We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Durham Energy Institute


Professor Simon Hogg appointed new Executive Director for DEI

(7 March 2014)

Durham Energy Institute is pleased to announce that Professor Simon Hogg has been appointed DEI Executive Director. Simon has extensive experience of leading interdisciplinary research in both industry and university environments. He is joined by a newly strengthened executive team which represents a number of different disciplines from the sciences and social sciences at Durham University. 

Professor Hogg said:

“I am very pleased to take on this exciting new role and look forward to helping grow the DEI’s reputation as an internationally leading institution which promotes and delivers truly interdisciplinary energy research.

“With the new executive team in place we are now in an even stronger position to achieve our ambitions. I strongly believe that a key strength of DEI lies in its ‘Science and Society’ approach and I look forward to engaging with the wide range of energy experts we have across the University.

“I will ensure that our energy research and expertise has the external profile it deserves so that we can effectively inform and influence energy policy.”

Professor Hogg is based in Durham University’s School of Engineering & Computing Sciences. His research interests lie in the general areas of power generation turbomachinery including conventional steam and gas turbine plants, wind turbines and organic rankine cycles for waste heat recovery applications.

Professor Hogg has had a successful career in the Energy industry, with over 10 years working for ALSTOM’s Power division in Research and Development, Tendering and as Engineering Director of their Turbine Retrofit Business.

He returned to Academia in 2010 and has since had a pivotal role in re-focusing turbomachinery research at Durham on power generation turbines, taking an important role in attracting nearly £8 million funding for this area from Research Councils and Industry.

Simon is Principal Investigator of the EPSRC Supergen V Wind Energy Technologies Consortium and has technical leadership of the condition monitoring/asset management aspects of the Consortium’s work. He is also Principal Investigator of a recently-awarded EPSRC Future Conventional Power Research Consortium, which will consider the effect of the change in power mix resulting from the growth of wind on the flexible operating requirements for conventional steam and gas power plants. He has also held a number of industrially-funded research grants on new turbine technologies.

The new DEI executive team also includes:


Professor Tooraj Jamasb (Chair in Energy Economics at the Business School)

Dr John Bothwell (Reader in Bioenergy in the School of Biological and Biomedical Sciences)

Non-Executive Chair: Professor Richard J. Davies (Professor of Energy & Dean of Knowledge Exchange & Impact, Earth Sciences)


DEI Impact Fellow: Dr Chris Dent (School of Engineering & Computing Sciences)

DEI Mid Career Fellows: Dr Corinna Hess (Chemistry) and Dr Victoria Wells (Business School)

Early Career Fellow: Dr A. Maria A. Kastrinou (Anthropology)

PhD Fellow: Mr Andrew Crossland (School of Engineering & Computing Sciences)