We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

St Cuthbert's Society

Alumni Weekend 2018: Celebrating 125 Years of St Cuthbert's Society Boat Club

St Cuthbert's Alumni Association and St Cuthbert's Society Boat Club are working together to bring you a truly memorable Alumni Weekend. This year, we celebrate the 125th Anniversary of the Boat Club!

Join us from Friday 14th to Sunday 16th September to celebrate in true Cuth's fashion and for a weekend of good company and good cheer.

This is the perfect opportunity to catch up with your housemates, course mates, team mates, clubs and societies buddies, or friends with whom you have just lost touch despite best efforts. There's lots to look forward to including the Anniversary Dinner, the one-and-only Cuth's Bar, an afternoon BBQ at the Boat House, rowing on the Wear, and the Association's AGM, as well as being back at Cuth's with old friends.

The Alumni Weekend is open to all Cuth's alumni, rowers and non-rowers alike, and partners or family are more than welcome to attend too.


Booking for the Alumni Weekend is now closed.


Please make sure you include any dietary requirements when booking. If booking for someone else, please ensure their requirements are included too.

Wine is only included as part of the drinks reception for both the Friday/Saturday night dinners and will not be served at the table. Guests will be contacted in August with the option of pre-purchasing wine for your table, as well as to confirm seating arrangements. All drinks can be purchased prior to the meals from Cuth's Bar.


There are a limited number of rooms available in Cuth’s for the weekend, and these will be allocated on a first come, first served basis. We have reserved more rooms at St John’s College, so if you would like to stay on the Bailey, please contact them directly to reserve a room by referencing the Alumni Weekend. See This is Durham for more places to stay in the city.

Please note that if you are booking a twin room in Cuth's for two people, only one of you needs to select this option in the booking form. The price is for the room for the night, not per person. You can add guests to the booking once you have completed your own details.


Please note that these times may be subject to change. A final itinerary will be available shortly and emailed to all guests.

Day Event Time Place Further details
Friday 14th September Principal's Drinks Reception and Dinner 19:00 JCR/Gardens/Dining Hall, 12 South Bailey

A drinks reception followed by a buffet dinner in the Dining Hall.

Dress code: Casual (Stash encouraged!)

Saturday 15th September Breakfast

08:00 -


Dining Hall, 12 South Bailey Breakfast is included for guests staying in Cuth's accommodation. If you would like to attend breakfast, but are staying elsewhere, it is possible to join breakfast for a small charge of £5.00.
Saturday 15th September St Cuthbert's Alumni Association AGM 11:00 SCR, 12 South Bailey All welcome and encouraged to join. Have a say in your alumni community! Further details, including agenda and minutes, can be found on
Saturday 15th September Burgers at the Boathouse 13:00 SCSBC Boathouse Meet current SCSBC members, row on the Wear, and enjoy a bite to eat (including vegetarian/vegan options) down at the Boathouse.
Saturday 15th September Buffet Lunch 13:00 SCR, 12 South Bailey Alternative lunch option - a light finger buffet served in Cuth's SCR.
Saturday 15th September Alumni Formal: Celebrating 125 Years of SCSBC 19:00 JCR/Gardens/Dining Hall, 12 South Bailey

The flagship event of the weekend! Starting with a drinks reception in the gardens of 12 South Bailey (weather permitting), followed by a three-course dinner, with tea/coffee, cheese and port for afters.

Dress code: Black tie (preferably) or lounge suit.

Sunday 16th September






Dining Hall, 12 South Bailey Breakfast or brunch option included for guests staying in Cuth's accommodation. It is possible to attend if you're not staying in Cuth's for a small charge of £5.00.

Further enquiries

If you have any questions or enquiries concerning the Alumni Weekend, please do not hesitate to get in touch with Harry, the Alumni Development Officer, at

St Cuthbert's Society Boat Club 125th Anniversary Appeal

The Boat Club have launched their 125th Anniversary Appeal. Find out more information about the Appeal and how you can help here. Follow their Facebook page to check out their progress!

See who's coming

Jennie Astley (Mathematics, 2017)

Henry Blackshaw (Archaeology, 1988)

David Burnell (Chemistry/Biological Sciences, 2010/2015)

Siby Bryne (Modern Languages, 2018)

James Byatt (Geography, 1988)

Hannah Campbell

Jonathon Carr-Brown (Politics, 1993)

Ian Carter (Zoology, 1982)

Timothy Chapman (English, Philosophy & Theology, 2001)

Ruth Charles (Community and Youth Work, 2007)

Laura Coghlan (Modern Languages, 2009)

Simon Cole (English, 1988)

Ian Deans (Zoology, 1967)

Barry Fildes (English, 1970)

Michael Foulkes (French and German)

Rachel Frampton (English, 1987)

Jed Gargan (Education, 1991)

Matt Glover (2008)

Sarah Gosling (Biology, 2018)

Chris Grabham (English, 1971)

Colin Griffiths (Geography, 1992)

Elaine Grundy (History, 1989)

John Hamilton (Chemistry, 1959)

Alexander Hampton (Chemistry, 2015)

John Hawcroft (French, 1966)

Cameron Hector (BSc Psychology 2016; MSc 2018)

Albert Hodgson (Geology, 1956)

Germaine Holmes (Combined Arts, 2001)

Tom Hunt (Mathematics, 1992)

Patrick Hurley (Natural Sciences, 1987)

Nick Jackson (Archaeology, 1989)

Frank Jeffrey (French, 1967)

Chloe Jeffries (Natural Sciences, 2016)

Keith Jones (General Arts, 1967)

Andrew Keen (Politics and Economics, 1970)

Barbara Keen (Geography, 1972)

Patrick Kiely (Chemistry/Geology, 1959/60)

Kim Künzler (Politics, 2007)

Brian Macdonald (Geography 1973; PGCE 1974)

Hugh Mackworth-Praed (Engineering, 1994)

Aidan Marfleet (Archaeology, 2016)

Andy Masters (Maths, 1992)

Fiona McLaughlin (Psychology, 1979)

Rob Morgan (Politics, 1993)

Alexandra Nicholas

Luke Park (Physics)

Anthony Peabody (Botany, 1965)

Richard Peralta (2005)

Matt Peterson (Geography, 1996)

Derrick Phillips (Classics, 1959)

Alex Ralfs (Engineering, 2017)

Mark Rowland (Politics and Economics, 1968)

Tabitha Serle (Geography, 2016)

Sean Sexton (Law, 1980)

Melvyn Shiels (Geography, 1967)

Peter Sibley (Geography, 1958)

Robert Sinclair (Chemistry, 2017)

Stig Eide Sivertsen (Economics & Management, 1984; 1985)

Chip Skagerlind (Psychology, 1972)

Alistair Stewart (Geology, 2016)

Julian Tanner (Chemistry, 1985)

Daniel Thomlinson (Physics, 1986)

Nick Thornton (Geography, 1992)

Leo Turner (Mathematics, 2013)

James Vigne (Biology, 1992)

Honor Webb (History)

Anthony Wells (History, BA 1965; MA 1969)

Vicky Welsh (English and Philosophy, 1989)

J-L Wilkinson (Engineering, 2015)

Petrina Witt (Engineering, 2018)

Sally Yorke (Psychology, 2007)