We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Advanced Study

Past Events

2018 Conference on Mechanism and Institution Design

12th May 2018, 09:00 to 13th May 2018, 18:00, Durham University Business School, •Prof. Vincent Crawford (University of Oxford); •Prof. Herve Moulin (University of Glasgow); •Prof. David Martimort (Paris School of Economics)

A conference of the Society for the Promotion of Mechanism and Institution Design.

Durham University Business School (DUBS) is honoured to host the inaugural conference of the Society for the Promotion of Mechanism and Institution Design (SPMiD), on the weekend of 12-13 May 2018. Durham University is located in the historical and beautiful city of Durham in North East England.

The main theme of the Conference is on mechanism, institution and market design, and it is by invitation only. The conference will have three distinguished keynote speakers:

The conference is co-organised by DUBS and the Society of SPMiD, and financially supported by DUBS, the Institute of Advanced Study (IAS) of Durham University, and the SPMiD.

Travel Information

The nearest airport is Newcastle (UK). It takes about 30min from Newcastle Airport to Durham City by taxi (a fare of £35 or so). Newcastle airport is also connected to Durham by metro and train, and you could also take metro from the Airport to Central Station, and then take train from Newcastle to Durham (it takes about one hour or so).

Accommodation Information

You may consider the following hotels which are quite close to Durham University Business School:

Participants are advised to search and book accommodation on their own, which nowadays is easy to arrange. Durham also has a wide range of hotels and a lot of B&Bs of decent quality, with reasonable prices and the relevant information can be found at the following website:

Conference Registration

Organising Committee:

Zaifu Yang (SPMiD); Daniel Z. Li (DUBS), Bibhas Saha, Ayse Yazici; Xiaogang Che, Simone Tonin and Anil Yildizparlak

All lectures of the conference will be open to the public free of charge but delegates have the priority to take seats.

Contact for more information about this event.