Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Tackling racial harassment in higher education

Following on from Equality and Human Right’s Commission’s 2019 report Tackling racial harassment: universities challenged Universities UK have published a new set of recommendations designed to decisively tackle racial harassment in UK higher education.

At Durham, we are committed to addressing race inequalities and are working on tackling racial harassment. We recognise that we are at the beginning of this journey, and welcome this guidance from UUK, which provides useful case studies and highlights practical steps and areas of focus; many of which we are responding to at Durham University. The full report Tackling racial harassment in higher education, along with the case studies, are available on the UUK website [www.universitiesuk.ac.uk]. To find out more about how Durham University is tackling racial harassment in relation to the recommendations set out in Tackling racial harassment in higher education click here .


Click here for more information

Click here for more information

Please click on the links below to find out more

Contact

Rachel Archbold, Head of EDI, 01913346761 rachel.archbold@durham.ac.uk

Mark Callaghan, EDI Lead, 01913346763 mark.callaghan@durham.ac.uk

Athena Enderstein, EDI Lead, 01913346762 athena-maria.enderstein@durham.ac.uk

Melanie Earnshaw, EDI Officer (Race and Religion), 01913346760 melanie.h.earnshaw@durham.ac.uk

Louise Wright, EDI Co-ordinator, 01913346522; louise.wright@durham.ac.uk

Julie Wilson, Project Manager, 01913346766; julie.wilson@durham.ac.uk

Julia Guy, Project Coordinator, 01913346765; julia.f.guy@durham.ac.uk 

Report + Support User Guide

Report + Support User Guide

Views: 56

At Durham University we pride ourselves on providing a supportive, inclusive environment where our staff and students can study, work and live in a community that does not tolerate bullying, harassment, hate, or sexual misconduct. Our Report and Support tool allows staff or students who have experienced unwanted behaviour to make a report and seek support—this guide shows you how.