We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Department of Chemistry

News / Twitter

News Headlines

Humboldt Prize Winners

(23 April 2010)

Professors Jeremy Hutson and Todd Marder  have recently won the prestigious Alexander von Humboldt Prizes. The Humboldt Prize, also known as the Humboldt Research Award, is Germany's highest research award to internationally renowned scientists and scholars. Jeremy and Todd will make extended research visits to Germany, spread over several years, as part of their prizes.

Jeremy's hosts are Prof. Dr. Gerard Meijer (Director of the Fritz Haber Institut, Berlin) and Dr. Christiane Koch of the Freie Universitat, Berlin. The Fritz Haber Institut  is one of the world's leading experimental centres for cooling molecules to temperatures in the milliKelvin range. His projects will be to work on theoretical aspects of ultracold molecule formation and molecule cooling, in order to develop ways to produce large samples of molecules in the ultracold regime (usually understood to mean the microkelvin range).

Todd's hosts will include Prof. Dr. Holger Braunschweig (boron chemistry), Prof. Dr. Helmut Werner (organometallic chemistry), and Prof. Dr. Frank Wurthner (conjugated organic materials/optical materials), all at the University of Wuerzburg. He is currently in Japan on a lecture tour funded by a JSPS Invitational Fellowship.