We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Durham Energy Institute


DEI welcomes new Advisory Board members

(29 February 2016)

DEI Advisory Board with team at February meeting

DEI was very pleased to welcome the newest members of our Advisory Board at last week's meeting. Andrew Wright (Ofgem) and Hans Möller (NE LEP) bring a wealth of skills and experience that further enhances the distinguished group of experts we have supporting and advising us. Other recent additions to the Advisory Board are Jenny Cooper (Energy Innovation Specialist), Barbara Vest (Energy UK), and Maggie Bosanquet (Durham County Council). The meeting also saw some excellent stewardship from our new Chair Professor Alan Lowdon and very interesting discussion on the future of UK Energy. 

DEI Advisory Board

DEI works closely with members of the Advisory Board to ensure that we continue to understand and lead thinking within the UK and Global Energy Industry. Members of the Advisory Board have been invited from across the technology and societal energy spectrum to provide us with advice on strategic direction; support into new markets, help with establishing new national and international collaborations; as well as guest lectures on their areas of expertise. Members are happy to provide advice and feedback on project feasibility, funding mechanisms, impact opportunities, as well as opportunities for student engagement including internships. 


New Members

Andrew Wright was recently appointed Senior Partner in Energy Systems at Ofgem the gas and electricity regulator for Great Britain, where he was previously the Group Finance Director. He has worked at Ofgem since 2008, including a nine-month period as interim Chief Executive and five years leading the Markets Division. He is now responsible in Ofgem for everything from the power station or gas field to the meter, including transmission and distribution policy. Andrew, a Durham graduate, has 30 years of experience of the gas and electricity sector.

Hans Möller is Innovation Director with the North East Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP). He has over 25 years managerial experience including all areas of innovation promotion, sales and marketing. Before starting at the North East LEP in 2015, Hans worked as the CEO of the leading Science Park in Sweden, Ideon Science Park in Lund. He was also Chair of the Swedish Incubators and Science Parks, and is Chair of Karolinska Institutet Science Park in Stockholm.

Barbara Vest has been Director of Generation in the Management Team of Energy UK since 2012. She is a member of the Executive Council of the House of Commons All Party Parliamentary Group for Energy Studies. She also serves as an elected Industry Member of the Balancing and Settlement Code Panel, Panel Sponsor of the Imbalance Settlement Group and Chair of the Joint European Stakeholder Group established by National Grid to manage the introduction of the Third Package European Network Codes.

Jenny Cooper specialises in research and development management and has been an Independent Energy Innovation Specialist since September 2014. She was responsible for Transmission research and development within National Grid for over 10 years and has twenty eight years’ experience in innovation within the energy industry. Her focus has been on the electricity industry, short and long term strategic planning, environmental issues, new technology and increasingly all aspects of energy technology and innovation.

Maggie Bosanquet is Sustainability, Energy and Climate Change Manager for Durham County Council, with responsibility for energy management, renewable energy and energy efficiency installations across the Council’s land and buildings as well as for County-wide policy on sustainable development and climate change. Since November 2013, Maggie has also been working with the North East Local Enterprise Partnership to write the European Structural and Investment Funds Strategy for the ring-fenced £70 million allocation for the Low Carbon Economy. 

Prof Alan Lowden is the New Chair for DEI Advisory Board, replacing Ian Burdon who stepped down on 14 October 2015 after chairing the Advisory Board since its inception six years ago.

The DEI Executive Director Simon Hogg and the DEI Executive Team would like to thank Ian for his contribution and support and are very happy that Ian is remaining as a board member. Alan Lowdon has also been a member of the Advisory Board since its’ inception and is a Visiting Professor in the School of Engineering and Computing Sciences at Durham University, a role he dovetails with his Durham Energy Institute Advisory Board position. Alan operates a broad portfolio of interests including holding the CEO position at Invisotech, as well as advisory roles in relation to the Green Port Hull initiative, the University of Strathclyde’s Technology & Innovation Centre and water purification technology business, CatalySystems. Alan also advises the UK Government’s innovation agency, Innovate UK, and the US Department of Energy and holds non-executive director positions at the Port of Blyth, the Innovation Board of the North East LEP and Innovation North East Ltd.