We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Physics



Tilly Evans - 2020 Ella Bryant Prize Winner

(16 October 2020)

Tilly Evans

The 2020 Ella Bryant Prize has been awarded to Tilly Evans, a PhD student working in the ICC with Dr. Alis Deason, Dr. Azi Fattahi and Prof. Carlos Frenk, who is supported by the Royal Society.

Tilly started in Durham in October 2019 and has already had a paper published in the Monthly Notices of the Royal Astronomical Society, based on her work in the first year of her PhD:

How unusual is the Milky Way’s assembly history?” Evans, T.A., Fattahi, A., Deason, A.J., Frenk, C.S., 2020, MNRAS, 497, 4311

The Ella Bryant Prize is the Physics Department’s postgraduate prize for outstanding overall performance which is normally awarded to students at the end of their first year of supervised study. The prize is named after Ella Bryant, the first female student to graduate (in any subject) from Durham University, receiving her Physics BSc degree in 1895. 

>> Find out more about the history of Durham University