Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham Energy Institute

Energy and Society

People

Staff Department Research Area Email
Dr Simone Abram Anthropology Energy and Society, Energy Tourism, Landscape and planning, Practices of Public Participation simone.abram@durham.ac.uk
Professor Sandra Bell Anthropology Society and Energy; environmental anthropology sandra.bell@durham.ac.uk
Prof Gavin Bridge Geography Geographies of energy transition and governance, politics of resource control and use. g.j.bridge@durham.ac.uk
Professor H A Bulkeley Geography Urban climate change policy and planning; private sector/community-based responses to climate change; smart grids and society; changing energy use and practice in households; energy and climate change justice h.a.bulkeley@durham.ac.uk
Dr B Campbell Anthropology Low Carbon Energy for Development Network; energy transitions in the Himalayas; biogas for forest livelihoods; renewable energy and indigenous peoples ben.campbell@durham.ac.uk
Dr J Covey Psychology How best to communicate information about risks and benefits to either improve the quality of people's decision making or change their attitudes and behaviours j.a.covey@durham.ac.uk
Dr C M Davidson SGIA Politics and economics of the Middle East's oil monarchies christopher.davidson@durham.ac.uk
Professor R Hudson Geography Energy use, poverty, policy, demand, Economic & social regeneration in 'old' industrial regions, ray.hudson@durham.ac.uk
Professor Tooraj Jamasb

Business School

Energy sector reform and market liberalisation, global energy policy and energy demand.

tooraj.jamasb@durham.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Knight

Anthropology

Photovoltaic energy development and economic sustainability in Greece, Energy Systems in the Baltic regions

daniel.knight@durham.ac.uk
Professor S Marvin

Geography

Changing relations between cities, regions and infrastructure networks in a period of resource constraint, institutional restructuring and climate change

simon.marvin@durham.ac.uk
Dr Marcus Power

Geography

Affordable access to energy in low income societies, clean energy for 'development', the Rising Powers and Low Carbon transitions in sub-Saharan Africa.

marcus.power@durham.ac.uk

Professor Janet Stewart

Modern Languages

Energy culture and humanities, cultural and theoretical approaches to oil, petrocultures, visual culture

janet.c.stewart@durham.ac.uk

Dr Tom Yarrow

Anthropology

Energy and the built environment, the intersections and conflicts between energy conservation and heritage conservation; the political and social consequences of energy infrastructures, the social construction of energy knowledge and expertise.

t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk