Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Department of Chemistry

Staff

Prof. John S.O. Evans, (Head of Department)

Personal web page

Head of Department
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42093

(email at john.evans@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Inorganic and Materials Chemistry

Full profile for John S.O. Evans


Dr DC Apperley, (Senior Experimental Officer)

Senior exptl officer (NMR, solid state)

(email at d.c.apperley@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Solid State NMR Spectroscopy

Full profile for DC Apperley


Prof. Jas Pal S. Badyal

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42001

(email at j.p.badyal@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Functional Surfaces and Surface Science

Full profile for Jas Pal S. Badyal


Prof. Colin D. Bain

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42138

(email at c.d.bain@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Colloid and Interface Science
  • Spectroscopy of Surfaces
  • Optical Trapping and Binding

Full profile for Colin D. Bain


Dr A Batsanov, (Senior Experimental Officer)

Senior Experimental Officer (crystallography)
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at a.s.batsanov@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • X-Ray Crystallography

Full profile for A Batsanov


Prof. Ian R. Baxendale

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42185

(email at i.r.baxendale@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Ian R. Baxendale


Dr Simon Beaumont

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42598

(email at simon.beaumont@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Cu-Ag bimetallic structures
  • Fischer-Tropsch
  • In situ DRIFTS (Diffuse Reflectance IR spectroscopy)
  • In situ Raman Techniques

Full profile for Simon Beaumont


Prof. Andrew Beeby

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42023

(email at andrew.beeby@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Photochemistry
  • Photophysics
  • Luminescence

Full profile for Andrew Beeby


Prof. Martin R. Bryce

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42018
Room number: Chemistry

(email at m.r.bryce@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Molecular Electronics
  • Functional Materials
  • Organic Synthesis

Full profile for Martin R. Bryce


Dr Stephen Butler

Ramsay Fellow
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42013

(email at s.j.butler@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Organic and Peptide Synthesis
  • Spectroscopy
  • Supramolecular Chemistry

Full profile for Stephen Butler


Prof. Neil R. Cameron

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42008

(email at n.r.cameron@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Polymer Chemistry
  • Porous Polymers
  • Bioactive Polymers

Full profile for Neil R. Cameron


Dr David Carty

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42026
Lecturer in the Department of Physics
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43817
Room number: 106

(email at david.carty@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Cold and Ultracold Molecule Production
  • Quantum Simulation
  • Controlled Cold and Ultracold Chemistry
  • Quantum Information Processing

Full profile for David Carty


Dr Steven Cobb

Personal web page

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42086

(email at s.l.cobb@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Peptide Drug Design and Delivery
  • Peptidomimetics
  • Bioorganic Fluorine Chemistry

Full profile for Steven Cobb


Prof. Karl S. Coleman

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42116
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at k.s.coleman@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Nanotechnology
  • Carbon Nanotubes
  • Graphene

Full profile for Karl S. Coleman


Dr Aileen Congreve

Senior Research Officer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42187

(email at aileen.congreve@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Flow Cytometry
  • Chromatography
  • Imaging

Full profile for Aileen Congreve


Dr Sharon J. Cooper

Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42098
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at sharon.cooper@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Crystallisation Strategies
  • Colloids
  • Semi-crystalline Polymers

Full profile for Sharon J. Cooper


Dr Christopher Coxon

Experimental Officer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42187

(email at christopher.coxon@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Medicinal chemistry and drug discovery
  • Peptides and peptidomimetics
  • Probing ligand-protein interactions

Full profile for Christopher Coxon


Dr Philip W. Dyer

Personal web page

Reader and Royal Society Industry Fellow
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42150
Deputy Director, Centre for Sustainable Chemical Processes

(email at p.w.dyer@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Organometallic Chemistry
  • Homogeneous Catalysis
  • Organophosphorus Chemistry

Full profile for Philip W. Dyer


Dr Sandra Engelskirchen

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42069

(email at sandra.engelskirchen@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Biocatalysis
  • Complex Fluids
  • Hierarchical Organization
  • Microemulsion
  • Scattering methods

Full profile for Sandra Engelskirchen


Dr Ivana Evans

Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42594
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at ivana.radosavljevic@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Oxide Ion Conductors
  • Solid State Chemistry
  • Functional materials

Full profile for Ivana Evans


Dr Mark A. Fox

Personal web page

Senior Research Officer

(email at m.a.fox@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • NMR Spectroscopy
  • Synthetic Chemistry
  • Carboranes

Full profile for Mark A. Fox


Dr Corinna Hess

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42593
Mid Career Fellow, Durham Energy Institute

(email at c.r.hess@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Bioinorganic Chemistry
  • C-H Activation
  • Artificial Enzymes

Full profile for Corinna Hess


Dr Paul Hodgkinson

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42019
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at paul.hodgkinson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Solid-state NMR (theory and applications)
  • Dynamics in the Solid State
  • NMR Crystallography

Full profile for Paul Hodgkinson


Dr David R.W. Hodgson

Personal web page

Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42123

(email at d.r.w.hodgson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Physical Organic Chemistry
  • Aqueous Reactivity
  • Nucleic Acids

Full profile for David R.W. Hodgson


Prof. Judith A. K. Howard, CBE, FRS

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42047
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at j.a.k.howard@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • X-Ray Diffraction Techniques
  • Variable Temperature X-ray Crystallography

Full profile for Judith A. K. Howard


Dr Andrew K. Hughes

Personal web page

Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42011

(email at a.k.hughes@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Organometallic Chemistry
  • Metallacarboranes
  • Metal Amides

Related Links

Full profile for Andrew K. Hughes


Dr Lian Hutchings

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42133

(email at l.r.hutchings@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Synthetic Polymer Chemistry
  • Branched Polymers
  • Functional Polymers

Full profile for Lian Hutchings


Prof. Jeremy M. Hutson, FRS

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42147
Professor of Chemistry and Physics in the Department of Physics
Room number: CG103L

(email at j.m.hutson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Theoretical Molecular Physics and Chemical Dynamics
  • Intermolecular Forces
  • Cold and Ultracold Molecules

Full profile for Jeremy M. Hutson


Dr Ritu Kataky

Personal web page

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42091
College Tutor of St Mary's College

(email at ritu.kataky@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Electrochemistry
  • Sensors
  • Charge Transfer at Interfaces

Full profile for Ritu Kataky


Dr Alan Kenwright

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42095

(email at a.m.kenwright@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • NMR Methods
  • Lanthanide Complexes
  • Polymer Characterisation

Full profile for Alan Kenwright


Dr Ezat Khosravi

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42014

(email at ezat.khosravi@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Synthetic Polymer Chemistry
  • Novel Polymeric Materials

Full profile for Ezat Khosravi


Prof. Paul J. Low

Visiting Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42114

(email at p.j.low@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Organometallic Chemistry
  • Molecular Electronics
  • Redox Chemistry

Full profile for Paul J. Low


Dr Mark Miller

Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42037

(email at m.a.miller@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Soft condensed matter
  • Atomic and molecular clusters
  • Self assembly
  • Monte Carlo simulation

Full profile for Mark Miller


Dr Victoria Money, (Royal Society URF)

Research Fellow

(email at v.a.money@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Protein Crystallography
  • Biophysical Techniques

Full profile for Victoria Money


Dr Jackie A. Mosely

Senior Research Officer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42595

(email at jackie.mosely@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Mass Spectrometry
  • Electron Capture Dissociation
  • Novel Ionisation Techniques

Full profile for Jackie A. Mosely


Dr AnnMarie C. O'Donoghue

Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42592

(email at annmarie.odonoghue@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Physical Organic Chemistry
  • Organic Reaction Mechanism
  • Enzyme Mechanisms

Full profile for AnnMarie C. O'Donoghue


Dr Lars-Olof Palsson

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42135

(email at lars-olof.palsson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Chemical Physics
  • Biophysics
  • Optical Spectroscopy

Related Links

Full profile for Lars-Olof Palsson


Prof. David Parker, FRS

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42033

(email at david.parker@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Coordination Chemistry
  • Diagnostics and Imaging
  • Lanthanides

Full profile for David Parker


Dr Ehmke Pohl

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43619
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43619

(email at ehmke.pohl@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Protein Crystallography
  • DNA-Binding Proteins

Full profile for Ehmke Pohl


Prof. Kosmas Prassides

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42063
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at k.prassides@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Solid State and Materials Chemistry
  • Superconductivity and Magnetism

Full profile for Kosmas Prassides


Prof. Nigel Robinson, (Professor of Biology)

Member

(email at nigel.robinson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Cell Biology
  • Metalloproteins

Full profile for Nigel Robinson


Dr John M. Sanderson

Personal web page

Senior Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42107

(email at j.m.sanderson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Biophysical Chemistry
  • Biological Membranes
  • Lipids

Full profile for John M. Sanderson


Prof. Graham Sandford, (Director of Research)

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42039

(email at graham.sandford@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Organofluorine Chemistry
  • Continuous Flow Processes

Full profile for Graham Sandford


Dr Margarita Staykova

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 43598
Lecturer in the Department of Physics
Room number: 210

(email at margarita.staykova@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Margarita Staykova


Prof. Jonathan W. Steed

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42085
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at jon.steed@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Supramolecular Chemistry
  • Crystallography
  • Molecular Materials

Full profile for Jonathan W. Steed


Prof. Patrick G. Steel

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42131

(email at p.g.steel@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Synthetic Organic Chemistry
  • Organosilicon Chemistry
  • Chemical Biology

Full profile for Patrick G. Steel


Dr Richard Thompson, (Senior Research Fellow)

Personal web page

Senior Research Fellow (ion-beam analysis)
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42139

(email at r.l.thompson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Ion and neutron scattering techniques
  • Polymer Blends
  • Surfaces and Interfaces
  • Nanocomposites

Full profile for Richard Thompson


Prof. David J. Tozer

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42111
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at d.j.tozer@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Methodological Developments in Density Functional Theory
  • Theoretical Spectroscopy
  • Excited States

Full profile for David J. Tozer


Dr Jan R.R. Verlet

Personal web page

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42159

(email at j.r.r.verlet@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Laser Spectroscopy
  • Cluster Dynamics
  • Complex Anions

Full profile for Jan R.R. Verlet


Dr James W. Walton

Lecturer
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42109

(email at james.walton@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Catalysis
  • Metal Complexes in Medicine
  • Organometallic Chemistry

Full profile for James W. Walton


Prof. Andrew Whiting, BSc Hns, PhD, MRSC CChem

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42081
Director, Centre for Sustainable Chemical Processes

(email at andy.whiting@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Asymmetric Catalysis
  • Bifunctional Catalysis
  • Target and Natural Product Synthesis

Full profile for Andrew Whiting


Prof. J.A. Gareth Williams

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42124

(email at j.a.g.williams@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Synthetic Chemistry
  • Metal Complexes
  • Luminescence and Bioimaging

Full profile for J.A. Gareth Williams


Prof. Mark R. Wilson

Personal web page

Professor
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42144

(email at mark.wilson@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Theoretical and Computational Chemistry
  • Soft Matter
  • Liquid Crystals and Polymers

Full profile for Mark R. Wilson


Dr Eckart Wrede

Personal web page

Reader
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42129

(email at eckart.wrede@durham.ac.uk)

Research Interests

  • Cold and Ultracold Molecules
  • Gas Phase Molecular Reaction Dynamics
  • Laser Spectroscopy

Full profile for Eckart Wrede


Dr DS Yufit

Research Associate
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at d.s.yufit@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for DS Yufit


Dr Chris Greenwell, (Adjunct lecturer in the Department of Chemistry),Layered materials, geochemistry, computational materials science

Personal web page

Adjunct Lecturer
Undergraduate Admissions Tutor, Senior Lecturer in GeoEnergy in the Department of Earth Sciences
Telephone: +44 (0) 191 33 42324
Room number: Rm 1.09, Christopherson Building
Member of the Durham X-ray Centre

(email at chris.greenwell@durham.ac.uk)

Full profile for Chris Greenwell