Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Centre for Vision and Visual Cognition

Members

SectionNameEmailResearch Interests
Academic Staff: Dr Anthony Atkinson a.p.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
  • Social cognitive neuroscience
  • The emotions
  • The perception of faces, emotions, and biological motion
  • The scientific study of consciousness
  • Conceptual issues in evolutionary & cognitive psychological explanation
Dr Mike Burt d.m.burt@durham.ac.uk
  • Evolutionary psychology
  • Facial expression recognition
Dr Alexander Easton alexander.easton@durham.ac.uk
  • Animal Models of Episodic Memory
  • Cognitive Neuroscience of Learning and Memory
  • Learning and its relation to reward outcomes
  • Role of the Cholinergic Basal Forebrain in Learning and Memory
  • The ways in which social context modulate learning and memory
Dr Amanda Ellison amanda.ellison@durham.ac.uk -
Professor John Findlay
  • eye movements and visual attention in visual perception
  • perception of objects and scenes
  • perceptual and cognitive factors involved in interactions with graphical displays
  • picture scanning and visual search tasks
  • the relationship between central and peripheral vision
Dr Markus Hausmann markus.hausmann@durham.ac.uk
  • Sex differences in cognition and functional/structural brain organisation
  • Neuromodulatory properties of sex hormones
  • Hemispheric asymmetries and interhemispheric interaction
  • Spatial attention and spatial cognition
Professor Charles Heywood c.a.heywood@durham.ac.uk
  • cortical processes in colour vision
  • neuroimaging
  • visual disorders after brain damage
Dr Ala Hola a.k.w.hola@durham.ac.uk
  • attention
  • overt and covert shifts of human spatial attention; cross-modal cueing
Dr Bob Kentridge robert.kentridge@durham.ac.uk
  • neuropsychology of awareness, blindsight, colour vision and attention
Dr Alison Lane a.r.lane@durham.ac.uk
  • Visual Field Defects
  • Neurorehabilitation
  • Visuospatial attention
Professor Gordon Love g.d.love@durham.ac.uk
  • Vision Science
  • 3D Displays
  • Computer Graphics
  • Adaptive Optics
  • Liquid Crystal Technology
  • Image Processing
  • Optics
Prof Richard Myers r.m.myers@durham.ac.uk
  • Adaptive Optics
  • Astronomical Instrumentation
Dr Daniel Smith daniel.smith2@durham.ac.uk
  • Neurorehabilitation of visual field defects
  • Visual attention
  • Oculomotor control
  • Goals and motivation in sport
Dr Lore Thaler lore.thaler@durham.ac.uk
  • human echolocation, visual perception, auditory perception, blindness, functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI)
Dr Susanne Weis susanne.weis@durham.ac.uk -
Research Fellows: Dr Keira Ball Contact Keira Ball -
Professor David Milner Contact David Milner -
Postgraduate Students: Dr Stephen Dunne s.d.dunne@durham.ac.uk -
Dr Liam Norman Contact Liam Norman -