We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Institute of Advanced Study


The Institute of Advanced Study is led by four directors, appointed by the Vice-Chancellor of Durham University, representing the three academic faculties at Durham:

Research Leave

The Directors are responsible for the running of the Institute and the development of the IAS academic programme, ensuring that all of the University's subject areas and interests are represented in its activities. They are supported in their work by the Institute's Administrator, Linda Crowe, the Institute Secretary, Nicola Dale, and the IAS Advisory Council.