We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Physics



Celebration of local school physicists

(15 June 2016)

Thirty-six outstanding young physicists from the North East will be rewarded for their dedication and enthusiasm for physics at Durham University’s fourth Ogden Schools’ Physicist of the Year event on Tuesday 21st June.

These talented young physicists from schools and colleges across the region were put forward for the award by their teachers, who nominated the students based on their hard work, contributions in class, and progress over the school year.

The award-winning students, along with their families and teachers, will attend the celebration where they will be presented with a certificate and book token. Attendees will have the chance to take part in hands-on activities provided by staff and students from Durham University’s Physics Department including musical physics demos and programmable Lego robots. The awards will be presented by Professor Carlos Frenk, Director of Durham University's Institute for Computational Cosmology.

The Ogden Trust sponsor the event as part of its commitment to ‘making physics matter’.

The Trust also supports a wide range of physics-related programmes to support sixth formers, undergraduates and teachers.