We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Durham Energy Institute

Past Events

Find out about some of the previous events held by Durham Energy Institute:

Durham Energy Institute Research Symposium

30th September 2015, 09:00 to 17:15, Ken Wade Lecture Theatre, Calman Learning Centre, Various

We are delighted to announce our inaugural DEI Research Symposium. Building on the success of our impact programme, this Symposium promises an exciting selection of our international and national research with academic and industry partners all participating. The Symposium will discuss the role of science and society in delivering sustainable energy systems. It is intended to draw our attention to some of the challenges and opportunities facing the energy system from efficiency to distribution to transmission and energy policy and above all to engage with the users and recipients who can most benefit from our work.

Please click here to register or search for ‘Durham Energy Institute Research Symposium’ on Registration is essential for catering purposes.


09:00 Registration + Coffee

09:30 Welcome

Durham Energy Institute – Professor Simon Hogg

10:00 Session 1: UK Energy in 2035

  • Chair: Professor Simon Hogg (DEI/School of Engineering & Computing Sciences)
  • Professor Alan Lowdon (Invisotech)
  • Professor Keith Bell (UKERC)
  • Dr John Bothwell (DEI/Biological Sciences)
  • Dr Wilf Wilde (ex Ofgem & Energy Consultant)

11:15 Postgraduate Student Poster Session + Coffee break

Poster competition for Energy Research Postgraduates at Durham University, Room CLC406/407 – top floor of Calman Learning Centre

11.45 Session 2: Smart Analysis of Smart Energy Systems

  • Chair: Dr Chris Dent (DEI/School of Engineering & Computing Sciences)
  • Dr Jenny Cooper (Energy Systems Catapult)
  • Prof Mark O’Malley (Director of the Electricity Research Centre, University College Dublin)
  • Dr Rui Carvalho – (School of Engineering & Computing Sciences)
  • Dr Amy Wilson – (DEI/Mathematical Sciences)

13:00 Address from Hans Moller, Director of Innovation, North East LEP: 'The importance of Innovation' followed by lunch

Room CLC406 – top floor of Calman Learning Centre

14:00 Session 3: Consumers and Equity in Energy Systems

  • Chair: Dr Simone Abram (DEI/Anthropology)
  • Jenny Saunders (National Energy Action)
  • Dr Janice Astbury (Energy Equity in Haringey)/Rebecca Ince (Geography)
  • Dr Tanja Winther (Anthropology - visiting Fellow from Oslo)
  • Dr Andres Luque (Geography)

15:15 Coffee Break + Exhibition

Land Art Generator Initiative Model Session - CDT Students

15:45 Session 4: Markets, Energy Policy and Regulation (Panel)

  • Chair: Professor Tooraj Jamasb (DEI/Durham University Business School)
  • Tim Cantle-Jones (Future Energy Solutions)
  • Andrew Wright (Ofgem)
  • Keith Noble-Nesbitt (Northern Powergrid)
  • Dr Manuel Llorca (DEI/Durham University Business School)

17:00 Close

Final remarks by Professor Simon Hogg

17:15 Networking Drinks Reception

Room CLC406 – top floor of Calman Learning Centre


You can also download the programme here.

Contact for more information about this event.