Cookies

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Research

Research Opportunities

Bioactive Chemistry and Synthesis

Drug reactivity in lipid membranes

Contact - Dr John Sanderson (j.m.sanderson@durham.ac.uk)

Structure-based design of synthetic retinoid derivatives with enhanced biological activity (4-year MRC CASE award)

Contact Dr Ehmke Pohl (ehmke.pohl@durham.ac.uk)

  • Inhibitors of LmIPCS – New therapies for leishmaniasis
  • Chemical genetic approaches to increased crop biomass

Contact Professor Patrick Steel (p.g.steel@durham.ac.uk)

Catalysis and Sustainable Chemical Processes

Selective catalytic dimerisation of linear alpha-olefins (with Sasol Technology UK)
Contact Dr Phil Dyer (p.w.dyer@durham.ac.uk)

VOC-free crosslinking technologies for coatings applications
Contact Professor Andy Whiting (andy.whiting@durham.ac.uk)

Computational & Dynamics

Measurement of the temperature dependence of the branching ratio of water forming reactions at the low temperatures (10 K) of the interstellar medium
Contact Dr David Carty (david.carty@durham.ac.uk)

The mechanism of electron capture to form anions
Contact Professor David Tozer (d.j.tozer@durham.ac.uk) or Dr Jan Verlet (j.r.r.verlet@durham.ac.uk)

The development and testing of coarse-grained simulations approaches to modelling crystallization in polymer melts and the influence of additives on local order and physical properties
Contact Professor Mark Wilson (mark.wilson@durham.ac.uk)

Functional Molecules & Materials

Optical spectroscopy for the investigation of works of art and counterfeit goods.
Contact Professor Andrew Beeby (andrew.beeby@durham.ac.uk)

Graphene functional fluids
Contact Professor Karl Coleman (k.s.coleman@durham.ac.uk)

NMR characterisation of non-crystalline pharmaceuticals (GSK-supported studentship)
Contact Dr Paul Hodgkinson (paul.hodgkinson@durham.ac.uk)

  • Nanostructures for applications in solid catalyst materials
  • In situ spectroscopy for understanding the way heterogeneous catalysts work (Candidate must be flexible to spend some time at Diamond/Harwell site Oxfordshire)

Contact Dr Simon Beaumont (simon.beaumont@durham.ac.uk)

Solid-state NMR studies of novel battery materials
Contact Dr Karen Johnston (karen.johnston@durham.ac.uk)

Mixen anion functional materials for magnetic and electronic applications
Contact Professor John Evans (john.evans@durham.ac.uk)

Liquid crystal enhanced super resolution microscopy
Contact Dr Robert Pal (robert.pal@durham.ac.uk)

Physical Organic and Assembly

Pharmaceutical solid form and gel self-assembly
Contact Professor Jon Steed (jon.steed@durham.ac.uk)

Soft Matter and Interfaces

  • Deposition and reaction at surfaces under flow (Industrial CASE Award with Procter and Gamble)
  • Imaging and spectroscopy of thin films on surfaces

Contact Professor Colin Bain (c.d.bain@durham.ac.uk)

General PhD Opportunities