We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Physics



Mathematical Sciences and Physics collaboration wins Mitchell Prize

(19 August 2011)

Ian Vernon, Michael Goldstein (Mathematical Sciences) and Richard Bower (Physics) were awarded the Mitchell Prize for the best Applied Bayesian Statistics paper for 2010, which Ian collected in person in Miami last week at the Joint Statistical Meeting (the largest stats conference worldwide).  The prize was for the paper:


I Vernon, M Goldstein and R G Bower (2010), "Galaxy Formation: A Bayesian Uncertainty Analysis", Bayesian Analysis 05(04): 619--670 (with

discussion) which can be found at .

The Mitchell Prize is awarded in recognition of an outstanding paper that describes how a Bayesian analysis has solved an important applied problem and is awarded by the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA) which is the worldwide umbrella Bayesian society.   The Prize is jointly

sponsored by the Section on Bayesian Statistical Science (SBSS) of the ASA, the International Society for Bayesian Analysis (ISBA), and the Mitchell Prize Founders' Committee. It includes a commemorative plaque and an award of $1,000.