Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion

Durham University launches online tool to tackle bullying and harassment, hate incidents and sexual misconduct

The University is a welcoming, inclusive and safe space for everyone. Staff and students can study, work and live in a community that does not tolerate bullying, harassment, hate and sexual misconduct. As part of our continuing efforts to tackle these issues, we have launched the Report + Support online tool this October. Anyone who experiences or witnesses an incident will be taken seriously and will be supported. Report and Support tool gives the power back to you by giving you the choice to decide what to do next. For more information about the Report + Support tool, please click on the image below.

Recently, the Equality and Human Rights Commission has released a report setting out its findings following an inquiry into racial harassment within Universities. The full report can be accessed here. We welcome the report and are committed to tackling race-related harassment at an institutional and sector-wide level. Work already underway at Durham to tackle racial harassment and all hate crime addresses issues outlined in the urgent recommendations of the report. More information about examples of ongoing work and initiatives can be found in the links below.

 
 

Contact

Rachel Archbold, Head of EDI, 01913346761 rachel.archbold@durham.ac.uk

Mark Callaghan, EDI Policy Officer, 01913346763 mark.callaghan@durham.ac.uk

Athena Enderstein, EDI Policy Officer, 01913346762 athena-maria.enderstein@durham.ac.uk

Melanie Earnshaw, EDI Policy Support Advisor, 01913346760 melanie.h.earnshaw@durham.ac.uk

Louise Herron, EDI Co-ordinator, 01913346522; louise.herron@durham.ac.uk

Julia Guy, Project Support Officer, 01913346765; julia.f.guy@durham.ac.uk