We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Durham Energy Institute


Congratulations to DEI 3MT competition winners

(2 October 2017)

On 29 September 2017 Durham Energy Institute held their 3rd Annual Research Symposium. As part of the programme a 3MT competition took place on the afternoon which was judged by a panel of judges including Professor Sandra Bell (Department of Anthropology), Maggie Bosanquet (Durham County Council & DEI Advisory Board), Hugh Yendole (DONG Energy), Dr Jenny Cooper (Independent Energy Innovation Specialist & DEI Advisory Board) and chaired by Vice Chancellor Professor Stuart Corbridge.

Six PhD and one undergraduate students took part in the competition which awarded £100, £50 and £25 for first, second and third prize respectively.

First prize went to Sally Semple from Heriott Watt University for her presentation entitled 'Variation in Energy Assessment Methods'.

Second prize went to James McCalman from the Engineering Department at Durham University for his presentation on 'Using fluidic curtains to improve sealing in turbomachinery'.

Third prize went to Undergraduate Frances Hagen of the Department of Earth Sciences at Durham University for her presentation on 'UK Emissions: Are We on Track to Meet Our Emission Reduction Targets?'.

Comments from judges on the day were that after lengthy deliberations, all presentations werenoted to be of a very good standard and provided an excellent showcase for energy related research at Durham and other HEI's. The judges acknowledged that some presenters were non-native English speakers and all had given strong presentations.