Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Centre for Vision and Visual Cognition

Members

SectionNameEmailResearch Interests
Academic Staff: Dr Anthony Atkinson a.p.atkinson@durham.ac.uk
  • Social cognitive neuroscience
  • The emotions
  • The perception of faces, emotions, and biological motion
  • The scientific study of consciousness
  • Conceptual issues in evolutionary & cognitive psychological explanation
Dr Ulrik Beierholm Contact Ulrik Beierholm
  • Computational Neuroscience, Perception, Decision Making, Neuroeconomics, Machine Learning
Professor Toby Breckon toby.breckon@durham.ac.uk
  • autonomous sensing
  • computer vision
  • image processing
  • machine learning
  • robotic sensing
Dr Mike Burt d.m.burt@durham.ac.uk
  • Evolutionary psychology
  • Facial expression recognition
Dr Jason Connolly j.d.connolly@durham.ac.uk -
Dr Dorothy Cowie dorothy.cowie@durham.ac.uk -
Professor Amanda Ellison amanda.ellison@durham.ac.uk -
Dr Anna Grubert anna.k.grubert@durham.ac.uk
  • Key words:
  • Visual selective attention
  • Top-down attentional control
  • Memory-guided attentional selection and attentional templates
  • Psychophysical paradigms
  • Electroencephalography (EEG)
  • Event-related potentials (ERPs)
Dr Markus Hausmann markus.hausmann@durham.ac.uk
  • A biopsychosocial approach to cognitive sex differences
  • Neuromodulatory properties of sex hormones
  • Hemispheric asymmetries and interhemispheric interaction
  • Spatial attention and spatial cognition
  • Social cognition
  • Emotional face recognition
Dr Ala Hola a.k.w.hola@durham.ac.uk
  • attention
  • overt and covert shifts of human spatial attention; cross-modal cueing
Dr Bob Kentridge robert.kentridge@durham.ac.uk
  • neuropsychology of awareness, blindsight, colour vision and attention
Dr George Alex Koulieris georgios.a.koulieris@durham.ac.uk
  • Computer Graphics
  • Displays
  • Virtual Reality
  • Visual Perception
Dr Alison Lane a.r.lane@durham.ac.uk
  • Visual Field Defects
  • Neurorehabilitation
  • Visuospatial attention
Dr Frederick Li frederick.li@durham.ac.uk
  • Computer Graphics
  • Distributed Virtual Environment
  • Multimedia Systems
  • Surface Modeling
  • Virtual Reality
Professor Gordon Love g.d.love@durham.ac.uk
  • Vision Science
  • 3D Displays
  • Computer Graphics
  • Adaptive Optics
  • Liquid Crystal Technology
  • Image Processing
  • Optics
Dr Kaja Mitrenga Contact Kaja Mitrenga -
Dr Boguslaw Obara
  • Image Processing
  • Pattern Recognition
  • BioImage Informatics
  • Computer Vision
  • Machine Learning
  • Data Science
Dr Maria Olkkonen maria.olkkonen@durham.ac.uk
  • Color constancy
  • Color perception
  • Probabilistic inference
  • Visual psychophysics, cognitive neuroscience
Dr Daniel T. Smith daniel.smith2@durham.ac.uk
  • Attention & Memory in Progressive Supranuclear Palsy
  • Neurorehabilitation of visual field defects
  • Visual attention
  • Oculomotor control
  • Goals and motivation in sport
Dr Lore Thaler lore.thaler@durham.ac.uk
  • human echolocation, visual perception, auditory perception, blindness, functional magnetic resonance imaging (fMRI)
Dr Mario Weick mario.weick@durham.ac.uk -
Dr Holger Wiese Contact Holger Wiese
  • Face Recognition
  • Face memory, particularly memory biases for own-group faces ('own-race bias', 'own-age bias', 'own-gender bias')
  • Person Categorization and processing of visually derivable facial information (age, gender, ethnicity, attractiveness)
  • Cognitive and neural correlates of aging in face memory and perception
  • Organization of person-related information in semantic memory
Research Fellows: Dr Stacey Aston Contact Stacey Aston -
Dr Soazig Casteau Contact Soazig Casteau
  • Oculomotor control
  • Saccadic eye movements
  • Visual attention
  • Visual perception
Dr James Negen Contact James Negen -
Dr Liam Norman Contact Liam Norman -
Postgraduate Students: Ms Reneta Kiryakova Contact Reneta Kiryakova -
Ms Rebecca Wedge-roberts Contact Rebecca Wedge-roberts -
Associate Members: Professor John Findlay
  • eye movements and visual attention in visual perception
  • perception of objects and scenes
  • perceptual and cognitive factors involved in interactions with graphical displays
  • picture scanning and visual search tasks
  • the relationship between central and peripheral vision
Professor David Milner Contact David Milner -