We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof Brian Tanner

Tanner, B.K., Wu, H.Z. & Roberts, S.G. (2006). High-Resolution Parallel-Beam Powder Diffraction Measurement of Sub-Surface Damage in Alumina-silicon carbide nanocomposite. Advances in X-ray Analysis 49: 169-174.
  • Publication type: Journal Article

Author(s) from Durham


The sub-surface damage in ground and subsequently annealed alumina/silicon carbide nanocomposite has been studied by analysis of the x-ray diffraction line width as a function of incidence angle. Bragg peak broadening fell as the depth of penetration of the x-ray beam increased. Despite substantial anisotropy in the uniform compressional strain in the surface of the ground material, no significant azimuthal anisotropy was found in the peak widths. The surface extrapolated broadening decreased by an order of magnitude on annealing but the rate of fall of broadening with depth did not change. No such changes were observed on annealing polished material. Williamson-Hall analysis of the annealed ground material showed an order of magnitude decrease in the diffracting domain size at the surface compared with that of the bulk material, where the diffracting domain size was of the order of the grain size.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: