We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Institute of Advanced Study

Christopherson/Knott Foundation Fellows

The Institute of Advanced Study, at the request of Durham University's Research Committee, took over the responsibility for the administration of these internal fellowships in 2006-07. The fellowship became a three-month award and recipients are automatically granted IAS affiliate status for the duration of the fellowship. The first of the new style fellowships were awarded in 2006-07 for the 2007-08 academic year. Details of recipients of the Sir Derman Christopherson/Sir James Knott Foundation Fellowships (since the IAS took over the fellowship scheme) can be obtained by following the links below:


October - December 2017

Dr Mike Church (Archaeology)

Dr Kasper Peeters (Mathematical Sciences)

January - March 2018

Dr Ehmke Pohl (Chemistry and Biosciences)


January - March 2017
Professor Clare McGlynn (Law)

March - May 2017
Dr Susanne Braun (Business School)


January-March 2016

Dr Alex Easton (Psychology)
Professor David Herman (English Studies)
Professor Bennett Zon (Music)


January-March 2015

Professor Richard Bower (Physics)
Professor Martin Clayton (Music)
Professor Nicholas Saul (Modern Languages and Cultures)


October-December 2013

Dr Colin Lever (Psychology)
Dr Ted Kaizer (Classics and Ancient History)

January-March 2014

Professor Eleanor Spaventa (Law)


October-December 2012
Professor Lewis Ayres (Theology and Religion)
Dr Nayanika Mookherjee (Anthropology)
January-March 2013
Professor Pamela Clemit (English Studies)


October-December 2011
Dr Daniel Paulusma (Engineering and Computer Sciences)
January-March 2012


October-December 2010
Dr Simon J James (English Studies)
Professor Yaoling Niu (Earth Sciences)


January-March 2010
April-June 2010
Professor Carlo Caruso (School of Modern Languages)
Dr Anna Leone (Department of Archaeology)


October-December 2008
Professor Timothy Clark (Department of English Studies)
January-March 2009
Professor Neil Cameron (Department of Chemistry)
Dr Matthew Ratcliffe (Department of Philosophy)


January-March 2008
Professor Richard Bower (Department of Physics)
Professor Jeremy Hutson (Department of Chemistry)
April-June 2008
Professor Sarah Banks (School of Applied Social Sciences)