We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Advanced Study

Contact and Find the IAS

Contact Us

General Enquiries: 0044 (0) 191 334 2589.

All staff contact details can be found here.

How to Find Us

Durham City is located in beautiful County Durham, Land of the Prince Bishops, in the North East of England. It can be reached easily by road, rail, air or sea. Durham provides a wonderful base to explore the region as well as other areas of the UK such as Northumberland, the Lake District, Edinburgh, Glasgow, York, Leeds, Manchester, Birmingham and London.

By Road

Durham City centre is only 2 miles from the A1(M). Leave the motorway at Junction 62 on the A690 Durham - Sunderland road and follow signs to Durham City Centre. Durham is 264 miles from London, 187 miles from Birmingham, 125 miles from Edinburgh and 67 miles from York.

There are several express coach services daily from most major cities. Durham is well served by both regional express services and the local bus network. From the city bus station - a short walk from the railway station - a bus service runs every 15 minutes past the Colleges on South Road.

By Rail

InterCity trains from most major centres in the country call at Durham daily including 14 trains from London. The GNER high speed service takes under 3 hours from London King's Cross on the main East Coast line. Durham is just over 3 hours from Birmingham, 2.5 hours from Manchester, 1.5 hours from Edinburgh and 45 minutes from York.

A taxi will take you from the station to any College within 5 minutes and you can walk to the city centre in 10 minutes.

By Air

Durham is 30 minutes drive from Newcastle and Teesside International Airports. Both have regular domestic and international flights. Durham is linked to Newcastle Airport by rail and metro.

By Sea

Scheduled ferry services link the River Tyne to ports in Scandinavia, The Netherlands and Germany.