We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

To contact the IMEMS administrative office please use the following details:

For the Administrator (maternity cover)


T: 0191 334 6574

For the Administrative Assistant


T: 0191 334 42974


Associate Director (World Heritage): Professor Robin Coningham - view profile

Associate Director: Professor Barbara Ravelhofer - view profile

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details

Maehle AH (2004). Historische Grundlagen des Rezeptor-Konzepts in der Pharmakologie *. Gesnerus Swiss Journal of the History of Medicine and Sciences 61(1 / 2): 57-76.

Author(s) from Durham


In present-day pharmacology, the existence of specific cell receptors, which can combine chemically with drugs, poisons, neurotransmitters and hormones, is often taken for granted. However, until the 1960s receptors were controversial hypothetical entities. This article examines the initial experimental evidence for receptors that was produced and discussed between the 1870s and the 1930s. It is argued that pharmacologists were reluctant to adopt the receptor concept because of the indirect nature of the available experimental evidence, the competition with a physical theory of drug action and the fact that the idea of receptors had not originated from pharmacology itself, but from immunology and neurophysiology.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: