We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University



On this page you can find the list of forthcoming events with details, in addition to the link to the music section of the university's What's On guide.

Musicon: New Music Focus | Concert 3

27th October 2019, 19:30, The Assembly Rooms Theatre, North Bailey

Ives Ensemble

Rik Andriessen - flute
Lars Wouters van den Oudenwijer, Hans Petra, Erik van Deuren - clarinets
John Snijders - piano
Josje ter Haar - violin
Heleen Hulst - viola J
ob ter Haar
- cello

Morton Feldman- 3 clarinets, cello, and piano
Arnold Schoenberg- Suite Op. 29
Richard Rijnvos - Riflesso sullo spazio (UKP)

Composer Richard Rijnvos considers the Ives Ensemble to be the ideal interpreters of his work. That is clearly expressed in the full dozen pieces he has written for them since the start of his compositional career. The final concert in this year’s New Music Focus will feature the UK premiere of his most ambitious chamber music work to date. Riflesso sullo spazio is the composer’s fourth riflesso – a series of companion pieces to twentieth-century classics, using the same instrumental line-up. Based on the famous Suite op.29 by Arnold Schoenberg, Riflesso sullo spazio is written for three clarinets, piano, and string trio. The piece invokes the spirit of American composer Morton Feldman, whose Three clarinets, cello and piano opens this concert.

Tickets: £10, Students £4, Under 18s £1

Download this event in iCalendar format