We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. You can change your cookie settings at any time. Otherwise, we'll assume you're OK to continue.

Durham University

Institute of Medieval and Early Modern Studies (IMEMS)

Staff and Governance

Core Staff

The day-to-day running of IMEMS is the responsibility of the Core Executive Committee, comprising the Director and Associate Directors and the Administrator. 

Publication details for Prof Brian Tanner

H. L. Nguyen, L. E. M. Howard, G. W. Stinton, S. R. Giblin, B. K. Tanner, I. Terry, A. K. Hughes, I. M. Ross, A. Serres & J. S. O. Evans (2006). Synthesis of size controlled fcc and fct FePt nanoparticles. Chemistry of Materials 18(26): 6414-6418.

Author(s) from Durham


We report the synthesis of FePt magnetic nanoparticles using Na2Fe(CO)4 and Pt(acac)2 as reagents. This method allows good control over particle stoichiometry and ensures efficient mixing of Fe and Pt atoms in the alloy at the atomic scale. The use of a variety of different high boiling solvents and different surfactants allows control over particle size. Materials can be prepared in the disordered face-centered cubic (fcc) structural form and converted to the high magnetocrystalline anisotropy face centered tetragonal (fct or L10 structure) at lower temperatures than those prepared by other routes. By using solvents such as nonadecane, docosane, and tetracosane, we can prepare samples directly in the fct form. Preformed fcc particles prepared by this method can also be transformed in solution to the fct structure. Samples have been characterized by a combination of diffraction, electron microscopy, thermogravimetric, and magnetic measurements.

Full Executive Committee

Our Full Executive Committee is made up of the Core Executive Committee, listed above, plus a number of executive members including:

International Advisory Board

We are extremely fortunate to have be able to call on the help and guidance of colleagues from around the world who help to shape and guide our direction, strategy and international reach. Our current Advisory Board members are: