostructures (Professor Hampshire)
  3. Vapour grown bulk II-VI crystals
  4. Polymer-Semiconductor organic-inorganic heterostructures (Professor Pettty, Dr Mendis, Dr Groves and Dr Szablewski)

(Please see CMP research group web pages for further details

Research Groups

Department of Physics

Centre for Materials Physics

  • Inorganic Opto-Electroactive Materials

Selected Publications

Conference Paper

Journal Article

Show all publications

Media Contacts

Available for media contact about:

  • Condensed Matter Physics: Solar Cells
  • Renewable energy: Renewable Energy
  • Condensed Matter Physics: Semiconductors
  • Condensed Matter Physics: Optical Spectroscopy

Selected Grants

  • 2017: NECEM (£228875.41 from Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council)