We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Physics



Physics Technical Staff Nominated for Institute of Physics, Papin Prize Awards 2017!

(14 July 2017)

Technical staff from Physics' Teaching Laboratory Team have been nominated for awards in two categories at the Institute of Physics' Papin Awards.

The Papin Prizes are named after Denis Papin, a 17th century technician who worked with Robert Boyle. Papin invented the steam digester and was one of the first technicians to publish in his own name. The Papin Prizes recognise the invaluable role played by technicians in UK Higher Education.

Two nominations from the technical staff were recently put forward by the Physics Department in recognition of their outstanding commitment, and level of service delivered.

Ryan Ellison for the category:

Newcomer - An individual who has embarked on a technical career within the past 4 years and shown exceptional promise - for example, this may be a trainee or apprentice technician.


Teaching Laboratory Team of Paul Foley, Susan Hilton, Ryan Ellison, Reece Stockport and John Summerill for the category:

Technical Team - A technical team who have worked together to deliver excellence.

The nominations were successful by the fact that Ryan was Highly Commended by the awarding body and was presented with a certificate in Recognition of Technical Excellence in Academia.

Congratulations to Ryan and the Teaching Laboratory team for being recognised as nominees by the Department.